Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
NTC3 Steering Problem >

NTC3 Steering Problem

NTC3 Steering Problem

Reply

Old 05-24-2008, 01:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default NTC3 Steering Problem

Hey guys, so fired up my car this morning, ran fine for the first 1/2 tank or so, brought it in cause I wanted to adjust the needles and it shut off. Idle was too low. While I was adjusting the idle screw and double checking everything was still okay the wheels went all the way to the right. When steering left the servo tried to get back to LEFT but only got to the middle. When trying to go right it hit my chasis plate as it was already extreme right. I tried unplugging the battery from the RX and the TX and firing it back up, worked for a little bit then it jumped back. Also tried unplugging the RX connections to hopefully "reset" it, again worked for a little then went back. I adjusted the st. trim on the TX and even tried a different battery pack. Can anyone help please?
SDNitroGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 02:14 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Two possibilities come to mind: stripped servo gear or wrong servo horn.
RAP66 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 02:52 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you have a Bad Servo.
Team Kamikaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 02:58 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I picked up this car yesterday from another RCTech member and it was running fine when I got it and also ran fine this morning.

Do servos just go nuts and die like that out of the blue?
SDNitroGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 03:43 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SDNitroGuy View Post
I picked up this car yesterday from another RCTech member and it was running fine when I got it and also ran fine this morning.

Do servos just go nuts and die like that out of the blue?
tuff to say because there are many scenarios that could cause a problem... move the steering by hand, you might feel a dead spot in the servo gears. In that case u need to at least replace the gears. OR upgrade the servo.

What servo is do you have for steering??

-Rich
RAP66 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 03:51 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,317
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

change the servo.
Roger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 04:46 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
goodtunes1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: muskogee,ok
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i had the stock servo in mine and done the same as well i changed it to a futaba brushless and didnt have the problem anymore put the servo on aknown working receiver and it done it again so i just threw the servo out was dead to me lol
goodtunes1978 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 05:08 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys went to the LHS and they figured out the problem. The servo arm screw had wiggled loose and vanished. So they popped off the arm, centered the servo and put the arm back on and supplied me with a new screw. All for free, woo. Brought it home and ran right around 2 tanks through it. What a blast! Now to clean it up for the next run. I want to loctite the servo arm screw but need to know how to remove my upper deck, any tips? Also, I think I need to recenter my servo because my TX trim dial is all the way left and it still pulls right a little. Thanks Guys for all the input
SDNitroGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 09:34 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

go to the associated website and download the manuals. For the adjustment I would swap out the linkage to something with a turnbuckle
RAP66 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 12:35 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

By linkage do you mean the servo arm? Sorry, very new to this. And you're referring to my request to re-center the servo? I went to AE website and got the kit manual, I think I know how all of it secures down, now to do it
SDNitroGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 12:07 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (53)
 
kidsid99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Memphis
Posts: 792
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SDNitroGuy View Post
By linkage do you mean the servo arm? Sorry, very new to this. And you're referring to my request to re-center the servo? I went to AE website and got the kit manual, I think I know how all of it secures down, now to do it
Top deck should come off by taking 6 screws out 4 on top and 2 underneath the chassis. The linkage referred to is the adjustable link that goes from the servo horn to the steering linkage that mounts to the chassis. It looks like one of your front turnbuckles that go to your steering knuckles except shorter. You can get your servo as close to center as possible then take out the rest by adjusting the turnbuckle. Look at the manual and it will show you how this is done.
kidsid99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 01:52 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I dont have a manual since I bought the car used but can you point me in the right direction of what page its on / section. I know where to find the NTC3 manuals on AE. So I can "recenter" the servo by adjusting the turnbuckles I dont need to take it apart and reinstall the horn, etc? That's great news
SDNitroGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 08:33 AM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,458
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

you have to suffer and go through the painful stages of learning your car. it takes time but if you can figure out how to remove the upperdeck (which is simple when you have done it once before) then you have learned a lot about the car. Do you have the plastic tools and allen wrenched that comes with the car?
poochy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service