Wiki Posts
Search

HPI R40 Nitro Car Forum

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2004, 10:11 PM
Tech Rookie

Default hi guys

hi guys,
i have been running the car for 6 months now with out a good result . had a lot of d.n.f with stuff like clucth brearings failling and camber links letting go broke a sevo saver at last years australia titles and had no parts as i was the only one running a hpi r40 . but not to give up this years another year so with a bit of help from you guys i will sort this car out and hopefully put it up the pointy end of the field as i ran 5th at the Qld state titles with a v one r .
Cheers ozysnake

hpi r40
n.s.3 jp black
team lauterbacher Australia (1/5th scale )
Old 02-17-2004, 10:30 PM
smz
Tech Rookie

I've lost 3 bearings all on the clutch side. first it was B019, then B018, now the thrust bearings blew up. I dont know what i'm doing wrong, maybe someone can shed some light over here.
Old 02-17-2004, 11:08 PM
Tech Master

Originally posted by Rookie Solara
Fatboy Joe..........if you are running front 1-way (assumed you are running some mid-large size track)....your rear diff must be toward STIFF to SOLID condition..........if you look at most 235mm Serpent IMPACT or MUGEN chassis that run front 1-way stock, they only come with a SOLID REAR stock........so what you are saying about your rear diff oil getting light and car is getting hard to control does match the theory of the front 1-way rear solid equation....the idea is...your front wheels are spinning almost in all condition (since no DIFF to slow them down), and IF your rear diff spin freely with a little or less diff to slow them down itself, it is like your driving a car with NO BRAKES....so the car will push and slide entering or exit corner, and in your case, overpowered and causing fish tail (if traction on the track is poor....)