R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2008, 12:26 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default picco P9r plugs???

Do you have to run picco plugs in these engines?

or will novarossi plugs work?

many thanks
kurtcash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 12:33 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland, Europe
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtcash View Post
Do you have to run picco plugs in these engines?

or will novarossi plugs work?

many thanks
Only PICCO plugs will work on PICCO engines, now if you want your PICCO to leak then go ahead use a Novarossi plug and be ready to buy a new head button.
hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 12:42 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yes, you HAVE to run picco plugs, nova plugs will leak.

http://kamikazetoysandhobbies.com/pr...php?cat=4&pg=2
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 06:03 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Split Pin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 119
Default Plugs

No you don't have to run Picco plugs. I have a Trinity Picco XP12 which I purchased from USA & have tried Novarossi plugs & they worked fine but I found them to be faulty, the end of the coil came loose from the body (must have been a bad batch).But the best plug I found is the Odonnell Racing ODO77T & I get great HP out of the motor & last a long time up to 4 race meets & still OK. These plugs are also pure platinium while other plugs have iridium alloyed into them.
Split Pin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 09:23 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I repeate, you HAVE to use Picco plugs. Picco Plugs have lasted me way more than 4 race meets. I havent changed mine since january.
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 09:39 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Not only that the plugs last longer, the taper of this new version PICCO's are different from the old engines like XP 12, also if you put an Odonell plug in the PICCOs it does not seal properly and as hello just said it will leak and more likely damage the tread in the head button.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 06:05 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Split Pin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 119
Default

I think kurtcash should have said what model Picco he has or intending to purchase, because there are a few different brands of piccos ie picco, trinty, ofna, adam drake, etc . This is good to know that the new Picco needs Picco plugs I assume this is written in the instructions some where clearly and the reason as you have mentioned. Thanks for the info.By the way, that is 4 or more race meets since January with 4 qualifiers of 5 mins & 20 min finals. Thanks for the info.
Split Pin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 12:11 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Colt4g63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Picco or Dynamite plugs are what I personally use.
__________________
Adam Blevins Owner/Operator of AB Mods X-Dyno equipped and World Record holding engines!
www.ABMods.com
Colt4g63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 09:20 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colt4g63 View Post
Picco or Dynamite plugs are what I personally use.
Dynamite for some reason does not seem to work well with the P9's, with the 12 it's not that bad, I believe the dynamite plug are hotter than the original PICCO plugs, and they don't last, also if you compare the coils it is way skinnier than the PICCO plugs.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 10:52 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BK N.Y.
Posts: 146
Send a message via AIM to FITO
Default

you can use mega and sirio onroad plugs aswell both the same as picco plugs
__________________
RODOLFO
KYOSHO M3, PICCO, KO PROPO, MAXY FUEL
FITO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 12:15 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Colt4g63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Kamikaze View Post
Dynamite for some reason does not seem to work well with the P9's, with the 12 it's not that bad, I believe the dynamite plug are hotter than the original PICCO plugs, and they don't last, also if you compare the coils it is way skinnier than the PICCO plugs.
I have yet to test the life span on the P9R using the Dynamite compared to Picco plugs. On the JLRs the Dynamite are what I use and what are in my JLR on the dyno when it made 1.22HP and 38 Oz/IN They worked VERY well on the JLRs. I run the 8s in it. I use them as they seem to work well for me and the local hobby shop here stocks them and there cheap I will take your word for it and grab some Picco plugs off you and throw them in the P9R and see how they compare to the Dynamites as far as longevity and power on the dyno. Play with heat ranges etc
__________________
Adam Blevins Owner/Operator of AB Mods X-Dyno equipped and World Record holding engines!
www.ABMods.com
Colt4g63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 09:49 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colt4g63 View Post
I have yet to test the life span on the P9R using the Dynamite compared to Picco plugs. On the JLRs the Dynamite are what I use and what are in my JLR on the dyno when it made 1.22HP and 38 Oz/IN They worked VERY well on the JLRs. I run the 8s in it. I use them as they seem to work well for me and the local hobby shop here stocks them and there cheap I will take your word for it and grab some Picco plugs off you and throw them in the P9R and see how they compare to the Dynamites as far as longevity and power on the dyno. Play with heat ranges etc

You will definitely notice the difference when using it with the P9R, switching from a PICCO P7TC to a Dynamite plug.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:20 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Because the bore/stroke is the same as Novarossi you can always get an Novarossi underhead to use NR plugs in your Picco
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:41 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Because the bore/stroke is the same as Novarossi you can always get an Novarossi underhead to use NR plugs in your Picco
Obviously you never tried it, Novarossi head button's mounting holes are different from the PICCO head button's mounting holes, it won't line up.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:22 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Colt4g63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The head button/combustion chamber has ALOT to do with how the engine performs. Just throwing any head button on and engine is not a good idea.
__________________
Adam Blevins Owner/Operator of AB Mods X-Dyno equipped and World Record holding engines!
www.ABMods.com
Colt4g63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
picco p6tc plugs tony block R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-06-2008 12:51 PM
Breaking in picco .12xp and keeps blowing plugs???????? BIG DADDY8 Nitro On-Road 4 08-17-2008 07:21 PM
Picco Plugs bherzog513 Nitro On-Road 34 07-31-2008 07:25 PM
JLR .12 Red-Dot Picco vs Z.12R Team Spec.3 vs Picco (#P1-4073) P1-R .12 RE EVO 3 Tur nickiphorosn Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 11 04-13-2007 10:18 PM
picco .21 + extra plugs and clutches for sale houston R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 03-02-2007 08:39 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net