R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2006, 10:39 PM   #9511
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Oh, and I created a LW upper deck on my 2nd car by tracing the outline on the stock deck and grinding away with my dremel. If any of you end up doing this, make sure you use a resperator. The CF dust is really bad for your lungs. Somebody posted a scan of the LW deck here way back too if you want to search, print and trace.

I plan on running the older cars next year too. I am going to get both up to 2004 specs though (minus the Ti screws). Any of you tried ordering from that fast and furrious hobby shop? There prices are really good.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:17 PM   #9512
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Roy
Hark,

I don't use the .8 2 speed on either of my cars. I do use the LW upper deck on both. It doesn't save too much weight though. What it does do is allow the car to flex just a bit more. I also run only 2 screws in my side brace to create a bit more flex as well. Before any of you start in on me about how a stiffer chassis is always better, this subject was beaten to death waaayyy back. The setup I use right now is similar to the one Hara uses on his R40 and I really like it. It gives me a large sweet spot, so I can keep the car planted easier as the track conditions change durring the day.
Oh no I'm not going rant. That's something I really didnt know. Someone told me they didn't like running the alum side brace because it made the car too stiff. That's why I didnt get mine. How come you don't use the LW 2speed just wondering? Is it maybe that since its soo small that using the shorter gearing options make it too torque? I've kinda seen that here and it requires going a lot easier on the throttle.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:47 PM   #9513
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

I don't use the LW 2 speed because I'm cheap

With 2 cars plus extra gearing it comes to a pretty large sum. When I bought the 2 cars used, they came with every pinion available almost X2 and enought parts to build 2 more 2 speeds. I haven't ever needed to replace any parts yet cause I don't race enough. Might be able to go to a race this Sunday though.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:50 PM   #9514
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

OOooohhhhhhhhh. HAHAHA! Thought it was some sort of preference as I didn't drive with the stock 2speed too long myself. The thing just wouldn't shift for me.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 04:34 PM   #9515
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jye
whats the diffrence in the hara and 2005 edition.
As far as I have been able to tell the only difference is the rear body posts are different.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 04:56 PM   #9516
Jye
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Default

2005 kit comes with everything on the hara edition?
Jye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 06:05 PM   #9517
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jye
2005 kit comes with everything on the hara edition?
As stated above as far as I can tell. I will have it in my hands Monday.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 01:11 AM   #9518
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Lightbulb

Anyone using a small battery pack in their R40 instead of those big stick packs? I've robbed the CD3 pro of this (as well of its awesome centax clutch ) and was wondering how will it affect the handling in the R40. I felt it was best if I secured it properly to the direct center of the battery door.


__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 02:35 AM   #9519
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

can anyone tell me that on the 2005 spec the rear arms are different it has 3 holes one for the upstop one for droop and what could the other one be for. It is located directly opposite the droop screw towards the front of the car
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:13 AM   #9520
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett.w
can anyone tell me that on the 2005 spec the rear arms are different it has 3 holes one for the upstop one for droop and what could the other one be for. It is located directly opposite the droop screw towards the front of the car
That hole is a forward droop screw hole that you can use instead of the rear hole. In fact this is a better one to use since it is easier to access the screw. The rear droop screw is mighty tough to access.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:16 AM   #9521
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarKonnenD
Anyone using a small battery pack in their R40 instead of those big stick packs? I've robbed the CD3 pro of this (as well of its awesome centax clutch ) and was wondering how will it affect the handling in the R40. I felt it was best if I secured it properly to the direct center of the battery door.


Short answer is yes. I have been doing that for about 18 months. Make sure you remove the battery case from the chassis and cut the front off it. Cut it where the pin sticks up. Make sure you dont put the battery right to the back of the door or it will hit the bottom of the tank, put it about halfway.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:24 AM   #9522
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
That hole is a forward droop screw hole that you can use instead of the rear hole. In fact this is a better one to use since it is easier to access the screw. The rear droop screw is mighty tough to access.
Thanks for the reply
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:35 AM   #9523
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett.w
Thanks for the reply
Also if it has the two rear swaybar mounting points I would suggest that you use the outside one. The inside one provides only marginal leverage on the actual swaybar itself, I have always felt the outside one is the better.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 11:49 AM   #9524
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

AMG- Sooo...from this pic cut the case like right where the pins are and left the rest on it or something? Sry I don't really understand.
Attached Thumbnails
HPI R40 Nitro Car Forum-dscn3125ed.jpg  
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:20 PM   #9525
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Hmm, now you got me thinking. I've got a Serpent 705 with a AAA battery pack. I wonder if it will fit? It is the 4+1 configuration. Kinda like a L shape.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net