R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2003, 07:42 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Vue Vang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 274
Default Sirio carb?

Hey, can any one help me. My sirio carb is a bit stiky. The idle needle is catching on sliding piston. I need to do some work on the sliding piston but don't know how to take out the piston.

Thanks,
E-volo
Vue Vang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 09:40 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Motorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,911
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

remove the Idle adjustment screw, the slide will then come out. Look for a low speed needle that is not straight or burs on the Idle stop screw.
__________________
Just here to give the world grief.
Motorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 09:42 PM   #3
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

I read that the earlier old batch had this problem and I thought you could complain to them and have it returned for a new one. I may be wrong. The new ones now spot a different carb and does not have this problem.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 09:51 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,842
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have heard form a guy that has 2 of them that the previous batch had the hole on the mid range needle didnt go far enough, thus starving the engine of fuel.

Thanks,

Steven Muller
MPP
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 01:32 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

How can you tell between the new and the old one ? I know that there is a difference on the mid-range needle adjustment. I think the old one was a phillips and the new one is a alum. finish hex. I dunno, I may be wrong.
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 01:58 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

try unscrewing the idle screw 1 full turn and see if it still binds, I found that to be the problem with my sirio carb
Sp Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 10:10 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Vue Vang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 274
Default

Thanks guys. I did it buy unscrewing the idle needle all the way out. Yeah I have the newer carb with no mid range adjustment. I had air leaks in the turbo button before and got it fix. Then the slide piston was catching on the idle needle. But I took it out last night and grind it down abit. It is perferct now. Thanks for all your reply. The engine is great.
Vue Vang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirio Evo 2 Carb Quesion?? TC3 SS Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 2 11-12-2005 09:52 PM
LOOKING FOR - rotary carb for Sirio .12 Evo 2 TC_Tuner R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-17-2005 05:03 PM
Carb sirio 27 Help PLease gumby112087 Monster Trucks 3 11-19-2004 04:09 PM
Sirio .12 with Novarossie Carb -CX12 carb fit? au_Nightmare Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 10 09-25-2004 09:29 AM
Sirio .12 with Novarossie Carb -CX12 carb fit? au_Nightmare Nitro On-Road 5 12-15-2003 03:24 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:14 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net