R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2003, 06:07 PM   #496
Tech Regular
 
treky11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Default

its too heavy, period. most people don't run ROAR, and when they do they can add weight for that race.

if you didnt think it wasn't too heavy then why did you buy light weight shafts?
treky11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 06:21 PM   #497
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

you talked me into it..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 07:06 PM   #498
Tech Adept
 
FAST1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
I just happened to weigh my car today with half a tank of fuel..Car weighed 1735 grams....ROAR minumum is 1725..I do have the lite weight shafts in it,but other than that,stock..how is teh car to heavy at that weight?..
ROAR minumum is 1700g.

1725g. with half a tank isn't to bad considering the R40 tanks is 72cc.
FAST1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 09:17 PM   #499
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
I just happened to weigh my car today with half a tank of fuel..Car weighed 1735 grams....ROAR minumum is 1725..I do have the lite weight shafts in it,but other than that,stock..how is teh car to heavy at that weight?..
Did you have the body on?
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 05:32 AM   #500
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

.12 FUEL TOURING CAR 4WD
(IFMAR 200 mm ICTC Class)
Minimum track width - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Continuous 10 feet
Maximum length - 18.1” - - - - - - - - - - - 460 mm
Maximum width - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - WO/ body - - 7.87” - 200 mm
With body - - 8.07” - 205 mm
Height - Minimum - 4.53” - - - - - - - - - - 115 mm
Wheel base - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Minimum - 9.8”
Maximum - 10.6”
Minimum weight - - - - 1725 g

this is right out of the ROAR 2003 rules..


NO.I forgot to add the body....I was weighing a ham sandwich at the same time(I was in the deli next door....see what happens when I'm hungry?.. )
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c

Last edited by fastharry™; 09-30-2003 at 06:12 AM.
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 07:38 AM   #501
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
I just happened to weigh my car today with half a tank of fuel..Car weighed 1735 grams....ROAR minumum is 1725..I do have the lite weight shafts in it,but other than that,stock..how is teh car to heavy at that weight?..
My car, in stock form, with a protoform Honda Accord 4-door body, weighed in at 1800g. That was with an empty tank and no personal transponder on it. Meeting ROAR weight limits with mine is not a problem. But, I am looking to lighten mine some because I feel it is too heavy. My bone-stock MTX3 weighed in at the Texas Biggie with personal transponder, empty tank, and Protoform Stratus body at 1728g, 3g above minimum weight!!! If I can cut 50g of my R40, I will be happy.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 07:40 AM   #502
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Unhappy

That is a bummer that HPI did not see fit to put a ROAR/IFMAR legal 75cc tank in what appears to be a very good racecar.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 08:28 AM   #503
Tech Regular
 
Omar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 351
Default

i just run extra fuel line and a 2 fuel filter to make up for the smaller gas tank
Omar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 10:03 AM   #504
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC AREA
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Since we are talking about reducing weight, does anyone have any pictures of what they have done to reduce weight. I know that you can get the optional shock towers, and the light weight gear shafts, unfortantly, I can't find those parts in the states yet. Other than that, it appears that removing the battery case is an option, I just want to know how Hara keep the pack secure.
C0NTENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 10:13 AM   #505
Tech Regular
 
regg151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 445
Send a message via ICQ to regg151 Send a message via AIM to regg151 Send a message via Yahoo to regg151
Default

he more the likely used either zip ties or shoe goo to secure the pack and transponder to the battery cover.

I'm also going on the assumption the he uses his own personal transponder and not the track supplied one like most of us do.
regg151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 11:11 AM   #506
Tech Adept
 
The Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 123
Default

Don't forget, Hara used a 5 AAA battery pack (700 mAh). So when you guys weigh your cars, think about the battery,,, is it bigger than what you really need?
The Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 01:22 PM   #507
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland (southwest suburbs)
Posts: 795
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Omar
i just run extra fuel line and a 2 fuel filter to make up for the smaller gas tank
Correct me if I'm wrong here, but for ROAR and IFMAR races doesn't the TOTAL fuel capacity, including the fuel lines and fuel filter have to be no more than 75cc? If so, it makes sense to make the fuel tank a little under 75cc so you can bring the total capacity up to 75cc with the right filter and fuel line combination.

EDIT: just checked the rules myself.. sure enough, the 'total fuel system' capacity is what must be 75cc, not the fuel tank, so I think HPI did right by making the tank less than 75cc so you can have a fuel line and filter without having to put anything in the tank to take up some volume.

Rule 6-4 and 6-6 of the ROAR rulebook.

Last edited by Walt; 09-30-2003 at 01:29 PM.
Walt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 01:34 PM   #508
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC AREA
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Good heads up Walt
C0NTENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 01:53 PM   #509
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Well, if you tune your motor like I tune most of mine (have multiple touring cars), I normally get 6 to 7.5 minutes per run per tank with temps not breaking 240 degrees. I still get plenty of power from my stock MT12 motors and stay very competitive in the process. So, the right tuning is the key.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 06:23 PM   #510
Tech Elite
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

from what ive heard the tank is 3cc too small and
you cant make that up because you are only allow
7-8 inches of fuel line wich is 1 cc. at our track
the fastest cars run 18 laps when you calculate
that 2cc is half a lap and on bad conditions it
might be hard to make even 17 laps. On smaller
tracks fuel milleage is not an issue but on larger
tracks the car 2-3 cc will count.

Although I have spoken to someone from hpi
and they are going to update to a bigger tank.
Francis M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net