Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
CP-02 turbo plugs, anyone have anything to say about em >

CP-02 turbo plugs, anyone have anything to say about em

CP-02 turbo plugs, anyone have anything to say about em

Reply

Old 08-24-2007, 01:14 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default CP-02 turbo plugs, anyone have anything to say about em

I have a Picco/JL .12 red dot and just thumbing through my nitro stuff, came up on a couple of RB CP-02 plugs. I havent started to tune the motor yet and wanted to know if these plugs are any good? Thanks.
bxpitbull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:15 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You can only use PICCO plugs on the JL Red Dot engine.
Team Kamikaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 09:50 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Team Kamikaze View Post
You can only use PICCO plugs on the JL Red Dot engine.
Word? You can only use em or they are the ones that work best? This is the first time I've heard that you one can only use one specific type of plug for a certain type of engine. Ok. How about other manufacturers? Mccoy for instance?
bxpitbull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 10:07 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,330
Default

The story is simple. place an original JL/Picco plug beside a CP02 plug and notice the difference between the conical endtips.
You will see the CP02 plug has longer thread.

Because of that you can inmagine you have to use some force to get the CP02 plug fit correctly. When you do that you will damage the combustion chamber and Picco plugs will not fit anymore. Well... they will fit but the damaged conical part will give a leak.

Yes, you can use the CP02 plug but when changing back to the original Picco pluge you have to get a new combustion chamber.
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 11:19 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
The story is simple. place an original JL/Picco plug beside a CP02 plug and notice the difference between the conical endtips.
You will see the CP02 plug has longer thread.

Because of that you can inmagine you have to use some force to get the CP02 plug fit correctly. When you do that you will damage the combustion chamber and Picco plugs will not fit anymore. Well... they will fit but the damaged conical part will give a leak.

Yes, you can use the CP02 plug but when changing back to the original Picco pluge you have to get a new combustion chamber.
Very well put. I will stick with the Picco...if I can find them. Any other mfg make a plug that I can use in the event my LHS doesnt have Picco plugs? Nova/TOP????
bxpitbull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 11:31 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,330
Default

Sorry, no other plug will fit, the R&B CP02 plug is made by Novarossi and is the same as JP, REX, TOP etc.
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 11:41 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bxpitbull View Post
Very well put. I will stick with the Picco...if I can find them. Any other mfg make a plug that I can use in the event my LHS doesnt have Picco plugs? Nova/TOP????
PICCO PLUG try here:
http://www.kamikazercracing.com/prod...od=T6PICCOPLUG and
http://www.kamikazercracing.com/prod...=P7TCPICCOPLUG
Team Kamikaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 12:59 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Heading to my LHS. If they dont have the plugs, I will order from you. I have seen your posts around and have viewed your website b4. You are consistant with your posts and will get my business if they dont have what I need.
bxpitbull is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service