R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2008, 05:02 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Victoria
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default is it a good idea to change the pullstart cord... to fishing wire

is it a good idea to change the pull start cord to fishing wire/line because my pull start cord kept breaking !!! or anyone got any good idea of what other type of cords i should use ?
bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 07:45 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Ditch the pullstart and get a starterbox. All your pullstart headaches will be solved.
__________________
Speedpassion : Speedpower : East Coast Bodies
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 07:50 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbt3 View Post
Ditch the pullstart and get a starterbox. All your pullstart headaches will be solved.
x2 I broke out my old rs4 2 the other day...all i know is i do not miss pull start one tiny bit
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:52 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bosley View Post
is it a good idea to change the pull start cord to fishing wire/line because my pull start cord kept breaking !!! or anyone got any good idea of what other type of cords i should use ?
A starter box is nice, but not necessary. Do not replace the cord with fishing line. You can go get some string that is simalar and replace it yourself. Go to www.hpiracing.com to the usa site and read their tutorial on pull start assembly. Once you get it fixed, use the pull start correctly. You are pulling the string out too far if you are breaking the string. You should only be pulling the string out 12 inches or so. Just flipping your wrist to pull the string is enough the get the engine started.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 02:38 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Victoria
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Roy View Post
A starter box is nice, but not necessary. Do not replace the cord with fishing line. You can go get some string that is simalar and replace it yourself. Go to www.hpiracing.com to the usa site and read their tutorial on pull start assembly. Once you get it fixed, use the pull start correctly. You are pulling the string out too far if you are breaking the string. You should only be pulling the string out 12 inches or so. Just flipping your wrist to pull the string is enough the get the engine started.
the cord snapped halfway on me
bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 04:50 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Thats because you are pulling it out too far
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:54 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Dave_x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: adelaide, para hills west
Posts: 898
Send a message via MSN to Dave_x8
Default

i agree with the starter box idea, i also snapped a few cords myself, and it also snapped half way, ended up getting a starter box, and now i love starting the car
__________________
GO-TECH 21 5-port DOMINATOR
hyper 10 ON-ROAD toyota supra
Dave_x8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 01:18 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
almtx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 100
Default

What engine do you have? You could go with a rotostart system if they make one for your engine. If you're bashing around a parking lot then its something to consider. I had one on my HPI RS4 18ss and worked great. I would personally go with a starter box but just wanted to throw the rotostart sytem out there as an option.
almtx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supercharger: good or bad idea. Should I or No? axialracer Monster Trucks 19 05-09-2008 01:45 PM
Here's a good idea dawgmeat Electric On-Road 3 03-23-2007 07:23 AM
tin can pipe, good idea? Johnathan Monster Trucks 14 01-28-2006 04:05 PM
speed+metal=Rosstertail of sparks good idea or bad idea? TC3Racer87 Electric On-Road 6 11-13-2004 09:25 PM
Is installing a fan a good idea? Hasee Rookie Zone 15 10-26-2004 04:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net