R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2007, 10:09 PM   #16
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default PCM on spektrum pro rx?

hi all,
sorry to side track abit...

i've got 2.4ghz spektrum pro series (module & rx) installed in my 3pk; the spektrum manual stated to use PPM mode in 3pk, but can i use PCM mode instead? any diff?

thanx...
keavze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 10:22 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

Does it need to be aerodynamic? I don't have to push my car around the track like some others.... I generally don't like "smoother" styled radios as then to me it looks more like a toy, instead an instrument of precision From the looks of it, the buttons would be a pain to use while holding. Currently I love my 3pks, and I loved my M11 when I had it. Either way, I do not use anymore functions that EPA, dualrate, and trims... I just like to be a poser
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 10:45 PM   #18
moy
Tech Master
 
moy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 818's
Posts: 1,043
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiml View Post
OMG IT'S A NOMADIO!!!
nomadio and spectrum combined.
moy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 11:23 PM   #19
Tech Addict
 
German Muscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i dont like the looks of it. It may grow on me but i dont see any reason for me to ditch my 3PK Super with FASST for this.

Does it have Windows Mobile on it with AIM??? LOL
German Muscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 11:28 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

If it did you would have to worry about viruses and malware...and it crashing during a race.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:21 AM   #21
Tech Addict
 
German Muscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
If it did you would have to worry about viruses and malware...and it crashing during a race.
German Muscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 01:04 AM   #22
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

any news regarding the features of this radioabout how many models can you store up etc etc this is an odd looking radio but as long as the features are great, is lighter than the 3PK and price is reasonable i'll definitely going to get one
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 01:13 AM   #23
occ
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 569
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Looks like my Radio I got with my $50 Kyosho Palm Runner...

I hope it functions better than it looks.
occ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:48 AM   #24
Tech Fanatic
 
Serpentd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Evans, CO. USA
Posts: 798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
Does it need to be aerodynamic? I don't have to push my car around the track like some others.... I generally don't like "smoother" styled radios as then to me it looks more like a toy, instead an instrument of precision From the looks of it, the buttons would be a pain to use while holding. Currently I love my 3pks, and I loved my M11 when I had it. Either way, I do not use anymore functions that EPA, dualrate, and trims... I just like to be a poser
Yeah dude, I agree with you that the buttons would be a bitch to mess with if you were out on the track. I usually need to pull up the menu on my M11 every now and then for my brake EPA. This looks like it could be a small challange when your in a hurry. I know you can program a button around the steering wheel I'm sure, but I like to look at the numbers for a reference, at least during practice. Not in a race. But I am quite happy with my M11 for awhile anyway. I know the Futaba 3PK Fasst system is suppose to be pretty sweet. But I use to own a 3PJ way back when, and I still have night terrors about accessing that menu. I should have checked out the 3PK. I can say it looks much better then this thing does. But it might grow on me after time. I just hope that htis "style" doesn't become a trend and all the radio's end up with this look in the next few years. That would suck and I would probably be forced to learn a "Stick" radio.
__________________
Blessed are the SIC
Serpentd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 04:20 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
itchy b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In My Man Cave
Posts: 4,144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well, i currently use the old 3pk with spectrum setup and am happy with it , although it recently got blown over in a high wind at our track(along with my table, power supply and chargers). While the radio still works, the bottom half of the screen is blank.
This new radio looks to have a less top heavy design and as some have said, i won't be looking at the radio while I'm driving!
The handle looks like it's long enough for comfort with guys like me that have large hands.
The EPA trim is still well placed at the top of the handle under the steering wheel for adjustment during a race without having to look away from the car!
If it has the features that the old 3pk has and some refinements, I'll definitely consider one to replace mine!
BTW with the more aerodynamic design it will be harder to get blown off the table in a strong wind!!!
__________________
-Blitz-Rallyhawk-EX 1.5R-Xpress-P64 Tyrrell-Lotus79-Espirit VTA
EX1.5-SC10 4x4
itchy b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 04:38 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

don't forget less cells= more charging unless you go lipo. But thats an added expense.
__________________
www.Moorebankraceway.com

Hamilton 2008 F1 champion!
twiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 05:59 AM   #27
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

hope it's still using a replaceble trans module.....I still have some cars with PCM, and I use Am modules for my mini z.
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:00 AM   #28
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keavze View Post
hi all,
sorry to side track abit...

i've got 2.4ghz spektrum pro series (module & rx) installed in my 3pk; the spektrum manual stated to use PPM mode in 3pk, but can i use PCM mode instead? any diff?

thanx...
It won't work in PCM, you have to use PPM.

Even the Futaba FASST module only works in PPM or HRS, not PCM.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:25 AM   #29
Tech Addict
 
DogboneS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: - NH - USA -
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Its a 4 channel radio over the 3ch 3PK. Looking at its size and antenna, no module, more like the 3PM. This may put it in a lower price range.
RCeasy.com pics
DogboneS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:32 AM   #30
Tech Addict
 
DogboneS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: - NH - USA -
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

The plaque in the pic has "650g" in the description. Guessing the weight without batteries is 1lb7oz.
DogboneS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 4 11-22-2015 02:56 PM
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-28-2006 12:18 AM
Futaba HRS 75mhz recevier - Futaba Digital servo s9451 - Novak cyclone esc 4SALE alltech R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-14-2005 07:15 AM
Futaba 3PDF FM Pistol Radio, Futaba FP-R133F FM 3 Channel Receiver, FM 66 xtal 403forbidden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 05-19-2004 09:34 PM
Futaba 3PK $260, Futaba R203HF $80, R113IP $75, Futaba $9450 $80, OS 12TR $135 smash123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-13-2003 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net