R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2004, 01:38 PM   #1471
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisBlack310
Hey Tranced, it's funny how you could talk crap to Rookie, but you yourself talked crap about the R40.
Like I said, its the car's winning personality!

It takes people who were unhappy with it or its features, and makes them 'devoted' fans!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...

Last edited by Darkseid; 01-27-2004 at 10:53 AM.
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 01:40 PM   #1472
Tech Regular
 
treky11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Default

Rookie, Frank did go to HPI Europe. His job is now to run the Challenges in Europe full-time. In the US he was webmaster and hpi challenge man.

HPI hasn't said who will do it this year, but given its popularity I think (hope) they will keep it alive.
treky11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 02:32 PM   #1473
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by treky11
HPI hasn't said who will do it this year, but given its popularity I think (hope) they will keep it alive.
With that information..........R40 is definitely part of my program this summer.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 06:32 PM   #1474
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Two questions.............

1. I had to twist my carb on the car to get it to work. It is a JP RS12 and now I cannot access the idle needle. Any ideas?

2. How do you fit the smaller packs into the box? Or do you remove the box like Hara?
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 08:17 AM   #1475
Tech Addict
 
icon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to icon
Default

amg:

1. why did you have to twist the carb to make it work? the JP RS12 would use a modified nova carb but it should have similar external dimensions as the stocker.

2. do you mean HPI's light weight receiver pack? how is it not fitting?
icon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 08:48 AM   #1476
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMGRacer
1. I had to twist my carb on the car to get it to work. It is a JP RS12 and now I cannot access the idle needle. Any ideas?
I had to do the same thing with my Sirio. In fact, I had to twist mine so far that it then began to get interference from the handle/rollbar. What I ended up doing was standing the ballstud(on the carb end) up pretty much straight(in relation to the carb, not the chassis) so it was about at a 45 degree or so angle to the actual chassis, twisting the carb just enough to avoid the tank, and using my rotary tool to cut a little gap in the upper deck of the chassis.

Since it was just the very tip of the carb(where the set screw holds the ballstud in place) that was hitting the upper deck, this little divot was all that was required to give everything the proper clearance.

This also left the idle screw with enough clearance to be accessed easily.

And the 'divot' in the upper deck is not visible while the engine is in place. So it doesn't look hack.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 09:24 AM   #1477
Tech Addict
 
Chewdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I pretty much did the 45 degree thing Darkseid is describing and I also used a nut and bolt combo to secure the tank. The bolts squeeze the tank down just a hair lower than the stock pins. So now my carb moves freely.
Chewdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 09:28 AM   #1478
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Darkseid,

I see you had the same problem that I had mounting the Sirio in my R40. I eventually had to dremel a notch in the upper deck so that the carb did not hang up on it. I switch the carb to a Nova off of an MT12 and it was even worse before the deck mod. Just glad to see that I was not the only one that had that problem.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:35 AM   #1479
Tech Regular
 
tranced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 270
Default

heh..

yep straight from my mouth.. i did crap on the r40.

but what am i gonna do. i already invested hopups into the car, might as well use it. ill be damned if i'd have to sell the car and buy a new one, just because of the brand..

my criticism is harsh, i apologize.
tranced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:40 AM   #1480
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

JLock: nope, you weren't the only one. That Sirio carb is quite large. I'm sure we both went through the same thing. Putting the engine in, taking it out, checking clearance, rinse, wash, repeat! ......

.......until we finally gave in to the inevitable fact that we were going to have to do some moding.

Thankfully, it was a small mod, and it isn't visiable once the engine and linkages are installed.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:44 AM   #1481
Tech Regular
 
tranced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 270
Default

i have a novarossi rs-12 in my r40, and i got it to fit by just angling the carb perpendicular to the engine, and rotating the ball end used for throttle, slightly angled down facing me.

hard to explain, ill post pics in a sec.
tranced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:50 AM   #1482
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tranced
heh..

yep straight from my mouth.. i did crap on the r40.

but what am i gonna do. i already invested hopups into the car, might as well use it. ill be damned if i'd have to sell the car and buy a new one, just because of the brand..

my criticism is harsh, i apologize.

Hey Tranced, I wasn't trying to get on your case.
It's just you were scaring people away from the R40.
You felt the same way about the car in the beginning, and now the car grew on you.
Darkseid said it best.


Quote:
Originally posted by Darkseid
Like I said, its the car's winning personality!

I takes people who were unhappy with it or its features, and makes them 'devoted' fans!
ChrisBlack310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:55 AM   #1483
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tranced
i have a novarossi rs-12 in my r40, and i got it to fit by just angling the carb perpendicular to the engine, and rotating the ball end used for throttle, slightly angled down facing me.

hard to explain, ill post pics in a sec.
Trust us.......we tried EVERY angle!

Every angle you can think of for the ball end and for the carb itself! There was just no way to get that carb on that engine, to extend fully without getting caught on the upper deck at maximum throttle.

Believe me, I explore every option before I ever start cutting on my cars......especially brand new ones!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:04 AM   #1484
Tech Regular
 
tranced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 270
Default



tranced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:16 AM   #1485
Tech Adept
 
The Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 123
Default

can you get to that low end mixture screw?
The Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:55 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net