R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2003, 12:29 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
eddiethefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 1,658
Send a message via ICQ to eddiethefish
Default Re: AMGRacer;

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
That is very interesting. I have never seen anyone use the Gromments in an R/C Car application, but maybe the vibrations from the Engine is what is killing my T/B Servo's. Sounds like a good Idea.
grommets will probably be ok for Throttle Servo, but for Steering, I won't.
eddiethefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:33 PM   #17
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

The gromments could also allow the servo to move around a little bit so if its pushed to far the grouments allow the whole servo to move a little to keep it from breaking.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 05:19 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Alot of people do not like using the grommets for the steering servo but I have used them for over 2 years and my steering is very reactive. My car is at least as fast as anybody elses with the same skill level on the track, so I personally do not see that they are reducing steering or response from the car. But of course I have no hard evidence of this!! Remember that the car has slop in the steering no matter what you do to prevent it. The plastic components flex a little and the rims also flex under cornering load. The tiny amount of throttle flex on the grommets is in my opinion worth it for servo life. Mayby I am just a cheapskate

Anyway I have only ever had 1 servo failure on a car and this was a hard mounted throttle servo.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 05:00 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

We also use grommets on both steering and throttle servo's with no issues.

I would expect (but cannot prove) that the high frequency vibrations would likely be responsible for killing the servo's. I'd guess the gear train would survive, but maybe not the electronics.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 06:00 AM   #20
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: sunnyvale, ca
Posts: 56
Default Re: digital servo ok for throttle application?

Quote:
Originally posted by sbmon
couple of questions
is it ok to use a digital servo for throttle control on my ntc3
i was worried that when you apply the breaks that since the
throttle is only compressing the fuel tubing and continually working to do so it might break the servo or wear it out prematurely
also if it is okay to use one will my battery drain be really bad
i am using a 6v 1100mah receiver bat. , and i also use a
digital servo for steering too
reason i ask is my original hs 625 throttle servo has a
weird flutter to it occasionally, i have tested everything and
narrowed it down to the servo itself, (yes i tested different
crystals , receivers , rx battery's , and looked for frayed wires
any suggestions
sorry so long winded
any information is greatly appreciated
thankyou
sb
sbmon: I took a look at a number of cars raced by local pros at
this weekend race at Revelations Raceway in L.A. and found none
use a digital servo on the throttle/brakes...(oh yeah, the pros were: Barry Baker, Robbie Collins, Ron Rossetti, Pepe Velez).
Then you got me to thinking of the number of racers I know of
that were running digital servoes for the throttle and brakes
that had the throttle/brake servo go out....then I lost the function
of my digital throttle/brake servo at this very race...and found that
the servo was ok but had taken out the circuit in my receiver...
I am now running an analog servo for throttle and brake duties.
jd300zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 06:07 AM   #21
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: sunnyvale, ca
Posts: 56
Default Re: Re: digital servo ok for throttle application?

sbmon: one last thing...never but never use a digital servo on
any 1/8 scale car, be it onroad or offroad...they generate so
much inertia from their weight and/or stiction to the track that
the servo will stall and overheat (read: die!) they are fine for
1/10 cars.
jd300zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 08:09 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default

jd300zxtt
thankyou for your input
i have decided to stick with analog t/b servo
i believe too that the consensus is that a digital
for t/b application is not ideal, i think it is due to
the brake application of the servo, cause when compressing
fuel tubing it will only compress so much and then the
servo will continue to try and compress the tubing
this will overwork the servo and lead to premature
breakage , that's how i see it for now
thanks again
sb
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 05:23 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: Re: digital servo ok for throttle application?

Quote:
Originally posted by jd300zxtt
sbmon: I took a look at a number of cars raced by local pros at
this weekend race at Revelations Raceway in L.A. and found none
use a digital servo on the throttle/brakes...(oh yeah, the pros were: Barry Baker, Robbie Collins, Ron Rossetti, Pepe Velez).
Then you got me to thinking of the number of racers I know of
that were running digital servoes for the throttle and brakes
that had the throttle/brake servo go out....then I lost the function
of my digital throttle/brake servo at this very race...and found that
the servo was ok but had taken out the circuit in my receiver...
I am now running an analog servo for throttle and brake duties.
Hmmm, interesting.
If you get the chance, could you ask these pro's why they don't use a digital on the throttle?
I for one would be interested to know if there is a good reason behind it.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:10 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

I currently own 22 Hi tec Digitals..all the 5900 series..and a few 5600 series...

they are in everything from my Veteq to 10 touring cars.....

on throttle and steering....never had one break...

When I called Mike Mayberry at Hitec,he did not recommend a digital servo on throttle....of course,when I assured him that I was capable of setting EPA CORRECTLY,he said go for it..(the ONLY problem with digitals is teh EPA..if its not set correctly,you overheat the circuit board)..

Alot of RC Companys don't want to assume liability for your stupidity....So they give the answer that they feel the majority of people won't get themselves in trouble with..

oh,BTW,I don't use grommets either..

I had more NON DIGITAL Futaba servos fail in the same application...


Now the question becomes,Can Digital servos break quicker in these applications?.....I guess...as Scotty said on Star Trek....the more plumbing you add,the easier it is to stop up the drain...


Besides,with everyones Servo savers so tight(ESP on the the Tc3 nitros),you don't think hitting the front Wheels on the boards is more damaging then compressing fuel tubing?.....

I stripped a Servo horn twice in my tc3's....NO Damage to the servo....

__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c

Last edited by fastharry™; 07-30-2003 at 06:17 AM.
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 07:06 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

Thanks fastharry,

Your explanation sounds entirely plausable.

The manufacturers are only concerned about their digital servos when the EPA is set by us analogue racers.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:20 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Plausible explanations??

Guys;

Incorrect EPA's can fry any type of servo.
So what is the cause if the EPA is set correctly (on a Computer Radio), with plenty of extra left over and Digital Servos still give up the Ghost in 3-6 months.
I was also told by one CS rep NOT to mention that a Servo being sent in for warranty was in a T/B app or it would be refused.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:35 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Time to switch servo suppliers....



I stand by what I said....I've had no problems with Hitec servos..

I think I have a better chance of maybe cracking a servo board in a high speed hit,then burning one up..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:57 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

I agree with harry. My Futaba with proper EPA is still kicking after 1 year. Strain on any servo will kill them very quick.

In fact my T/B servos that have fried are the analog type.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 03:49 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: Plausible explanations??

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

Incorrect EPA's can fry any type of servo.
So what is the cause if the EPA is set correctly (on a Computer Radio), with plenty of extra left over and Digital Servos still give up the Ghost in 3-6 months.
I was also told by one CS rep NOT to mention that a Servo being sent in for warranty was in a T/B app or it would be refused.
Pop's, who are these companies you are talking about?
The new Futaba 3PK with HRS can only use digitals as I understand it, so at least Futaba must be confident.

If any company refused my warranty claim because I told them it was a throttle servo, I would want to see where they stated it in said warranty.
Let's just say they wouldn't get away with that stunt with me.
If this was a common practice, I'm sure we would all know about it.

A number of the earlier digitals were a bit "iffy" - maybe this is where the story started.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 06:45 AM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default Re: Re: Plausible explanations??

Quote:
Originally posted by Taylor-Racing
Pop's, who are these companies you are talking about?
The new Futaba 3PK with HRS can only use digitals as I understand it, so at least Futaba must be confident.

If any company refused my warranty claim because I told them it was a throttle servo, I would want to see where they stated it in said warranty.
Let's just say they wouldn't get away with that stunt with me.
If this was a common practice, I'm sure we would all know about it.

A number of the earlier digitals were a bit "iffy" - maybe this is where the story started.
Yeah, I got a 3PK HRS with two digitals... so what's this business with the EPA?

How exactly do you set it "correctly"?

I've got it so that the travel for the throttle ends as soon as the carby reaches WOT and that my brake travel is strong enough for good braking power.

That sound correct?
V-One S Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR 9100T digital servo / XP (ACE) 1015 digital servo SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-18-2010 01:28 PM
digital throttle servos?? Matt M. Nitro Off-Road 9 04-27-2008 01:50 PM
Steering servo and Throttle servo same speed? straightaway Nitro On-Road 4 11-06-2007 08:21 PM
Airtronics 94537 Servo Throttle Servo HS Imdadundada7 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 23 06-19-2006 09:55 PM
Any problems with a digital servo on throttle? Wildewinds Nitro On-Road 1 10-05-2004 05:55 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:41 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net