R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2003, 05:17 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 997
Send a message via AIM to Accord
Angry Poorly designed Serpent 705

I'm doing the final assembly of my brand new Serpent 705, the throttle linkage in particular. I also bought the optional transponder mount which mounts onto the side of the electronics tray, I am using an AMB transponder on it. Well, it was VERY poorly designed! The brake control rod attached to the servo horn actually hits the transponder when even moved 1mm! This is totally ridiculous and in my opinion it's unexcusable. Serpent should not release a product which they advertise as being compatible with the 705 when in reality it is not. Has anyone else had this problem, and if so what did you do? How can I remedy this?

Aside from the transponder mount being incompatible, the pipe that came with the NovaMega power pack is also incompatible! The front left wheel actually hits the tip of the pipe where the set screw is holding it onto the car when the wheel is all the way to one direction. It's like the manifold that came with it just does not bring the pipe back far enough. How can I remedy this problem?

Also, I need some tips on where I should store the servo and AMB transponder wires, if you could attach a picture of how you have your wires organized that would be great.

Here is a picture of the throttle linkage hitting the transponder mount...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc00582.jpg (59.2 KB, 350 views)
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 05:24 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
JonB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to JonB
Default

try mounting it on the bottom
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 05:25 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 997
Send a message via AIM to Accord
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JonB
try mounting it on the bottom
That is a fantastic idea, I can't believe I didn't think of that.

Thanks!
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 05:47 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Or try the brake on top of servo arm.
chippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 06:06 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Cool

Dude,
You have to do some thinking when putting these cars together!!


Is the header and pipe a "two piece" pipe?? If so, you will have to cut the header to desire length. That will free up some space between the front wheel and end of the pipe!!

The throttle linkage need to be shaped or bend for proper fit for you servo horn (arm). Also try cutting the excess linkage or rod so it wont hit anything else.


Picture of a proper shaped linkage for a 705
Attached Images
File Type: jpg throtlelinkage.jpg (52.1 KB, 315 views)
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 06:08 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Another Pic of the whole car.......
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 096.jpg (55.6 KB, 502 views)
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 06:41 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thats why I chose the MTX3For its simple lay out

Last edited by chippy; 09-01-2007 at 08:58 PM.
chippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 11:08 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PUNISHER
Dude,
You have to do some thinking when putting these cars together!!


Is the header and pipe a "two piece" pipe?? If so, you will have to cut the header to desire length. That will free up some space between the front wheel and end of the pipe!!

The throttle linkage need to be shaped or bend for proper fit for you servo horn (arm). Also try cutting the excess linkage or rod so it wont hit anything else.
Just out of curiosity - shouldn't the instructions SAY something about needing to trim the manifold? Since the car is made with a specific maximum length of a pipe, one would think the instructions might say something about it. Just a thought.

But, by the way, your brake linkage would still interfere with his (and your) transponder if it wasn't mounted on the underside (as was wisely suggested). You've just changed where you mount it - Accord wanted to mount his transponder on his transponder mount - go figure!
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 11:36 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

you need to be as smart as punisher to build a snake !!
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 05:37 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
shiston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi Accord, one Serpent 705 I saw had the transponder mounted just infront of the front shock tower.
__________________
Hang around......we'll talk some more
shiston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 10:17 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I mount my transponder just behind the front shock tower.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 106-0638_img.jpg (60.4 KB, 843 views)
__________________
Team Misfits / www.igthobbies.com / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / RcShox / IGT8 '17
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 11:43 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 358
Send a message via ICQ to nizee
Default

Accord,

I have the same exact mount as yours and i place my mount on top of the servo horn. I place my Personal transponder on where i screw the Receiver mount is on top. I leave the transponder mount empty since some place where i race did not have a system for using personal transponder and i have to rely on transponder provide by the race organizer. That way, i do not have to dismentle my personal transponder if the race organizer does not support it.

To said that the 705 or some other car a poorly design is unfair, since these people call themself specialize Engineer in designing car. Maybe you should question one self before question the designer of any car. A better way is seek help rather then critize. Just my 2 cent worth.

I would agree that this car is not for beginner and the frustration the beginner would face without any help, as it such a waste to see them breaking it up. Maybe HPI RTR would be great.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc00241.jpg (136.8 KB, 274 views)
nizee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 11:53 AM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: austin tx
Posts: 31
Thumbs down Thats deep.LOL

Well I think this thread is now Dead.

Last edited by lost man; 05-04-2003 at 12:00 PM.
lost man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 08:44 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 997
Send a message via AIM to Accord
Default

To all the people that helped me out, thanks a lot I appreciate it.

To all the people who criticized me for saying the 705 was poorly designed, I was wrong, I should have said the 705 instruction manual was poorly written . They have that whole section in the back about every little adjustment in the car, why didn't they talk about setting up throttle linkage and other stuff many people have had trouble with aswell?
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 08:50 PM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
JonB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to JonB
Default

I'm not sure if you're aware of this, but in your picture you have a 25 tooth servo horn on your hitec servo, it should be 24. Airtronics/ko/JR is 23, hitec is 24, and futaba is 25. You'll end up stripping that horn if you use it since its too big.
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next Gen Touring Cars - Will they be designed for Lipo? CouldbeFaster Electric On-Road 39 04-03-2008 05:46 PM
BOSS engine designed by M Rossi 100% NEW kitracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-18-2007 10:24 AM
Original Thunder Designed Painted Pro3 Pody rc-zombies R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 02-27-2005 09:22 PM
RDLogics New Designed 1 pc Turbo II Pipe RDLogics Nitro On-Road 64 10-30-2004 03:38 PM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net