R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2003, 09:31 AM   #31
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default

vonesracer
that is exactly what i am talking about
setting the epa on a t/b servo is easy on the wot side
but the break side is where the blur is at
what you consider good breaks may be entirely
different from what another considers good breaking action
i think it depends on how much and how often you can
stall a servo before it breaks, i believe that analog
servos can be stalled alot more than digital servos
without breaking , what do you all think
sb
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 11:25 PM   #32
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sbmon
vonesracer
that is exactly what i am talking about
setting the epa on a t/b servo is easy on the wot side
but the break side is where the blur is at
what you consider good breaks may be entirely
different from what another considers good breaking action
i think it depends on how much and how often you can
stall a servo before it breaks, i believe that analog
servos can be stalled alot more than digital servos
without breaking , what do you all think
sb
Setting the brake travel shouldn't much different to the throttle.
The difference between "enough" brake travel and absolutely total lock-up won't be much in terms of a measurement.

Firstly, it's necessary to accommodate this required travel with the servo horn. This may mean using the outer hole of the horn is the way to go. With this set properly you should not run the risk of reaching the limits of the servo travel.

The distinction here is between servo travel and horn travel.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 01:52 AM   #33
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Taylor-Racing
Setting the brake travel shouldn't much different to the throttle.
The difference between "enough" brake travel and absolutely total lock-up won't be much in terms of a measurement.

Firstly, it's necessary to accommodate this required travel with the servo horn. This may mean using the outer hole of the horn is the way to go. With this set properly you should not run the risk of reaching the limits of the servo travel.

The distinction here is between servo travel and horn travel.
Could you aaahh..... dumb it down a little...... ?

I'm using the outer hole in the servo horn, is that what you're basically trying to say?

Last edited by V-One S Racer; 08-02-2003 at 02:15 AM.
V-One S Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 02:02 AM   #34
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 24
Default

the outer hole

Last edited by Pulsar; 11-07-2003 at 02:44 AM.
Pulsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 02:17 AM   #35
Tech Fanatic
 
EVOLUTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Everywhere,yet Nowhere!
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by V-One S Racer
Could you aaahh..... dumb it down a little...... ?

I'm using the outer hole in the servo horn, is that what you're basically trying to say?
It's all about "levers of operation",i learnt that crap years ago in tech and spent ages studying it and to this day i still don't know what fulcrum,load and effort means,LOL.
EVOLUTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 05:13 AM   #36
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by V-One S Racer
Could you aaahh..... dumb it down a little...... ?

I'm using the outer hole in the servo horn, is that what you're basically trying to say?
From your post on the previous page it sounds like your's is correct.

But, OK, now . . . imagine you have a servo horn that is 30mm from the centre post (the fulcrum) to the outer hole. It also has an inner hole only 10mm from the servo post, yeah.
Now, say, when you push the trigger on your Tx, that the inner hole moves the brake linkage, say, 10mm.
If you now transfer the brake linkage to the outer hole, it'll move a lot further for the same push on the Tx.

Come for a run at Dandenong tomorrow and I'll show you.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 05:20 AM   #37
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Taylor-Racing
From your post on the previous page it sounds like your's is correct.

But, OK, now . . . imagine you have a servo horn that is 30mm from the centre post (the fulcrum) to the outer hole. It also has an inner hole only 10mm from the servo post, yeah.
Now, say, when you push the trigger on your Tx, that the inner hole moves the brake linkage, say, 10mm.
If you now transfer the brake linkage to the outer hole, it'll move a lot further for the same push on the Tx.

Come for a run at Dandenong tomorrow and I'll show you.
Gee I'd like to but you left the offer a bit late !

Plus my parents are gunna be away so I'd have to start walking now . That's the reason I can't get to the AGM either... it sucks relying on other people to get places!

I understand what you're saying though !
V-One S Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 05:32 AM   #38
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by V-One S Racer
Gee I'd like to but you left the offer a bit late !

Plus my parents are gunna be away so I'd have to start walking now . That's the reason I can't get to the AGM either... it sucks relying on other people to get places!

I understand what you're saying though !
Where do you live?
Maybe give OZDC a call and scrounge a lift? He might not be on toddler duty tomorrow.
Or . . . maybe Steve J. . . .
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR 9100T digital servo / XP (ACE) 1015 digital servo SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-18-2010 01:28 PM
digital throttle servos?? Matt M. Nitro Off-Road 9 04-27-2008 01:50 PM
Steering servo and Throttle servo same speed? straightaway Nitro On-Road 4 11-06-2007 08:21 PM
Airtronics 94537 Servo Throttle Servo HS Imdadundada7 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 23 06-19-2006 09:55 PM
Any problems with a digital servo on throttle? Wildewinds Nitro On-Road 1 10-05-2004 05:55 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net