Wiki Posts
Search

8th scale car for a 15 year old

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2008, 11:12 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default 8th scale car for a 15 year old

I am looking into getting an 8th scael car, I have been running both electric and nitro touring for about 3 years now. The track I race at primarly has 8th scale and it look very fun. Would someone my age be able to handel the speed if they had enough pocket change to afford it or would you think they would break to much. any suggestions on gear since I have never done anything like this before.
Old 04-23-2008, 11:31 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

My suggestion, since I know who you are is to look at the 1/8 GT cars. they are somewhat inexpensive compared to the full blown open 1/8 scale cars. You could probably get into it for around $400.00 ready to go compared to $1500.00 plus. The class is gaining alot of popularity locally and throughout the midwest too.
Old 04-23-2008, 11:33 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Age has nothing to do with running 1/8 scale. Actually, being younger may even help you master it faster. I know a couple of young prodigies that are very good even though they are very young.

Since you have been running electric and nitro for 3 years I am sure you will be competitive after adjusting to the car. Shouldn't take you long at all. Go for it!
Old 04-23-2008, 12:26 PM
Tech Addict

i started racing 1/8th scale when i was 15 and i loved it
Old 04-23-2008, 12:44 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

I remember a long time ago there was this kid running 1/8. I think he was younger than 15 at the time. He was actually pretty good.

I think his name was Chris Tosolini.
Old 04-23-2008, 01:12 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by racingboy14