R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2006, 10:50 AM   #9556
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
Got all my radio gear and motor in now. Car weighs 1770g bone stock which is a pretty good improvement over the old car. A few lightweight doodads and it will be down near perfect weight. I am not totally happy with how I have my receiver mounted yet, need to play a little more.

Car built very nicely except for the 2 speed, should get the replacement screws tomorrow.
Very cool. Thats a good starting weight. I'm looking forward to hearing how the new layout runs on the track. Thanks for keeping us updated.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 11:00 AM   #9557
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
Got all my radio gear and motor in now. Car weighs 1770g bone stock which is a pretty good improvement over the old car. A few lightweight doodads and it will be down near perfect weight. I am not totally happy with how I have my receiver mounted yet, need to play a little more.

Car built very nicely except for the 2 speed, should get the replacement screws tomorrow.
Does anyone know what a stock 2004 weigh , did you do anything special to get the 2005 that weight?
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 01:18 PM   #9558
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
Got all my radio gear and motor in now. Car weighs 1770g bone stock which is a pretty good improvement over the old car. A few lightweight doodads and it will be down near perfect weight. I am not totally happy with how I have my receiver mounted yet, need to play a little more.

Car built very nicely except for the 2 speed, should get the replacement screws tomorrow.

Mine weighs 1840 with body and battery pack AND the titanium screw set how did you get your so light?
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 01:52 PM   #9559
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

I've got my spektrum. No more interference! Too bad it's late, otherwise I'd go run some laps in the lot. If tomorrow or any other day is great I'd go for a run. Funny thing though my Futaba actually almost as fast as my hitec 625MG so I'm wondering why buy/have em? I'd probably get rid of the two I have and use the S3003s laying around. Sure the Hi have more torque, but the futaba's work just as great. Time to sell all the other stuff.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 02:22 PM   #9560
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarKonnenD
I've got my spektrum. No more interference!
Spektrum kick ass.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 02:30 PM   #9561
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe
Spektrum kick ass.
Turbo, are you going to be racing in Corona this Sunday. Looks like I'll be there. Man its been forever since my last race.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 02:46 PM   #9562
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe
Spektrum kick ass.
Hell yeah! WOOHOO! Now I can drive in safety. Infact my servos are operating a lot better too and faster...all of them!
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 02:55 PM   #9563
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Very likely...it's like 200 yards from my house.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 03:27 PM   #9564
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Hark: Yeah those 625's are baffling. Let us know what you think once you race with the s3003's. I thought my 625 was a bad unit it was so much slower than my s3003.

Also yeah spektrum is the best. I have a spot out in front of my house that sends my buggy I play with careening out of control. Without a doubt I drive it down there.....and I tense up and hope it can make it through without smacking a pole or something.

Now its nothing but sweetness. Allthough one time on the track I do believe I got a nasty glitch....not sure though could have been a funky servo or error on my part.

But yeah when you drive with an s3003 its pretty smooth and your not really worrying about killing a $60-70 dollar servo so I kinda drove with less worry and more just get out there and go.

There also so cheap if you ever have a doubt theyve been messed up you can easily just buy another without even a second remorseful thought. As well there some of the lightest & least power draining servos you can buy.

Worth a try for some of you....
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 03:37 PM   #9565
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarKonnenD
Hell yeah! WOOHOO! Now I can drive in safety. Infact my servos are operating a lot better too and faster...all of them!
Also forgot to add they probably are working faster , not sure of the response of the original unit you used. But the spektrum uses less power in the RX and TX generally.

I know with my TX I insert the spektrum vs the oem RF one and automatically my TX will display a higher voltage on tap. It also says this somewhere on spektrums website.

You can probably look up response and voltage use and check it versus your stock stuff to see if this is right.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 08:27 PM   #9566
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Yeah the S3003 have always worked for me. When I lowered the throttle travel for my Hi, they seemed to run a lot slower. Why? I have NO idea, but I don't like it. They are both being removed from the R40 and maybe the GT. Both sold for a nice $50.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 08:44 PM   #9567
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

my fav servo for the price is the futaba s3305.. plenty of speed and torque, metal gears and only $35..


maybe I should trade my r40 in for a rc boat.. its rained 23 of the last 24 days here and they say its not going to break any time soon....
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 09:22 PM   #9568
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Yeah poor oregon and seattle I hear it rains like crazy there...guess its better than drought , fires and hurricanes and terrible heat we can see. We all have our drawbacks.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 09:26 PM   #9569
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
Yeah poor oregon and seattle I hear it rains like crazy there...guess its better than drought , fires and hurricanes and terrible heat we can see. We all have our drawbacks.
it can always be worse...

even for here though this is alot of rain... rivers flooding and mudslides everywhere..
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 10:49 PM   #9570
Tech Addict
 
bummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bathurst nsw
Posts: 525
Send a message via MSN to bummy
Default

yeah when i get it i will weigh the 3 racing chassis and post it in here for you. cheers
bummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net