R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2010, 05:10 PM   #2491
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_Shakespear View Post
If the car is understeering on AND off-power, try using softer settings in the front ONLY if the rear is planting nicely. If the rear feels TOO planted, try using harder springs, or less toe, or moving the shocks to a more upright position. Maybe use more toe-out in the front, but yes, try the 35s in the front.
Thats exactly my plan, i though of reducing the front shock oil, at the moment i am running 35 allround with the medium springs now i will pop the soft infront what do you guys suggest as per oil or shall i use larger holes in the pistons?

Than will go for less toe in, in the rear.

Once i really managed to get more steering by setting the lower rear hing pin in the 2nd highest hole and turned a lot better but the rear was way to loose. Before it was set as default 2nd lowest.

Thanks once again

Ramon
speed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:27 PM   #2492
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 729
Default

Hmm, by raising that lower hinge pin to the 2nd highest hole you did raise the roll center, which would reduce traction. Too bad you found it too loose. Default settings is the 2nd lowest hole.
Where did you have the inner camber link position? Maybe you need the lower hinge in the 2nd highest position, but try and lower the roll center a little via the inner camber link. Did you also make the shocks flatter?
I think you may have been very close!
If you are using 35wt all round maybe go 30f/40r or just 40 in the back.
If the car feels good at a fairly slow speed, but one end seems to react/absorb bumps badly, then change the oils. I went softer in the rear (from 40 to 30) to help it drop easier under power and go better over bumpy sections, and it definitely worked.
Can you give me your current setup, Ill take a look at it and see what you could do to make it feel better. You can either send it via here, or through eMail: [email protected]
__________________
Car-less (Velox V10 or 733) // RB T10.5"+" (JB Modified) // Bluebird BMS-990DMG (St) & BMS-631 (T/B) // ATS 16% // Capricorn Wheels // Protoform
"70% of the time, it works ALL the time"
DJ_Shakespear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:17 PM   #2493
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 572
Default

Ok so today great day car became a lot better.

Recipe

went to 35 front and 40 rear
Shock oil up front 20 and rear 30
Spring front Kyosho soft, rear Kyosho medium
Roll center as stock setup
Rear upper rollcenter on B
diffs Front 50,000 Rear 10,000
Rear Toe 2 degree
Front To 2 degree

Now i need to fine tune a bit more the rear as its a bit way too loose.

Shall i try softer springs in the rear or a softer sway wire or shall i play with the rear upper roll center?
Also i thought the fronts 35 aren't going to survive but actually they are hanging well as much as when i used front 37 how come??

By the way i know there are some cheap belts that you can buy anyone recommends any?

Thanks guys will try and post a vid next week.
speed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:10 PM   #2494
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 729
Default

Well, I dont know of any other manufacturers that have belts compatible with the RRR, maybe somebody else can fill you in on that. I find mine last quite a long time anyway - I still have the middle belt from when I bought it!!
I would go 37s in the front, and raise the rear camber link to position 3. If that works well or you need a bit more grip, go to 2. I guess it depends on how the rear wheels cone or if you are chunking the tires. The way I combat tire chunking is just increasing the camber - on one track I was at, I think I had the rear set at 5 or 6 degrees!! The front was at 3-5 degrees as well!
If you find the front to have too much traction all round, try making the shocks stand up more/be more vertical. From what I know, front sway bar affects low speed grip and some high speed, the rear affects some low speed and more high-speed grip. More toe-in in the rear will stabilize the rear end on and off-power.
__________________
Car-less (Velox V10 or 733) // RB T10.5"+" (JB Modified) // Bluebird BMS-990DMG (St) & BMS-631 (T/B) // ATS 16% // Capricorn Wheels // Protoform
"70% of the time, it works ALL the time"
DJ_Shakespear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 09:49 PM   #2495
Tech Fanatic
 
kai888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 928
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

where do you guys mount your transponder?

i mounted mine on the front ontop of the foam bumper, will it get damaged easily there?
kai888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:51 AM   #2496
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 729
Default

No, that should be fine. I used to have mine there, but Ive since moved to to where the switch is above the steering servo. That's actually where it should be.
__________________
Car-less (Velox V10 or 733) // RB T10.5"+" (JB Modified) // Bluebird BMS-990DMG (St) & BMS-631 (T/B) // ATS 16% // Capricorn Wheels // Protoform
"70% of the time, it works ALL the time"
DJ_Shakespear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 01:01 AM   #2497
Tech Fanatic
 
kai888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 928
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hey mate, do you have a photo of where you mounted it?

cause i had to switch out my graphite bumper plate for a plastic one because it had the two holes for me to mount the transponder and i don't feel safe having it at the front.
kai888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 01:46 AM   #2498
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 729
Default

Sure thing. I have the MyLaps RC4 PT, but im sure others will fit too.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
Car-less (Velox V10 or 733) // RB T10.5"+" (JB Modified) // Bluebird BMS-990DMG (St) & BMS-631 (T/B) // ATS 16% // Capricorn Wheels // Protoform
"70% of the time, it works ALL the time"

Last edited by DJ_Shakespear; 11-01-2010 at 01:47 AM. Reason: Links didnt work.
DJ_Shakespear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:30 AM   #2499
Tech Fanatic
 
kai888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 928
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

thanks DJ, i have the same transponder, i didn't know i could mount it underneath, originally i was going to mount it at same place as urs but on the top of that plastic piece but the onoff switch was there so it was a tight fit.

thanks man.
kai888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:00 AM   #2500
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

u need to clean up the wiring on that thing lol.
__________________
TEAM DURANGO CARBON DEX210 - POWERED BY TEKIN RS GEN2/TEKIN GEN2 17.5
TEAM DURANGO CARBON DEX410 - POWERED BY TEKIN RS PRO/REEDY SONIC 17.5
TEAM ASSOCIATED B5 - POWERED BY TEKIN RS GEN2/TEKIN GEN2 17.5
LiL_JaSoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:33 AM   #2501
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiL_JaSoN View Post
u need to clean up the wiring on that thing lol.
Hehehe, yeah, I should, but it all holds there very well and doesn't move or get in the way of anything! I might have a look and see if there is any better a place I can put it all.
__________________
Car-less (Velox V10 or 733) // RB T10.5"+" (JB Modified) // Bluebird BMS-990DMG (St) & BMS-631 (T/B) // ATS 16% // Capricorn Wheels // Protoform
"70% of the time, it works ALL the time"
DJ_Shakespear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:04 AM   #2502
Tech Fanatic
 
kai888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 928
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiL_JaSoN View Post
u need to clean up the wiring on that thing lol.
since we're pointing out stuff on his car...... you need a enclosed receiver box, your receiver is exposed to the elements
kai888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:34 AM   #2503
Tech Fanatic
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_Shakespear View Post
Hehehe, yeah, I should, but it all holds there very well and doesn't move or get in the way of anything! I might have a look and see if there is any better a place I can put it all.
  • Remove bottom of servo's.
  • De-Solder wire's.
  • Plug un-soldered wire into Receiver.
  • Temporarily place servo into position.
  • Route wire directly to servo and cut excess.
  • Re-solder.
  • Close servo.
  • Repeat on other servo.

As for the transponder you can't get inside, so I just cut the wire and re-joined once I had removed the excess.

I do the above on all my cars usually, I even sometimes open the ESC's so I can shorten the RX/Signal wire and remove the switch
[[john]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:35 AM   #2504
Tech Fanatic
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiL_JaSoN View Post
u need to clean up the wiring on that thing lol.
When are we going to see you racing at Keilor ?
[[john]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:55 AM   #2505
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,106
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

easier to just buy a bunch of new servo terminal plugs, as getting the wire back through the servos circuit board is a pain in the ass.
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE - Mugen MBX5T ProSpec and Kyosho STR with chassis conversion and Kyosho big MattWells R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-28-2017 10:25 AM
1986 1/12 Kyosho Plazma MKIII With Kyosho LeMan 600E Motor Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-17-2012 11:11 AM
Custom painted Kyosho SP2 and Kyosho STRR bodies.... RC3 Graphics SWEET W/ PICS CRFXXXT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-07-2008 07:38 PM
MACH. 28/NEW PS, KYOSHO MINI INFERNO ST/W/3NEW IB1400 8 CELL PACKS, KYOSHO 1./8 BUGGY newbie2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-18-2007 06:07 PM
Convert Kyosho Quick Start system on Kyosho QRC to Pullstart Morpheus2be Monster Trucks 0 02-16-2005 11:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net