R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2003, 01:13 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Send a message via MSN to tkhoo
Default

doesnt that car have a soild rear axel? I think don't have

about how fast do u take the turn? Fast

how does everyone else take the turn? fast than me but they using foam tire.
tkhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:14 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by me43
...how does everyone else take the turn?
I daresay this is the most important piece of info we need.

other people are the basis of the observation that your car needs more steering in slow, tight corners, so what makes them handle it differently?
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:15 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

hm...

i guess if brake a little it might help

but if you servo throw is less than everyones than yeah u will have under steer


a rear diff. might help
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:16 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Send a message via MSN to tkhoo
Default

Sorry, I not understand what you mean.
tkhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:20 AM   #20
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tkhoo
doesnt that car have a soild rear axel? I think don't have

about how fast do u take the turn? Fast

how does everyone else take the turn? fast than me but they using foam tire.
okay, what tires are you using? Because whatever they are, they won't let you go as fast a foams. Foams have much more grip. I run rubber tire and foam tire classes, and my lap time with foams are on average, .7- 1.0 second faster... per lap. That is very significant, and if you don't have foams, you will be glad when you do.

To use rubber tires against foams, you need to use diffs. Rubber tires don't have enough traction, so you have to use your braking ability as an avantage if you use rubbers. Plus the car should become much more stable on corner entry and exit.

Personally, I find one-ways to be fast, but not very consistent on tracks where you encounter tight 180's and sharp angles created by parking lot style tracks.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:21 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

i think a rear diff. will help alot


because i belive ur car has a solid rear axel

mind checking?
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:24 AM   #22
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

o, ok

the car only has a rear diff.

my bad
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:25 AM   #23
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by me43
i think a rear diff. will help alot


because i belive ur car has a solid rear axel

mind checking?
How would he have a solid rear axle with out knowing he bought one?

mike, the gt4 rtr comes with a front solid axle, but he bought a one-way to replace it. I would guess he hasn't touched the rear diff.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:25 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Send a message via MSN to tkhoo
Default

I am running rear diff.............front one way. OK.......I change to foam tire and do some brake when go into a 180 degree corner.
tkhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:30 AM   #25
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

i thought it came with a soild rear because yokomo makes a kit with a front oneway and a soild rear
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:31 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

In order to properly brake with a one-way, you must first have all things properly set on your car. The front spring preload must be equal on both sides. The rear droop must also be equal, and you should have very minimal rear droop too, otherwise too much weight will transfer making the car lose traction for braking.

Also, you should lower your brake epa to about 2/3 of what you would have if you had full time 4wd. Still with all of this, you still cannot brake and turn simultaneously.


Hope some of that is new.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:33 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by me43
i thought it came with a soild rear because yokomo makes a kit with a front oneway and a soild rear
That is the old gt4 pro. The one made for lola bodies. I don't know if that is how their present pro kit is equipped, but an RTR equipped with a rear solid axle and a front oneway would be a flop because that would be impossible for most RTR buyers to drive in even the simplest patterns or cornering manuevers.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:49 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Send a message via MSN to tkhoo
Default

may I know what is rear droop?? how to measure it?? Pls advice.
tkhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:55 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

droop is a up travel limitor

adjusted with droop screws
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 01:58 AM   #30
Tech Elite
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Send a message via MSN to tkhoo
Default

mean we measure by take up the car and measure it from chasis to the ground minus ride high??
tkhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understeer on a XRAY XB8.. HOw to fix it? Mpowerz Nitro Off-Road 3 03-03-2008 02:22 AM
Definition of understeer and oversteer imjonah Electric On-Road 10 03-18-2004 02:27 PM
V-one-S Understeer Dishy Australian Racing 11 05-18-2003 08:19 PM
i hate understeer wahturi Nitro On-Road 15 01-19-2003 07:56 PM
How to fix understeer? TRF-Powered Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2001 09:02 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net