R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2007, 01:43 PM   #11671
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Speaking of belts, one of my belts feels a bit loose. The one that runs the length of the car. Belt tensioner is at the bottom of the brace, but the belt feels a little on the flimsy side. It hasnt skipped that I can tell, but how can I be sure if its as tight as it should be?
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 05:35 PM   #11672
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bxpitbull View Post
Speaking of belts, one of my belts feels a bit loose. The one that runs the length of the car. Belt tensioner is at the bottom of the brace, but the belt feels a little on the flimsy side. It hasnt skipped that I can tell, but how can I be sure if its as tight as it should be?
they stretch, so it sounds like it's time to replace it if the tensioner is all the way down, so long as the belt isn't over tightened. If this is the case the car wont roll very freely, so just check that. Otherwise there is just enough slack if you cant remove the belt from the pulley without taking it off the tensioner first, and the car rolls freely if pushed along the ground
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 09:01 AM   #11673
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
they stretch, so it sounds like it's time to replace it if the tensioner is all the way down, so long as the belt isn't over tightened. If this is the case the car wont roll very freely, so just check that. Otherwise there is just enough slack if you cant remove the belt from the pulley without taking it off the tensioner first, and the car rolls freely if pushed along the ground
I'll do that. I can remove the belt with the tensioner on, but it does require a little bit of effort. I guess it struck me as odd to see that much slack and feeling it by hand, expecting it to skip.
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 02:42 AM   #11674
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Is there something to the OS .12 TZ (5 port) and the R40's clutch kit? I had the same clutch kit on my JL red dot, no problems. I installed the clutch set the same way and there were a few issues. Everything went on and when I hand roll the flywheel, it loosens the clutchnut. I used blue threadlock, let it set for hours and when I hand test the compression, loosens again! I dare not install the motor into the car because if it (the clutch nut) loosens by hand, the starterbox will loosen it with ease...HELP!
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 06:01 AM   #11675
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bxpitbull View Post
Is there something to the OS .12 TZ (5 port) and the R40's clutch kit? I had the same clutch kit on my JL red dot, no problems. I installed the clutch set the same way and there were a few issues. Everything went on and when I hand roll the flywheel, it loosens the clutchnut. I used blue threadlock, let it set for hours and when I hand test the compression, loosens again! I dare not install the motor into the car because if it (the clutch nut) loosens by hand, the starterbox will loosen it with ease...HELP!
Which collar did you use? with the HPI one my flywheel didnt pinch, so I had to use the one that came with the TZ. You need to use a cross wrench to tighten the nut too - i had to drill mine out to fit. If the engine is new make sure you heat it up before trying to start it. The TZ's pinch so tightly at the top when that your flywheel will loosen the nut regardless if they aren't heated up - mine came loose 3-4 times when i broke in my TZ

no such issue with the CRF and its straight, silky cylinder
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 07:23 AM   #11676
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

if anyone wants that r40 hara....

its 225 plus shipping through the weekend.....

here's the pics..

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=167565
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 07:50 AM   #11677
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
Which collar did you use? with the HPI one my flywheel didnt pinch, so I had to use the one that came with the TZ. You need to use a cross wrench to tighten the nut too - i had to drill mine out to fit. If the engine is new make sure you heat it up before trying to start it. The TZ's pinch so tightly at the top when that your flywheel will loosen the nut regardless if they aren't heated up - mine came loose 3-4 times when i broke in my TZ

no such issue with the CRF and its straight, silky cylinder
I figured from your avatar you'd be the one to answer. I have to buy a cross-wrench because all of the others I have wont make it over the shaft. Using need nose to tighten is a pain. I thought it was tight and then bang, loosen loosen. Thanks man.
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:48 PM   #11678
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default wheels

I've seen a few pictures of an R40 with rubbber mounted chrome wheels. It looked like it had 26mm in front and 30mm in the rear. My question is, where can I purchase 30mm wheels with rubber tires?
brownlo75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:11 AM   #11679
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brownlo75 View Post
I've seen a few pictures of an R40 with rubbber mounted chrome wheels. It looked like it had 26mm in front and 30mm in the rear. My question is, where can I purchase 30mm wheels with rubber tires?
HPI has them



You can see them on their web site

Okay, I can't seem to post pictures. Here's the link.

Last edited by Rapid Roy; 10-11-2007 at 12:21 AM.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:21 AM   #11680
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Roy View Post
HPI has them



You can see them on their web site

Okay, I can't seem to post pictures. Here's the link.
http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/pa.../34104_01t.jpg
http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/pa...7/3815_04t.jpg
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 08:00 PM   #11681
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Default help on my r40 please..

hi guys, i would like to ask something about the r40..i just bought one and its my first time on nitro cars.first of,am i able to put a hara edition on my r40 without modifiyind the car?does the hara trany include everything needed for the convertion?and what's the largest engine i can put on th r40 w/o cutting the car up?thanks in advance guys.
gwapogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 10:18 PM   #11682
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwapogi View Post
hi guys, i would like to ask something about the r40..i just bought one and its my first time on nitro cars.first of,am i able to put a hara edition on my r40 without modifiyind the car?does the hara trany include everything needed for the convertion?and what's the largest engine i can put on th r40 w/o cutting the car up?thanks in advance guys.
the largest engine that u could fit is a small block .18...
but why would u want to fit a larger engine than .12?
keavze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 12:21 AM   #11683
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwapogi View Post
hi guys, i would like to ask something about the r40..i just bought one and its my first time on nitro cars.first of,am i able to put a hara edition on my r40 without modifiyind the car?does the hara trany include everything needed for the convertion?and what's the largest engine i can put on th r40 w/o cutting the car up?thanks in advance guys.
Quote:
Originally Posted by keavze View Post
the largest engine that u could fit is a small block .18...
but why would u want to fit a larger engine than .12?
Check with the local tracks you plan to run at. They might have motor restrictions. If you are just bashing, go for the OS .18 TZ and let her rip.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:31 AM   #11684
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

yes, the hara .08 module 2 speed will fit your car......

and if I remember correctly, adding that not only made a difference, it made more difference as far as smoothness and punch than any hop up I added.......
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:37 PM   #11685
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Smile thanks a lot guys!!

thanks keavze, rapid roy, and fast harry..yeah im just planning to bash around..hehehe.so the hara tranny really does make a lot of diffrence huh..ive also read that putting in a larger engine does not guaranty performance bump.so what would be the best engine to put.novarossi is off my budget since its very expensive.an os .12 speed tuned or a .18?which is the better of the two?again thanks in advance guys for the help..you guys are really helping me a lot here..ehehehhee.
gwapogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net