R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2005, 02:27 PM   #4291
Tech Fanatic
 
KLANDERMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Guatemala, Central America
Posts: 917
Default

Can't say that I have seen them. Mine is fairly new, so I haven't had problems with the belt, but I did with the diff casing. A piece of glass messed it up pretty bad, so I'm replacing it with the aluminum diff case. I hope I made the right decision...
KLANDERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 02:32 PM   #4292
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default Re: belts

Quote:
Originally posted by goldenboy
speakin about belts being tight....has anyone seen those orange looking fiber belts, ive seen them on g4's, i was just wondering if anyone makes them for the r40, cuz mine stretch really easily and come off, especially the side belt

thanks
I used to use these on my Kyosho. They are made by K Factory. They wont fit the R40.

HPI has some new optional belt for the R40.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 02:43 PM   #4293
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: noVA
Posts: 195
Send a message via AIM to goldenboy
Default

oo...do u know where i can see that new belt
goldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 02:53 PM   #4294
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goldenboy
oo...do u know where i can see that new belt


AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:53 PM   #4295
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: noVA
Posts: 195
Send a message via AIM to goldenboy
Default

waht is different about them......are they better?
goldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 07:30 PM   #4296
Tech Regular
 
JAG Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, Texas
Posts: 458
Send a message via AIM to JAG Racing
Default Re: belts

Quote:
Originally posted by goldenboy
speakin about belts being tight....has anyone seen those orange looking fiber belts, ive seen them on g4's, i was just wondering if anyone makes them for the r40, cuz mine stretch really easily and come off, especially the side belt

thanks
Havent seen the orange ones. My belts last me an entire season of racing and then I replace them just for reliability reasons only. Is is possible you have them adjusted too tight causing them them to stretch?
JAG Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 08:16 PM   #4297
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: noVA
Posts: 195
Send a message via AIM to goldenboy
Default

i didnt know u could adjust them....unless ur talkin about the belt tensioner.....but how would having it too tight make them stretch
goldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 08:34 PM   #4298
Tech Regular
 
JAG Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, Texas
Posts: 458
Send a message via AIM to JAG Racing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goldenboy
i didnt know u could adjust them....unless ur talkin about the belt tensioner.....but how would having it too tight make them stretch
Yes, the tensioner. The belt goes under severe stress conditions during acceleration. With a little slack, the belt is allowed to "self-tighten" instead of "stretching". The slack is taken up during acceleration. So without the slack, the belt will stretch.

I havent actually performed such stress analyses, its just my intuition. Take it for whats its worth .. I'm not a mechanical engineer... I work with electrons only
JAG Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 08:54 PM   #4299
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: noVA
Posts: 195
Send a message via AIM to goldenboy
Default

ya i have mine pushed all the way down cuz i thought i would make it stay on better..where do u think i should have it...
goldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 09:25 PM   #4300
Tech Regular
 
JAG Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, Texas
Posts: 458
Send a message via AIM to JAG Racing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goldenboy
ya i have mine pushed all the way down cuz i thought i would make it stay on better..where do u think i should have it...
After belt tensioner is set, makes sure the belt has about 1/4 inch of "play" in it.

Alternate - from the botton portion of the "belt loop", lift up on the belt. See if the bottom can touch the upper belt of the loop. Mine comes about 1/8" from the two sides from touching. Did that make any sense?

Last edited by JAG Racing; 01-19-2005 at 07:00 PM.
JAG Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 12:47 PM   #4301
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: noVA
Posts: 195
Send a message via AIM to goldenboy
Default

i did not understand that...how bout on the slot where u can slide the belt tensioner....where should it be
goldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 01:34 PM   #4302
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

The belt doesn't need to be very tight. As long as it doesn't slip or fall off you are fine. Just remember, if you tighten it too much, you increase the friction and drag so you car won't be as fast.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 05:22 PM   #4303
Tech Fanatic
 
Speedbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 978
Default round one victory

Hi Guys, Strike up another victory for the R40!!!
we had our first race meeting for this season last night which i ran the R40 for the first time. 3 first places and 1 third gave me the overall victory for the night. Thanks for all the good advice on the forum, next thing to try will be a locked front diff.
Can any tell me what is the best stuff to fill the standard diff with to lock it up, i have heard putty is good?
If the locked diff suits the track then i will buy a solid front axel.
Speedbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 09:14 PM   #4304
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

serpent cleaning gum works, so does modeling clay. Its a hassle getting it back out though. You might be better off getting the solid axle. I think it only $13 or so for the aluminum plug that replaces the gears.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 09:36 PM   #4305
Tech Fanatic
 
Speedbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 978
Default

Thanks, i'll try the clay and see how it goes.
Speedbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net