R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2008, 09:27 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kissimmee FL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Futaba 2.4Ghz Problems - Help please

Just like that, the receiver LED changes to RED and nothing happens.

Switch out with another receiver and the LED on this one is flashing between green and red. The split sec it changes to green the servo is active and then as it changes back to red, all power is lost.

What am I missing here????

Change modulation, same result.

Check battery output, after regulator, steady 6v.

Could it be the TX module or the Radio?

Thanks for any ideas.
__________________
Mugen Seiki USA
Dennison J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:32 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

you might want to check what mode you have the transmitter in. Check the P-Mode. Are you using digital servos or analog.
__________________
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:36 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kissimmee FL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meronr View Post
you might want to check what mode you have the transmitter in. Check the P-Mode. Are you using digital servos or analog.

All digital servos. Have been using HRS with no trouble, then just like that it locks up. Radio has not dropped or anything.

Change to PPM and the result.
__________________
Mugen Seiki USA
Dennison J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:38 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennison J View Post
All digital servos. Have been using HRS with no trouble, then just like that it locks up. Radio has not dropped or anything.

Change to PPM and the result.
try rebinding the reciever to the transmitter.
__________________
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:40 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

also you might want open the module on the transmitter and make sure that the antenna plug is securely plugged into the circuit board i had mine come loose once.
__________________
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 09:52 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kissimmee FL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meronr View Post
also you might want open the module on the transmitter and make sure that the antenna plug is securely plugged into the circuit board i had mine come loose once.
I will check this!

What's the sequence to rebind again?
__________________
Mugen Seiki USA
Dennison J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 10:06 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kissimmee FL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meronr View Post
also you might want open the module on the transmitter and make sure that the antenna plug is securely plugged into the circuit board i had mine come loose once.

Just checked, this is not the problem. The lead is securely in place on both TX and RX modules.
__________________
Mugen Seiki USA
Dennison J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 10:18 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Had similar problem before but that was because of fuel spillage,after i dried the rx out it resume to normal condition.
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 10:22 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kissimmee FL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
Had similar problem before but that was because of fuel spillage,after i dried the rx out it resume to normal condition.

I tried another rx from another car that was working perfect this morning and now the same problem. This leads me to believe it's coming from the headset. (Radio / module)
__________________
Mugen Seiki USA
Dennison J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 11:09 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

i'ver run out of ideas at this point i say give futaba a call
__________________
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 11:09 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

i'ver run out of ideas at this point i say give futaba a call
__________________
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 11:10 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default

sorry about the double post
__________________
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:32 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Pull the lipo and regulator and try it with a standard nimh pack to be sure. I've seen some issues with lipo and regulators giving similar results to what you have.

The bind sequence is to power on TX, power on RX, push and hold button on RX until light goes solid red and release. Light will go green when bound.

Socko
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:46 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kissimmee FL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnySocko View Post
Pull the lipo and regulator and try it with a standard nimh pack to be sure. I've seen some issues with lipo and regulators giving similar results to what you have.

The bind sequence is to power on TX, power on RX, push and hold button on RX until light goes solid red and release. Light will go green when bound.

Socko

I thought of this, but interestingly when I tried it on my electric car which is powered by a 7.4V NiMh pack, the results are the same.

I hope to call Futaba in a few mins, because I am stumped at this point. I even changed channels on the radio thinking one port might have gone bad and no change.
__________________
Mugen Seiki USA
Dennison J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 06:25 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
JRGTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 215
Send a message via MSN to JRGTR
Default

Yes call Futaba my best friend on P.R. Hector purchase this new futaba 2.4 module and futaba need to replace it 2 timas for similar problems, my 2.4 module(airtronics) does not have those problems in fact Hector's module start with this problem on the first race he start to use the module, he send it to service with futaba and the second one that they replace is working fine now.
__________________
MTX5/Novarossi engines!
Byron's Racing Fuels/Airtronics
Matrix tires
www.pitlanehobby.com
JRGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 2.4Ghz module with two receivers, Futaba servoes dirtyrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 34 09-08-2008 09:04 AM
problems with Acoms Technisport 2.4GHZ Wilabidd Radio and Electronics 0 05-01-2008 02:44 PM
Futaba 3PK 2.4GHz NEW glock19er R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-07-2008 04:27 PM
Futaba 3PM 2.4ghz nrtv20 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 01-16-2008 12:03 PM
WTB: 2.4ghz kit for Futaba 3pk nocigar R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-04-2007 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net