R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2003, 11:43 PM   #316
Tech Regular
 
puma1824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to puma1824
Default

Just wanted to post some pics of my new ride.

-Puma

puma1824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 12:17 AM   #317
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by puma1824
Just wanted to post some pics of my new ride.

-Puma

Nice ride. Nice .15 pipe too If you do not want the pipe scratched, lift the pipe a little higher.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 01:04 AM   #318
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 91
Default

I have read in many posts that many people use .15 size pipes. Why do you need greater high end or what ???
Speed De is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:07 AM   #319
Tech Adept
 
HPIRACER310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks for the info InitialD
I'm still new to nitro, the R40 is my 2nd nitro car. I appreciate all the help. I have to contend with an Impulse Pro running a .12 siro, a NTC3 with a .12 Orion Drone...that sucker is fast, and a couple Yoks and MTX3...one with an extremely fast 5-port NS12.
My car is 90% done, still waiting on servos before I break-in my engine.

Can anyone recommend a good throttle servo in the price range of $40-60?

Great pics Puma. I could be wrong but that pipe looks just like the one I have. RD Logics .12 turbo 61215. mine is the legal version.
HPIRACER310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:13 AM   #320
Tech Adept
 
HPIRACER310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 112
Default RD Logics .12 turbo pipe

http://photo.starblvd.net/~mytee1/5-...w=*B103F521C9F
HPIRACER310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:18 AM   #321
Tech Regular
 
puma1824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to puma1824
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HPIRACER310


Great pics Puma. I could be wrong but that pipe looks just like the one I have. RD Logics .12 turbo 61215. mine is the legal version.
I never said it was a .15 someone else assumed it was. It is in fact a .12 (but the Outlaw version)

-Puma
puma1824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:24 AM   #322
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by puma1824
I never said it was a .15 someone else assumed it was. It is in fact a .12 (but the Outlaw version)

-Puma
well, it is quite annoying to have some one assume something by just judging with his god granted magic eyes.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:58 AM   #323
Tech Fanatic
 
EVOLUTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Everywhere,yet Nowhere!
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore
well, it is quite annoying to have some one assume something by just judging with his god granted magic eyes.
Sometimes the computer screen can be blury!

EVOLUTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 11:18 AM   #324
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EVOLUTION
Sometimes the computer screen can be blury!

you dont have god granted magic eyes !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 11:33 AM   #325
Tech Fanatic
 
EVOLUTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Everywhere,yet Nowhere!
Posts: 978
Default

I think i need glasses!
EVOLUTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 01:36 PM   #326
Tech Adept
 
The Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 123
Default

Using C-clips (shims) behind the pillow balls was a good idea by HPI but when I put my kit together (exactly by the instructions), the front camber angle ended up at around 5 degrees negative!! Maybe no good...

The instructions said to use a 1mm shim for both the upper and lower front A-arms. A 5mm shim for the upper arm would have been better.

On the plus side, the rear toe-in did come out very close to 2 degrees using the shims.
The Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 09:20 PM   #327
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 59
Thumbs down R40 Front/Rear Belt

Well...got my R40 running today for a short while....1 1/2 tanks later - my rear belt were only strands of tread left. Anyone here had the same problem, except Regg - coz he was w/ me today at the park...can't remember my Racer2 had this belt issues....FYI! and I will call HPI about this......laterz
adlawoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:29 PM   #328
Tech Master
 
rcmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: plano,tx
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default r40 body posts

Are the hpi bodies a direct fit on the r40 ,cause the marks on bodies are indented in the lexan from HPI,or are the posts on the r40 off?? THANKS
rcmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 11:05 PM   #329
Tech Adept
 
The Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 123
Default

adlawoo and Regg,

I have ran 6 or 7 tanks thru my R40 and the belts are fine. I wonder if you guys got the pulleys mixed up. There are different sizes. On the side belt (the longest belt), the rear pulley is 19 tooth and the front pulley is 23 tooth. And then, a 18 tooth pulley goes in for the front diff belt. If your pulleys are somehow in the wrong place, I can see how that would tear your belts.

One other thing, my kit had a 22 tooth pulley that's not being used. It could be easily be mistaken for the 23 tooth.
The Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 12:11 AM   #330
Tech Regular
 
puma1824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to puma1824
Default Re: r40 body posts

Quote:
Originally posted by rcmike
Are the hpi bodies a direct fit on the r40 ,cause the marks on bodies are indented in the lexan from HPI,or are the posts on the r40 off?? THANKS
HPI bodies are a direct fit BUT to have the wheel wells line up exactly you'll have to run the 255 length.
puma1824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net