R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2005, 09:00 PM   #4441
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Guess I just get the ones on the link I posted since I already have the diff in the rear. I want to try it out for myself and see if I like it.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:02 PM   #4442
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KLANDERMAN
Hey you guys... I'm no expert at diff cases, but I took the advice to lower my car to 5mm in the front and 5 1/2 mm in the rear, I also instaleed the titanium shafts, the F/r graphite shock towers, the steering brace and the belt tensiones and my car was hauling ass!!!
The only thing I encountered was the shifting point, now my car shifts to soon, is it because of the weight reduction???
Most likely, or a change in engine tune. Since the shift is based on basically torque thru the drivetrain then whenever you increase how hard the drivetrain twists then you affect your shift point.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:04 PM   #4443
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HarKonnenD
Guess I just get the ones on the link I posted since I already have the diff in the rear. I want to try it out for myself and see if I like it.
I posted a few months ago about this. If you run foam tires and run on any track with decent grip you need to use the 4 spider gear diffs to get a consistent diff action. The 2 spider gears are too inconsistent when running higher consistency diff oils.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:13 PM   #4444
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

OK. So are those Savage ones I posted still ok though or do I have to get the ones on the link? I'll get those since they are basically the same what's included in the whole new kit.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:15 PM   #4445
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HarKonnenD
OK. So are those Savage ones I posted still ok though or do I have to get the ones on the link? I'll get those since they are basically the same what's included in the whole new kit.
Savage ones fit fine, the diff is the same size. BUT they MUST have notches in them as stated above. I am not sure whether all savage shafts have this notch.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:28 PM   #4446
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

They look the same to me. I called the LHS guy and he said they are the same, but I'll check for sure when I get there.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 02:59 PM   #4447
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

The .8 module gears and light weight shafts will soon be on my car! Anyone already racing or will be soon?
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:05 PM   #4448
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default finally

hey guys,
I finally got the r40! Came with .8 lightened 2 speed, lightened drive shafts, sirio .12, fantom pipe, battery pack, jaco foam tires, cf shocktowers, hpi lightened chassis. Looks great and I just got my servos in, now all I need is the starter box and Im set.
Just a quick question though, I really cant find a good way to get all the servo wires and etc to fit into the reciever box!! Its killing me. Did anyone not use the reciever box and mount all the stuff on the car?
Thanks
nitroracer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:08 PM   #4449
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

My Futaba RX is really small so it fits in there pretty good. The wires I don't wind all of them in there, just a small partion. The rest goes infront of the tank and to the back.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:10 PM   #4450
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what do you mean tack?? I just gotta mess around with it I guess and see what works.
Later
nitroracer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:13 PM   #4451
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Yeah I edited it. I ment tank. LOL
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:14 PM   #4452
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

o ok thanks. Going to try that later.
nitroracer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:15 PM   #4453
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Ok. Try to keep things neat though on the R40. I try to keep the wires together and just inline. No bunches or anything.
__________________
Trying to live every day like its the last....
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 04:53 PM   #4454
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ok, another question about routing the servo wires. Where/how did you guys route them? I ran them through the batterycompartment into the reciever area.

Thanks
nitroracer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 05:26 PM   #4455
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: noVA
Posts: 195
Send a message via AIM to goldenboy
Default

ya thats how i did mine also, but i cut bigger holes on the battery case because its a pain to try to fit them through. it works pretty good now.
goldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net