Glow Plug.

Reply

Old 07-11-2003, 02:43 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (45)
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Default Glow Plug.

Hi, as I know that if we run the engine too lean and this will cause the glow plug 'damage' more fast, how about if we run too rich?? Normally with bodyshell, the temp should go to how high?? max 120 degree C??
That day i try to change OS#8 to Nova#6 plug, I need to increase
the ideling needle, is this normal?? It can ideling for around 10 second than die but for OS#8, it can ideling for wthw whole tank. If the engine can't start, what should we check first, second and etc.

Thanks.

khoo
tkhoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 07:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

I find that OS plugs... especially the 8 have made my engines idle extremely well. While the difference wasn't as huge as you found, but it was still noticeable that the OS kept it idling much smoother.

If you run too rich, what happens is oil builds up on the plug. Too much and the plug will become fouled up and run just as innefficiently as a plug run in overly lean conditions. A plug lasts longest in an engine that has been properly tuned everytime it has been run.
Im2lazy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 08:02 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Default

http://www.rcnitro.com/rn/articles/glowplugs.asp

thats an article on glow plugs, i think it might help...
NightLife is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 06:39 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (45)
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Default

Hi Nightlife, may I know that why my steering can turn more?? I already adjust all the the D/R trim............I need to make big turn to make a turn, is this because of the controler?? I using stock Yokomo GT4 AM controller. please advice.

khoo
tkhoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 06:42 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 101
Default

Originally posted by tkhoo
Hi Nightlife, may I know that why my steering can turn more?? I already adjust all the the D/R trim............I need to make big turn to make a turn, is this because of the controler?? I using stock Yokomo GT4 AM controller. please advice.
Basically you can
- softer front tyres/harder rear tyres
- soften front springs/harden rear spings
- increase front toe out
- reduce front ride height/increase rear ride height
and many more.....
patricktoh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 06:50 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (45)
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Default

Patricktoh, I think this problem is from my Tx?? I use stock Tx.



- softer front tyres/harder rear tyres - mean by using press at the center of the tire?
- soften front springs/harden rear spings - the tensioner of the spring??
- increase front toe out - increase front / \ or \ / sorry
- reduce front ride height/increase rear ride height - front low and rear hight?? Can u let me know the value.

thanks.


tkhoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 07:10 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 101
Default

I don't thing TX causes this understeer problem. Have you adjust the steering EPA or dual/rate. My NTC3 only has about 15 degrees turn at each end.

- softer front tyres/harder rear tyres - mean by using press at the center of the tire?
>If it is rubber then softer insert. If it is form then use lower shoe.

- soften front springs/harden rear spings - the tensioner of the spring??
>Normally spring has rating for e.g 30lbs. Use lower rating.

- increase front toe out - increase front / \ or \ / sorry
>Fornt toe out means \ /. Look at your toes.

- reduce front ride height/increase rear ride height - front low and rear hight?? Can u let me know the value.
>For a start you may set front ride height -1mm aganst rear's.
patricktoh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 07:26 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (45)
 
tkhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in Penang Island, Malaysia
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Default

So, if just turn 15 degree each side u need to use big turn to go for one tight corner?? Yes, I already maximum the dual rate at my Tx.

If it is rubber then softer insert. If it is form then use lower shoe. Lower the shoe mean what.....

Fornt toe out means \ /. Look at your toes.
Yes, I running this type but u want me to increase it?? This will eat the tire inside ( near the chasis ). How yours?? Same??

For a start you may set front ride height -1mm aganst rear's. this mean front lower rear 1mm than if still can't go for 2mm diff.??


thanks.
tkhoo is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service