R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-01-2005, 07:40 AM   #5221
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ch4dwick
do 05RR hex hubs break easily? are there any hop-ups for this? Brands? Part numbers? I saw some on the net but they're not for kyosho. Are these hubs universal in size for Nitro touring cars?
I'm still using the original plastic items on the front end, and 3racing ones on the rear.
NiMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 08:16 PM   #5222
Tech Regular
 
ch4dwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RC Club L.U.M.B.A. Cebu
Posts: 409
Default

what's the part number?
__________________
When you ban paying customers instead of non-paying ones (with outstanding debts) you're liable to have closed race track. Lugi kasi. ;) O, closed tuloy!
ch4dwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 03:47 AM   #5223
Tech Regular
 
ch4dwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RC Club L.U.M.B.A. Cebu
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiMo
I'm still using the original plastic items on the front end, and 3racing ones on the rear.
I found the part but which one do I choose? there's the 0mm and then the 1mm offset.
__________________
When you ban paying customers instead of non-paying ones (with outstanding debts) you're liable to have closed race track. Lugi kasi. ;) O, closed tuloy!

Last edited by ch4dwick; 11-02-2005 at 03:58 AM.
ch4dwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 07:08 AM   #5224
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ch4dwick
I found the part but which one do I choose? there's the 0mm and then the 1mm offset.
I use 0 offset
NiMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 06:02 PM   #5225
Tech Regular
 
ch4dwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RC Club L.U.M.B.A. Cebu
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiMo
I use 0 offset
What are those offsets for?
__________________
When you ban paying customers instead of non-paying ones (with outstanding debts) you're liable to have closed race track. Lugi kasi. ;) O, closed tuloy!
ch4dwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 06:07 PM   #5226
Tech Fanatic
 
ogreasurada's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SZ-China
Posts: 848
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

1mm offset means 1mm wider (thicker).
ogreasurada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 07:52 AM   #5227
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ch4dwick
What are those offsets for?
They were made a good few years back for the V-one R, which could not run the 30mm rears unless the offset spacers were used, but by the time the V-one RR came out you could get Kyosho's 2mm offset wheel shafts and 2mm shorter drive shafts.
If you are still running the FW05R rear hubs with 0mm offset wheel shafts (as in the Rubber version) then you would need the 1mm offset ones to fit the 30mm foam tyres.
NiMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 02:17 PM   #5228
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Owensboro KY
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jeff whiting
Default

I just got my 05RR up and running. Everything is good except that I cannot hear the 2-speed shifting. pulled the trigger slowly and I am pretty sure it is not shifting. I had it set at 1.5 turns out (like manual) and then tried 2.5 turns out. I seem to remember someone saying on this forum that they had to loosen the 2 speed up quite a bit to get it to shift with this car. What are you all out there set at?

Thanks

JEFF
__________________
Thanks to our sponsors: Desoto Racing, Serpent, Ielasi Tuned, HobbyWing, Byron's Fuel, Matrix Tires, Protoform, Futaba, www.LEFComplex.com
jeff whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 02:21 PM   #5229
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

When mine was new I had to set it to around 3 turns out but now that is has had use it is set closer to 2 turns out.
Just watch it doesn't catch on the 2nd gear else you'll get a nice deep groove in it.
Also I now run the 37T gears so the shaft spins faster before it changes up to 2nd gear.
NiMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 03:28 PM   #5230
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Owensboro KY
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jeff whiting
Default

I have the 39t Steel ring gears installed and I think I am going to need 37s. This 05RR revs to the moon fast. I can't imagine using 40t gears. What could 40's ever be used for? Maybe a track covered in fly paper???? Anyway I took the 2 speed back apart to make sure that I had the thing set right. I reset it to 2 turns out just to see and still no shifting so now I will try 2 3/4. I see that if I have it set at 3 turns out, the cap screw does hit the inside of the housing.

Jeff
__________________
Thanks to our sponsors: Desoto Racing, Serpent, Ielasi Tuned, HobbyWing, Byron's Fuel, Matrix Tires, Protoform, Futaba, www.LEFComplex.com
jeff whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 08:44 PM   #5231
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 323
Default

hey guys. im looking at getting a FW-05RR and i was wondering if the OS TZ .12 3-port will fit in it and what are all the things i need to get in order to get the chassis kit on the street?
cars.cars.cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:02 AM   #5232
Tech Regular
 
ch4dwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RC Club L.U.M.B.A. Cebu
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff whiting
I just got my 05RR up and running. Everything is good except that I cannot hear the 2-speed shifting. pulled the trigger slowly and I am pretty sure it is not shifting. I had it set at 1.5 turns out (like manual) and then tried 2.5 turns out. I seem to remember someone saying on this forum that they had to loosen the 2 speed up quite a bit to get it to shift with this car. What are you all out there set at?

Thanks

JEFF
In my experience if you pull the trigger slowly the shift takes longer. I usually pull it slowly when exiting a turn to a stretch and then squeezing it all the way. At high rpm i'm sure it will shift. however, in my small racetrack the stretch is not long enough to make any meaningful use of the 2nd gear. So I changed it around 2 or 2.5 turns counter-clockwise. The gear changes around 1/2 or 2/3 of the stretch. That could add additional mph in this run.
__________________
When you ban paying customers instead of non-paying ones (with outstanding debts) you're liable to have closed race track. Lugi kasi. ;) O, closed tuloy!
ch4dwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 10:57 AM   #5233
Tech Adept
 
MRX_joe21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Valley Crew
Posts: 189
Send a message via Yahoo to MRX_joe21
Default

It is possible to see the performances, this type of CONICAL

5 fins manifold
- short type (best solution on long straights)

6 fins manifold
- medium type (suggested to have more push exiting curves and on the straight)

7 fins manifold
- long type (more power exiting curves)

Choose your weapon
MRX_joe21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 08:38 PM   #5234
Tech Regular
 
k617nu-b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: south korea
Posts: 289
Default

Hi Guys,

Does anybody know where I can get parts for a conversion of my 05R to 05RR especially the front upper suspension arm holder without changing my carbon upper deck, ive seen something like it before here in RCTech but cant find the pics anymore...

Thanks,
K6
k617nu-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 08:53 PM   #5235
Tech Fanatic
 
ogreasurada's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SZ-China
Posts: 848
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k617nu-b
Hi Guys,

Does anybody know where I can get parts for a conversion of my 05R to 05RR especially the front upper suspension arm holder without changing my carbon upper deck, ive seen something like it before here in RCTech but cant find the pics anymore...

Thanks,
K6
http://rc-mushroom.com/index.php?cPa...sort=1a&page=1
Not sure if you can find what u exactly want but good luck anyways.
ogreasurada is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE - Mugen MBX5T ProSpec and Kyosho STR with chassis conversion and Kyosho big MattWells R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-28-2017 10:25 AM
1986 1/12 Kyosho Plazma MKIII With Kyosho LeMan 600E Motor Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-17-2012 11:11 AM
Custom painted Kyosho SP2 and Kyosho STRR bodies.... RC3 Graphics SWEET W/ PICS CRFXXXT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-07-2008 07:38 PM
MACH. 28/NEW PS, KYOSHO MINI INFERNO ST/W/3NEW IB1400 8 CELL PACKS, KYOSHO 1./8 BUGGY newbie2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-18-2007 06:07 PM
Convert Kyosho Quick Start system on Kyosho QRC to Pullstart Morpheus2be Monster Trucks 0 02-16-2005 11:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net