R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-21-2008, 11:34 AM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default sealed or open bearing for the nitro engine?

Guys. plz enlightened me on this one. im still a newbie.....
ram99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 12:18 PM   #2
Tech Champion

Of course you want sealed bearing put in the front side and no seal bearing at inside. Sealed bearing types : rubber and metal shield. This keep presurized air inside the engine, thus no air ( and fuel ) leaking out from the front bearing. Rubber shield ( usually made from teflon ) is the best shield protection but they don't last long. Metal shield I guess has slightly air leaking. Rubber shield bearing has less rpm than metal shield bearing due to seal friction. However, a perfect non leaking engine will produce more top end power and easier to tune.

No seal bearing is put inside the engine. Don't need seal because the ball bearing need constant lubrication from the fuel, and you want more rpm, right ?
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:11 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Default sealed bearing

yah, im still a newbie when it comes to nitro rc,..
do i have to de sealed the bearing?
Old 04-22-2008, 02:23 AM   #4
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)

should the front bearing have a seal on only the outside?

or leave the seal on both sides of the front bearing?
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:49 AM   #5
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
should the front bearing have a seal on only the outside?

or leave the seal on both sides of the front bearing?
Front bearing have the seal on the outer side only!
Old 04-22-2008, 02:57 AM   #6
Tech Elite

I have used rubber sealed and metal sealed bearings on all my engines and have found rubber sealed to start leaking after a few hours of use.