R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2009, 11:48 PM   #1426
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 320
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
rc-mushroom.com
rcmarket.com.hk
rcmart.com

they might have some different parts mainly either 3racing and some kfactory bits.
thankz alot!
btw if i do a completely break down on a nitro engine and clean it out, and then re-lube it's internals with castrol oil then re assemble the engine back together! do i have to break in the engine again as if it was brand new?! or just run it and re-tune the engine?! thanks
LAM3SAUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 11:56 PM   #1427
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
thankz alot!
btw if i do a completely break down on a nitro engine and clean it out, and then re-lube it's internals with castrol oil then re assemble the engine back together! do i have to break in the engine again as if it was brand new?! or just run it and re-tune the engine?! thanks
No, you don't have to break it in again.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:02 AM   #1428
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Fisher View Post
No, you don't have to break it in again.
hey scott!
#2, i have a sirio evo4 sti engine! the previous owner used 20% fuel! now i want to use 30% fuel! is this bad for the engine to change the fuel?! or should i stay the same percentage?, if i change it what do i have to do to the engine as well?!
LAM3SAUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:01 AM   #1429
Tech Master
 
Ivan Dickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cali Love USA
Posts: 1,643
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
hey scott!
#2, i have a sirio evo4 sti engine! the previous owner used 20% fuel! now i want to use 30% fuel! is this bad for the engine to change the fuel?! or should i stay the same percentage?, if i change it what do i have to do to the engine as well?!
u can change to 30% fuel just add shims to the engine...goin to a higher % fuel wont hurt the engine..
__________________
SPECIAL THANKS TO ✦ MY WIFE ✦✦ MOTIV RC ✦✦ GRAVITY RC ✦✦ JGO PAINTZ ✦✦ TQ RC RACEWAY ✦✦ TAMIYA RACEWAY ✦
Ivan Dickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:01 AM   #1430
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
hey scott!
#2, i have a sirio evo4 sti engine! the previous owner used 20% fuel! now i want to use 30% fuel! is this bad for the engine to change the fuel?! or should i stay the same percentage?, if i change it what do i have to do to the engine as well?!
No problem changing nitro. I would start by richening the engine a bit and retune it to the new fuel. Also, there is a possibility you will need to add a head shim, but my guess is that the previous owner didn't remove any shims and you probably won't have any issues.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:26 AM   #1431
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bosley View Post
The holes are bigger so you can adjust the mount front/rear and side to side since every engine is different and gear mesh is different for each person.
Thanks Brian for replay, but when I look to main chassis in friends RRR's there
are a much smaller holes then in my chassis. For test I will get chassis from my
friend, and set engine mount on M3 screws.

Thanks!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:09 AM   #1432
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
any one know any websites that still carry hop-up parts / aluminum parts for this car, evo/evo2?! most of the websites i know do not carry anymore upgrade parts just stock car parts!

thankz!
rc-toro.com has some hopups for v1rrr evo/evo2. They also carry kyosho parts as well.


http://www.rc-toro.com/index.php/cPa...9ebb61fab77fc0
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:15 PM   #1433
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Fisher View Post
No problem changing nitro. I would start by richening the engine a bit and retune it to the new fuel. Also, there is a possibility you will need to add a head shim, but my guess is that the previous owner didn't remove any shims and you probably won't have any issues.
where are these shims ill be looking for?! how many do i need to be on there?!
LAM3SAUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 10:12 PM   #1434
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,276
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
where are these shims ill be looking for?! how many do i need to be on there?!
depends on your engine, you need head shims if you are going up in nitro and they are almost engine brand and model specific.

I vary the same engine from 16% to 30% with the right head clearance and have no problems what so ever.
__________________
Support those that support us

https://ActivRC.com http://TeamPowersUSA.net https://www.1upracing.com/ http://TeamAssociated.com
Brian Bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 10:52 PM   #1435
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 320
Default

i took off the head of my engine and saw no shims on it!? is there something wrong?!
LAM3SAUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 02:51 AM   #1436
Tech Regular
 
corney_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
i took off the head of my engine and saw no shims on it!? is there something wrong?!
Did you check under the head button?
__________________
Comen back with..XRAY-KO PROPO- NOVAROSSI
corney_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 09:43 AM   #1437
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corney_01 View Post
Did you check under the head button?
Yes I checked and cleaned the head and saw nothing at all
LAM3SAUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 12:25 PM   #1438
Tech Addict
 
blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: U.S. ARMY
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAM3SAUCE View Post
Yes I checked and cleaned the head and saw nothing at all
Did you buy the motor new? If not, i bet you the previous owner removed the shim. All new motors come with one shim. Mostly the sivler one.
__________________
Serpent America
Desoto Racing
Runner Time Fuel
Matrix Tires
SRC
blount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 12:27 PM   #1439
Tech Addict
 
blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: U.S. ARMY
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Fisher View Post
No, you don't have to break it in again.
Scott, you going to the Nats?
__________________
Serpent America
Desoto Racing
Runner Time Fuel
Matrix Tires
SRC
blount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 03:04 PM   #1440
Tech Regular
 
BiggDogg33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clinton Maryland
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to BiggDogg33
Default might need help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blount View Post
Scott, you going to the Nats?
Whats up? hommie if you are going to the nats i might need a set-up on my evo2 if you dont mind will greatly appreciate it!! thanks
BiggDogg33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE - Mugen MBX5T ProSpec and Kyosho STR with chassis conversion and Kyosho big MattWells R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-28-2017 10:25 AM
1986 1/12 Kyosho Plazma MKIII With Kyosho LeMan 600E Motor Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-17-2012 11:11 AM
Custom painted Kyosho SP2 and Kyosho STRR bodies.... RC3 Graphics SWEET W/ PICS CRFXXXT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-07-2008 07:38 PM
MACH. 28/NEW PS, KYOSHO MINI INFERNO ST/W/3NEW IB1400 8 CELL PACKS, KYOSHO 1./8 BUGGY newbie2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-18-2007 06:07 PM
Convert Kyosho Quick Start system on Kyosho QRC to Pullstart Morpheus2be Monster Trucks 0 02-16-2005 11:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net