R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2003, 01:19 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default digital servo ok for throttle application?

couple of questions
is it ok to use a digital servo for throttle control on my ntc3
i was worried that when you apply the breaks that since the
throttle is only compressing the fuel tubing and continually working to do so it might break the servo or wear it out prematurely
also if it is okay to use one will my battery drain be really bad
i am using a 6v 1100mah receiver bat. , and i also use a
digital servo for steering too
reason i ask is my original hs 625 throttle servo has a
weird flutter to it occasionally, i have tested everything and
narrowed it down to the servo itself, (yes i tested different
crystals , receivers , rx battery's , and looked for frayed wires
any suggestions
sorry so long winded
any information is greatly appreciated
thankyou
sb
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 04:23 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

As long as the epa is properly set on a digital, you should have no problems. Set epa wrong, and it will get fried.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 04:59 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
speedydave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 377
Send a message via AIM to speedydave Send a message via Yahoo to speedydave
Default

I wouldn't. Not only does a digital servo drain more power than an analog servo, it also stays in the position it was in if a signal is lost, whereas an analog servo would act as if the receiver pack died, which would allow a TRS to do its job.
speedydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 05:17 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

thats what a fail safe is for
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 08:18 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NoVA
Posts: 856
Send a message via ICQ to mtx3racer Send a message via AIM to mtx3racer
Default

i agree w/ im2lazy if you have everything set right then it will be ok.





Nitro Rules
mtx3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2003, 09:42 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default

big thank you for your replys
im gonna try and figure out the non digital servo 1st
see if i can get it to work for me
but now i know the deal with the digitals
thanks all
sb
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2003, 01:38 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default digital servo ok for throttle application?

Guys;

My experience with Digital Servo's in a T/B application is that they tend to fail prematurely, even with the endpoints set correctly and no ABS. (The Radio Manufacturers will tell you this too).

I now use High Speed Digital for Steering and Analog Servo's for the T/B and this is my recommendation also.

Power Drain is NOT a factor in either case. With 1000+ Mah RX pack, you should be able to get 1+ hours of running time.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:21 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: digital servo ok for throttle application?

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

My experience with Digital Servo's in a T/B application is that they tend to fail prematurely, even with the endpoints set correctly and no ABS. (The Radio Manufacturers will tell you this too).

<SNIP>
Hi Pops,

I'm curious - why do they fail?
I can't imagine any radio manufacturers telling us not to buy their servo's.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 12:54 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

the manufacturers do not recommand using the ABS function with digital servos, not stop buying digital servos

don't know why they will fail sooner in t/b application, but so far the one i am using is still working
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:37 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Digital Servo failure in a T/B app

Guys;

This was conveyed to me by the Customer Service Departments of 2 different manufacturers.

Plus it always seems to happen in the Main, when you're the Top Qualifier or in a good position to take 1st place.

It's your money, so do with it as you wish. Just trying to save someone else from the same headaches.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:52 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
vones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

maybe digital servos doesn't hve so much holding power when use on T/B applications...cos when braking there's force acting on the servos.....my 2 cts...
vones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:12 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Its not the holding power its that their going to push the linkages as far as you tell them to go and if you have your epa set wrong or your brake linkage is just very difficult for it to push the digital servo will push anyway even if it means breaking itself. I think non-digital servos kinda give up if you try to make them pass their limits and are less likely to break.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:14 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

sbmon: Send your 625 to hitec and they will probably fix it for you for free if its still in the warrenty period. They have great customer service. I blew a motor in my 645mg and sent it to them and had it back in a week with no charges.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:50 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

I have been using a digital servo (Futaba 9450) for throttle/brake for over a year now. At least 40 litres of fuel through the car over this time and never a problem.

Just my experiences.

BTW make sure you use the rubber grommets they are there for a reason.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 11:41 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default AMGRacer;

That is very interesting. I have never seen anyone use the Gromments in an R/C Car application, but maybe the vibrations from the Engine is what is killing my T/B Servo's. Sounds like a good Idea.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR 9100T digital servo / XP (ACE) 1015 digital servo SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-18-2010 01:28 PM
digital throttle servos?? Matt M. Nitro Off-Road 9 04-27-2008 01:50 PM
Steering servo and Throttle servo same speed? straightaway Nitro On-Road 4 11-06-2007 08:21 PM
Airtronics 94537 Servo Throttle Servo HS Imdadundada7 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 23 06-19-2006 09:55 PM
Any problems with a digital servo on throttle? Wildewinds Nitro On-Road 1 10-05-2004 05:55 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:35 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net