R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2008, 12:01 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Victoria
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Is it okay for me to plug in my Starter box to the transformer i found in my shack?

Okay i've found a 12v output 500mA 6VA transformer in my shack that can plug into my home wall socket ! is it okay if i hook my starter box wires to the transformer? or should i just hook my starter box wires to a cigarette socket phone charger i found in my shack ?

EDIT: Okay i found another box of wires and found AC- DC adaptor with output of 12V and 800mA will it work better than the 500mA one?

Last edited by bosley; 03-30-2008 at 12:55 AM.
bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 12:05 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bosley View Post
Okay i've found a 12v output 500mA 6VA transformer in my shack that can plug into my home wall socket ! is it okay if i hook my starter box wires to the transformer? or should i just hook my starter box wires to a cigarette socket phone charger i found in my shack ?
Your starter box will pull a lot more amps then anything you listed so far....try it, and i'm sure you'll see smoke somewhere....
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 12:07 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Victoria
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

mmm.. should i just use my cigarette lighter plug then?
bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 12:26 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bosley View Post
mmm.. should i just use my cigarette lighter plug then?
like i said, your box will draw more amps. Try it if you don't believe me, worse that will happen, is you'll pop a fuse.
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 12:54 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Victoria
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Okay i found another box of wires and found AC- DC adaptor with output of 12V and 800mA will it work better than the 500mA one?
bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 02:22 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

The lighter adapter won't work. It will blow the fuse in your car. You need to wire the starter box directly to your car battery and it will work fine. The starter box is going to pull a lot more current then any of those DC adapters can put out. I would say 3 or 4 amps minimum. Probably closer to 10 amps though. That would mean 10000ma.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 02:40 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Mine used to pull close to 12 amps under no load, at 14.4 volts,

if it were trying to start an engine, it could draw as much as 30 amps, possibly more.
Ashley Cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 06:11 AM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Victoria
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Ash what power supply should i connect my starter box to then
bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 08:48 AM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

What kind of box is it, why not try a battery.
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 10:45 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,157
Default

Go to you local hobby shop, Battery Plus, etc. and get a 12v 7ah gel cell and a charger. Most starter boxs have a provision for onboard batteries, be they gel cell or stick packs. I doubt one of those wall blocks would turn over the starter motor let alone crank the car!
Bob Malphurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:00 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey you know it sounds like if you could find an old computer Ive read of people using the PS and hacking it to make it a 12V PS problem is that Im ALMOST SURE itll not be enough for the load of starter, obviously depends on the motor size in the starter.
Someone on here has probably done this and can provide more info.
bo_barger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:34 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default Cheap 12v Power Supply

Here is the link that I am using to build my cheap power supply.

http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm
just_now is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:41 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Taylorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monclova, Ohio
Posts: 1,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bosley View Post
Ash what power supply should i connect my starter box to then
.......get 2 cheap 6 cell packs and wire them in series to get 14.4 volts.............
__________________
Current stable... Team Associated SC8, Team Associated RC250 X 3
Tamiya F104X1...Tamiya F104W GP Edition...BMT/RC300 Frankenstein.....Edam Razor2
Checkers or Wreckers......................................................................................
Taylorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:42 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 166
Default

None of the suggestions apart from buying a gel cel are going to work, they just won't produce enough power ( that is to say a solid 12v @ a decent current). Trying to turn over a tight IC motor will require at least a power supply capable of producing 10 amps.
Stop being a tight wad and go and buy a decent battery.
jonrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 07:00 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Taylorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monclova, Ohio
Posts: 1,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrg View Post
None of the suggestions apart from buying a gel cel are going to work, they just won't produce enough power ( that is to say a solid 12v @ a decent current). Trying to turn over a tight IC motor will require at least a power supply capable of producing 10 amps.
Stop being a tight wad and go and buy a decent battery.
.............so i must be dreaming when guys at the track use 2 6 cell packs in their box?.........silly British..........
__________________
Current stable... Team Associated SC8, Team Associated RC250 X 3
Tamiya F104X1...Tamiya F104W GP Edition...BMT/RC300 Frankenstein.....Edam Razor2
Checkers or Wreckers......................................................................................
Taylorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transformer LKH Malaysian R/C Racers 51 12-24-2008 09:22 AM
Rechargeable Glow Plug Starter airsky Singapore R/C Racers 1 07-02-2007 07:27 PM
transformer Q" timmey Electric On-Road 9 08-04-2006 06:16 AM
WTB: Glow Plug Starter Teaken Singapore R/C Racers 0 02-24-2003 05:20 AM
WTB: V1R or V1RR with glow plug igniter, starter and fuel bottle, no electronics. Entropy Singapore R/C Racers 14 02-05-2003 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net