Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Fixing AMB transponder >

Fixing AMB transponder

Fixing AMB transponder

Reply

Old 03-16-2008, 01:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,328
Default Fixing AMB transponder

It is a well known problem that the wires of servos and tranponders become hard and fragile. With the transponder it is no option to open it for resoldering so for me time to fix it .

The transponder gets a holder from double sided PCB:


After cutting:


Cleared one side for a part so it can be glued:


Glued the transponder and cutted and stripped the wires:


Made cuts on the other side to prevent a shortcut, made small wires to connect the bottom and top layer:


Soldered the wires and used some kit to make it fuelproof:


And now you can simply solder a servowire to it with some shrinkwrap and replace it every year.
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 06:03 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

Looks like a really good idea Roelof good job thanks for posting i definately will have to keep this idea when my wires are shot...
meronr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 12:41 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What is the cost of repair from AMB has anyone ever sent one back ??
I would try to cut my old off road transponder maybe fix it for myself or repair is cheap maybe send it in.

Roelf
was the sodlering like really fine requiring small low heat or just really simple ?? This would be good information to pass along at the track since you already made the repair if it is easy....
kcrunchone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 12:53 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
lil-bump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Cold Great Lakes
Posts: 2,995
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

The only thing I would add is once your wires are soldered to the PCB (from the power source). I would insulate the entire circuit board to prevent a short circuit. The positive and negitive points on the circuit board represent your entire battery voltage.
lil-bump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 01:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,328
Default

I choosed double side PCB but single sided will work also and then you will have only one side to solder on.

I am not afraid for a shortcut, it will hang onto the plastic transpondermount of my MRX4 and all edges are grinded so it will not cut in the wires
Now I have also some space to solder (as example) the battery connector extra to it.

Soldering is easy, just with an avarage solder iron it is easy to solder

I know AMB will not repair the transponder if the wires are damaged to close to the transponder, maybe they can offer you an exchange price for a new one with a different number.
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 01:43 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

The problem with AMB transponder is always the exit wire. It's fragile at the exit point

So this is what I do to my AMB : heat shrink wrap + epoxy at the exit point.
Attached Thumbnails Fixing AMB transponder-amb.jpg  
asw7576 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 07:36 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

Hope this helps:


Replacing the wiring of the AMBrc DP transponder:









Larger solder isles are provided op the printed circuit board of the transponder.

In case the wires of the AMBrc DP transponder are broken or have been pulled out, the solder isles can be found by removing a square about of 7 by 7mm ( by ) out of the bottom of the transponder (see drawing for location).

After carefully removing the epoxy (take care not to damage the tracks near the edge) new wiring can be soldered to the printed circuit board.

Use silicon, epoxy or glue to seal the solder joints.
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 10:11 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Originally Posted by Bob Malphurs View Post
Hope this helps:


Replacing the wiring of the AMBrc DP transponder:









Larger solder isles are provided op the printed circuit board of the transponder.

In case the wires of the AMBrc DP transponder are broken or have been pulled out, the solder isles can be found by removing a square about of 7 by 7mm ( by ) out of the bottom of the transponder (see drawing for location).

After carefully removing the epoxy (take care not to damage the tracks near the edge) new wiring can be soldered to the printed circuit board.

Use silicon, epoxy or glue to seal the solder joints.
I think Roelof will be pissed off to find out how easy you fixed yours ..... and not to mention he has to open his now

asw7576 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 11:31 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

The fix I posted actually comes from the AMBrc manual.
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 11:51 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Big Jeff BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Winder Georgia
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

send it back for repair !
I did once $15 dollars included shipping!
later
Jeff
Big Jeff BBQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 12:19 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Interesting.....

Ik was not posted in my manual but worth a try for a next time...
I have servo wires with connector with silicone isolation which seems fuelproof.
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 04:17 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: OK
Posts: 100
Questions??

Iwant to be clear on this. If i cut a 7x7mm hole at the point the wires are soldered in the diagram, will i be able to pull out the old insulated lead and install a new one??
JVStrat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 05:37 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

Not sure...never had to do it! Would assume so. Lets us know if you do it and how it went!
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 11:59 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Big Jeff BBQ View Post
send it back for repair !
I did once $15 dollars included shipping!
later
Jeff
Cool not bad $$$... I might try sending it back... But that repair Roelf did looks really easy...

BTW JEFF you coming to the Capital Classic this year I hope...
(BEEF RIBS ????) just 2 racks would be nice....LMAO...
kcrunchone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 12:51 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Here is a link to AMB's repair page.

http://www.amb-it.com/download/forms...epair_Form.pdf



There is also a guy in Australia that repairs transponders.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/bigfix/transponders/


The best thing in my opinion is to get a clone made by MRT. You can also buy a random clone. I just picked up 2 for $67.50 each. Each one can emulate house transponders 1~20 or use its own random cloned number.

http://www.rclaps.com/

There is a very good thread explaining what and how these work here

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=186187
Rapid Roy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service