R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 08-10-2007, 08:35 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default How to properly tune an engine for on-road racing,

hi all,

i am a newbie in nitro racing, i have been racing nitro for over 4 weeks now, but i have a few question than i can't seenm to find the answer, for your info, i am running a mtx4 with Os tz 3port+ nova 2630 pipe, my question are as below, so "Masters"out there please leave me a few hints, Thanks in advance

1) how do we run in a new nitro engine? does different brand or engine have different method of running in?

2) how do we know the engine its already run in? by liters of nitro used? or by listening to the sound of the engine, any guide?

3) do we need to always open the nitro engine to clean them like we do for electric motors?

4) also how about clutch setting? like the amount shim use on top of clutch spring, and shim use at the trust bearing end, also how tight do the thighten the clutch spring? do we change clutch spring ? currently ui have measure my clutch spring is 1.1mm, shim at 1.1mm, the trust bearing for free play of 3 on my eds flywheel tool(i don know what it means)

5) lastly, what is the optimum running tempreture? so that i am not too lean and not too rich, too lean i over heat, too rich i lose out on speed, so how do we tune it for best result.... so far i only run without the knowledge if i am too lean, i have overtaken some more expensive engine at straights during a race, so i was curious if i was too lean, but i did finish a 35minute race without the engine dying off...
Old 08-10-2007, 09:32 AM   #2
Tech Adept

Well....