R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2003, 07:35 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 997
Send a message via AIM to Accord
3PK not responding in PPM mode?

I have a 3PK radio, it works perfectly in HRS mode, however when I switch it to PPM mode, I have zero response from any of the electronics in my car. I followed the instructions in the manual on exactly how to switch from HRS to PPM mode.

Please help.

Thanks
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 08:08 PM   #2
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

I think when changing modes like that, you need to switch off the Tx and on it back. Do the same for the Rx.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 08:13 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 997
Send a message via AIM to Accord
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
I think when changing modes like that, you need to switch off the Tx and on it back. Do the same for the Rx.
I did that, I still had no response .
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 08:30 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Arun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 753
Default

Look in the electric forum.
__________________
http://nexusracing.com
Arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 09:25 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default Re: 3PK not responding in PPM mode?

Quote:
Originally posted by Accord
I have a 3PK radio, it works perfectly in HRS mode, however when I switch it to PPM mode, I have zero response from any of the electronics in my car. I followed the instructions in the manual on exactly how to switch from HRS to PPM mode.

Please help.

Thanks
are you trying it with a FM reciever?.........(not an hRS)?
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 06:40 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

And with the correct crystal. There are two styles of crystals for Futaba FM receivers, short and regular.

Is the Rx and Tx on the same band? 27 or 75 MHz?
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 11:02 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Staten Island ny
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Did you change and put in a ppm receiver? I believe the ppm mode will only work with a ppm receiver
CHUCKMANDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 11:18 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

Yes, the receiver must be PPM compatible.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 11:26 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Download the manual here and look at page 16 about modulation select.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 12:26 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The problem is solved. He was trying to use the HRS Rx with PPM modulation which is why it wasn't responding.

I think he now understands how it works.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 04:00 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 2,897
Send a message via Yahoo to TambokGT
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AreCee
The problem is solved. He was trying to use the HRS Rx with PPM modulation which is why it wasn't responding.

I think he now understands how it works.
DUH?....who reads the manual nowadays, huh?

PPM = use FM receiver - digital and analog servo compatible
PCM = use PCM receiver ( has failsafe feature) - digital & analog servos compatible

HRS = use HRS receiver ( has failsafe feature ) - digital servos only
TambokGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP Sphere TC ESC switching from nimh race mode to lipo mode mok Radio and Electronics 2 07-22-2008 03:14 AM
Radio Not responding buggyrac3r Nitro On-Road 5 10-11-2006 11:19 PM
car not responding on acceleration uniquexme Electric On-Road 23 05-21-2006 12:06 AM
3PK not responding in PPM mode? Accord Electric On-Road 3 06-19-2003 08:29 PM
Quantum.. not responding Carbon_Fibre3 Electric On-Road 1 02-21-2003 10:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net