R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2004, 04:40 PM   #451
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Posts: 375
Default

I have'nt built my G4 yet, but I was wondering if the universals from the Reflex Team Only will work in the G4 ?
JoeRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 10:11 PM   #452
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,512
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default sloppy steering!

I have found my problem with this elusive sloppy steering. The first time I have serviced my car since I built it, was tonight. After a LONG race night last night, I couldnt take it anymore. Ihad to find a resolution for this floating steering. So I removed the top plate, frt trans assembly, and inspected all the parts for wear and tear. Note I built this car in March 03', and rebuilding/servicing it for the first time. The steering rack is like BUTTER!, but the horn leaves a lot to be desired. I get the question all the time, do you have steering servo breakages, or binding rack, and I reply NO. BUt this steering sloppiness was too much. So, I put some time into it, and found the problem. With using the factory horn(KO), and my Airtronics servo, the lip on the inside of the horn, was rubbing the case, therefor not allowing the screw to fully seat on the horn. I removed the excess material, reassembled the servo assembly, and tested it. WOW! Its amazing what a little time and patience does for me.
Now my next project is to retrofit the Kyosho V one RR EVO servo saver assembly to my car, and test that setup. I love it in my EVO, but it sits on the bench alot of the time. I will keep you informed on the progress.
Last I need a setup for a High traction track the is very techincal. I am open to anything to try. ANd does anyone have the part # for the updated tank? I was getting creamed on pitstops, every 5 1/2 minutes, while others are running 6-7minutes. I had to run super smooth trigger finger to maintain. I had fun though, TQ'd by 2 laps, finished 2 laps down.
__________________
Team and Sales Manager for USRC Imports, home of Sworkz! Looking for drivers for 2017-2018, KingMax Servos www.kingmaxhobby.com Gens Ace www.gensace.com, MIP www.miponline.com,Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, Slavich Designs, GARCIA GRAPHIX

CHECK OUT GARCIA GRAPHIX ON FACEBOOK -LOOKING FOR 2017 TEAM DRIVER'S!
Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 02:40 AM   #453
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know the weight difference between the stock chassis and the K-Factory 4mm unit?

I'm guessing around 25-30grams.
Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 03:42 AM   #454
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,512
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default does it matter?

Lycan,
By far, the K Factory chassis is 1,000,000 x's better than the stock stamped plate. The quality, durability, and the jaw dropping asthetic value, are worth the difference in weight. Also neat features would be a lower graphite wing to mount your rx on face up, and kit supplied pins for balancing. To change the chassis, it takes about 20 mins. I love my K Fact chassis.
__________________
Team and Sales Manager for USRC Imports, home of Sworkz! Looking for drivers for 2017-2018, KingMax Servos www.kingmaxhobby.com Gens Ace www.gensace.com, MIP www.miponline.com,Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, Slavich Designs, GARCIA GRAPHIX

CHECK OUT GARCIA GRAPHIX ON FACEBOOK -LOOKING FOR 2017 TEAM DRIVER'S!
Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 12:52 PM   #455
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Totally agree

I've just added one to my car and it is awesome, should have been the first item on my list of hop-ups.

I tried to use the pins to balance the car but it just flops over from side or the other. I cant for the life of me get the thing to stay "up". Will keep trying.
Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 07:56 AM   #456
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

I just won A main finals today driving this car. What can i say I really love this car. Qualified 2nd and won by 5 laps leaving all the other car brands including Serpent latest 710, V1RR Evos and MTX3 which I really like before I drive this car. It handles perfectly to my needs. I even set my track fastest record during last race. Regarding the the new tank, it really is has more cc than the old one eventhough it looks just as the same( haven't got time to measure the cc though). I can squeeze around 45 sec to 1 min with this tank.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 09:43 AM   #457
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,512
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default ?

Dameetz,
Setup?
__________________
Team and Sales Manager for USRC Imports, home of Sworkz! Looking for drivers for 2017-2018, KingMax Servos www.kingmaxhobby.com Gens Ace www.gensace.com, MIP www.miponline.com,Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, Slavich Designs, GARCIA GRAPHIX

CHECK OUT GARCIA GRAPHIX ON FACEBOOK -LOOKING FOR 2017 TEAM DRIVER'S!
Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 08:29 PM   #458
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 874
Default

dameetz... Great job!!! I have a question for everyone... I'm using a Airtronics M8 radio and servos on one car and the same radio and Hitec servos on the other. Both cars are gliching bad... Run aways at full throttle ect... I'm losing throttle signal at about 40-50 feet and steering starts to go at 50-60 feet. All fresh batteries and charged... This problem has destroy one car already.. For the life of me, I can't figure it out... I've re-wired the car at least 5 times, bought new radio, receiver, and crystals.. Same problem. Is there anyone else having the same problem using the M8??? I didn't have this problem using my old MX-3 or really old CX2P... What radio's are you guys using and how are you wiring your cars??? I notice that both the steering and throttle servos rest very close together in the chassis.... Any and all replys on this is much appreicated!!! Oh, I've been to Airtronics twice on this and they are telling me there is nother wrong with any of my equipment... but I have a totally cherried car in pieces... And the other I won't run unit this problem is corrected...

RC_Alan
rc_alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 09:29 PM   #459
Tech Regular
 
Aggdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 364
Default

Doesn't anybody use failsafes? Anyway I use the JR XS3.
Z550 for throttle and the airtronics 94358 for steering.

Ofna failsafe too. Here are some pics. I broke my receiver mount, so I had to come up with another way to mount the receiver. I took a .99 antenna wrapper. Looks like a long h plate for a mini z and just screwed in place of the receiver mount and used zip ties.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg g4side.jpg (27.6 KB, 141 views)
Aggdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 11:16 PM   #460
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi rc_alan,

I run an M8 also. I havent had any interference/glitching probs.

However, I dont run the Sanwa reciever. I use a Ko-propo 302F.

The car does glitch quite badly when the transmitter is turned off (100x worse than any other car I've owned before) but as soon as the radio is turned back on its sweet. No interference of any sort.

Could it be coming from the engine/clutch?

Lycan
Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 11:31 PM   #461
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here's a pic of my car...

Lycan's G4
Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 12:49 AM   #462
Tech Addict
 
border r/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet earth
Posts: 534
Default Nice car

good spot for the fuel filter
__________________
http://www.the-border.com
Europe's largest 1/8 scale 1/10 rc car warehouse.

3Racing-Ride-BRP-Team Orion-XRAY-HUDY-Serpent-Kyosho-Lrp-Speed Passion-MR33-JG-and many more
border r/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 12:56 AM   #463
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default Set up

This is my set up when I won the main yesterday:

Front:

Droop 2
Left Camber 2.5 deg
Right Camber 2.0 deg
Toe out 1 deg
Ride Height 6 mm
Track Width 199 mm
Shocks position inner hole using K Fac Carbon Shock Holder
Shocks oil 400 (Tornado Silicone Shocks Oil)
Shocks Spring Mugen Purple Spring

Rear:

Droop 4
Left Camber 6.5 deg
Right Camber 5.5 deg
Toe in 2 deg
Ride Height 7 mm
Track Width 200 mm
Shocks Position inner most using stock plastic mounting
Shocks Oil stock 600
Shocks Spring stock Silver

I m using Speedmind 37 shore all around. One more thing if you want a better and smooth braking use the SQUARE brand red pad. I got it from rcmodel.com, it is actually for V1RR but it fits perfectly to G4 steel brake caliper.This thing is awesome. I never got fading problem and never once I adjust the brake ATL during the mains final. It will make braking very smooth and consistent.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 01:48 AM   #464
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How come you run so much rear camber dameetz?
Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:20 AM   #465
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default Camber

Initialy I adjust the camber to 3 deg left and 2.5 deg right but it ended up the tyres worn out unevenly ( outer ) so I keep on adding more camber until it wears evenly. I guess it depends on the track design (mine has lots of 180deg tight turn ) and rear roll center of any car design as well, because my MTX just need around 3 deg but my V1RREvo need the same camber deg as my G4.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lipo Optimized Touring car: Losi JRXS Type R or Team Magic E4? cpatel529 Electric On-Road 9 03-15-2008 09:29 PM
Team Magic G4 / Trinity G4 For Sale JohnMontoya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-12-2004 01:19 AM
Trinity Team Magic G4 FS/FT Scrad R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-07-2004 09:38 PM
Trinity Team Magic G4 E-Class RCNitroDude999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-30-2004 04:46 PM
Trinity Team Magic G4 PRO E-Class NEW! vulso R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-21-2003 07:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net