R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2004, 10:27 PM   #1531
Tech Adept
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 156
Default

Hey,

Has anyone had trouble with getting their R40 into second gear?

I tried everything but it does not seem to be able to change !

Any help would be great..

Thanks guys
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:28 AM   #1532
Tech Master
 
Fatboy Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming soooooon
Posts: 1,052
Default

What is the capacity of the R40's fuel tank? It seems to be a little bit smaller because I can only achieve a runtime of 5min using a .12 5 port Novarossi engine. Is there a tank that is bigger than stock? Thanks
Fatboy Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:36 AM   #1533
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vegetto
Hey,

Has anyone had trouble with getting their R40 into second gear?

I tried everything but it does not seem to be able to change !

Any help would be great..

Thanks guys

try taking the shoes out,and LIGHTLY trimming the sharp edge off them with an X-Acto knife....

then re-assemble EXACTLY like the book says,making sure the the space between the 2 shoes(where they say tighten down the allen's) is barely there......
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:37 AM   #1534
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fatboy Joe
What is the capacity of the R40's fuel tank? It seems to be a little bit smaller because I can only achieve a runtime of 5min using a .12 5 port Novarossi engine. Is there a tank that is bigger than stock? Thanks


The tank is a shade smaller than 75 cc's....(about 72)..HPI is redisigning the tank......
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 10:38 AM   #1535
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

On some of the overseas sites, they advertise the 75cc tank. Is it really the new 75cc tank or just the old tank?
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 12:24 PM   #1536
Tech Addict
 
Chewdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Has anyone had trouble with getting their R40 into second gear?
I had trouble with the two speed. Turns out the stock tension on the rear belt was not tight enough so the belt slightly slipped (not where you could notice it) but just enough so 2nd gear would not engage. Gave it more tension and the two speed shifted fine.
Chewdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 02:06 PM   #1537
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: living the life in Wichita Kansas?
Posts: 503
Send a message via Yahoo to LILROBBY
Default

how much more tension?
__________________
If rubbin is racin' then I'm rubbin harder than ever!!
The team Hoopty comeback tour is coming to a track near you!!

Associated T4
Associated Rc8 electric?
Associated TC5
LILROBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:22 PM   #1538
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
AMG..how about an evaluation of how the car drives?...

I respect your opinion......
I wont make too many comments yet as I have driven it totally rock stock so far only for a few tanks.

Firstly, it is not as fast as my very tuned V1R (duh!) This is not a criticism, but a note that a V1R tuned well is faster on my track than the R40 rock stock. No big surprises there.

Second comment, its performance and acceleration belies its very heavy weight.

More time and tuning session in 2 days time. At that point I will make further comments.

I have hopped it up now as well, nothing wild:

1. Rear 4 gear differential.
2. Front and Rear graphite towers.
3. Side Kawahara graphite brace.
4. Lightened middle and layshaft.

Some notes on weight.

My car was 1907g fully built with body minus fuel. That is darn heavy. It is now 1876g with the above modifications. This is way more heavy than I would like.

Front tower: stock 12g graphite 5g
Rear tower: stock 11g graphite 7g
Mid shaft: stock 15g light 8g
Rear shaft: stock 24g light 12g

I am using the heavy battery pack for now. There is 40g+ weight saving when I go to a light pack.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:26 PM   #1539
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vegetto
Hey,

Has anyone had trouble with getting their R40 into second gear?

I tried everything but it does not seem to be able to change !

Any help would be great..

Thanks guys
Mine shifted perfectly from the get go. Make sure you follow the instructions when setting up the shoes perfectly.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:28 PM   #1540
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
On some of the overseas sites, they advertise the 75cc tank. Is it really the new 75cc tank or just the old tank?
The 75cc size claim on those sites is what is written on the HPI labels. The part numbers are identical to the incorrect tanks in the kits. The 3cc seems inconsequential, but I noticed a runtime loss.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:33 PM   #1541
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
Is anyone running the aluminum shocks? My front shocks are cranked all the way down the the end of the threads and the car is at 5mm. Not that I usually run much higher than that but does that sound right? Also, anyone have any good setups? I'll be running this car at Revelations and I know Thad and Hara have setups on the HPI site but they're using (Proceed) springs that I may not be able to find.

Thanks
Another note on this issue. The front graphite towers come with upper and lower holes. Use the lower holes when you go under 60mm tire diameter and you dont have to crank down on the adjuster nut so far.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:39 PM   #1542
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

AMGRacer - Thanks, I did make that switch just because the angle of the shocks doesn't seem to change. I guess the extra holes are just for adjusting shock travel and not shock angle.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:59 PM   #1543
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
AMGRacer - Thanks, I did make that switch just because the angle of the shocks doesn't seem to change. I guess the extra holes are just for adjusting shock travel and not shock angle.
Yep my Kyosho has an optional rear tower with the same features. Works nicely.

On another note this thing looks pretty wild:



Notice the Kawahara 0.8M gearset. Apparently it is much lighter. Costs around $80 tho.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 06:24 PM   #1544
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMGRacer
The 3cc seems inconsequential, but I noticed a runtime loss.
Many tanks on various cars would be within 3cc, perhaps the reduced run time is due to the 10% extra weight ?

DC
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 06:37 PM   #1545
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OZDC
Many tanks on various cars would be within 3cc, perhaps the reduced run time is due to the 10% extra weight ?

DC
Mayby you could be right about the weight. My Kyosho tank is spot on the money at 75cc. At our large track up here I run usually around 14/15 lappers. That works out to around 5cc a lap, so 3cc is almost 1 lap earlier on refueling.

The G4 is worse at 69cc. I would be a lap down.

Might be a combo of both factors.............
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New on Nitro and this forum Emaxx rider Rookie Zone 8 02-06-2008 07:21 AM
HPI Nitro MT 2 Forum Tom P Electric Off-Road 5 07-19-2004 06:26 PM
New Nitro R/C Forum Dantherc10man Web Links 0 08-09-2003 07:39 AM
Nitro car forum Rose Money Singapore R/C Racers 47 07-04-2002 08:49 PM
Nitro Forum ART2 Singapore R/C Racers 41 05-16-2002 10:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net