R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2003, 10:50 PM   #16
Tag
Tech Master
 
Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arcadia CA
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, i just picked up a sts RS-5 turbo outlaw also ! it looks impressive ! i will not run this engine until my nova run out of juice..meanwhile, i am really interested to know how your guys think of this engine ? any inputs will be great !
__________________
* Serpent 966 TE Novarossi 35+21, Airtronics M12 *
Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 11:11 PM   #17
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to AtomiK
Default

Cybertools, I got the ROAR legal RS3 for $175. I just can't see the turbo RS3 on the CRC site.
AtomiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 10:07 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I plan on receiving my sts rs3 this week, let me know on the proper break in for this engine. I've been running the colari xs12, I hope it'll do me proud.
__________________
Team Misfits / www.igthobbies.com / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / RcShox / IGT8 '17
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 12:18 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

Any feedback on the engines guys? I trust they are well used now
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 01:26 AM   #20
Tech Adept
 
The Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AtomiK
Cybertools, I got the ROAR legal RS3 for $175. I just can't see the turbo RS3 on the CRC site.
try here
www.stsrc.com.tw/news.php
and click on products

CRC may not have the turbo RS3 but STS do make it.
The Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 02:50 AM   #21
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Sleeper
try here
www.stsrc.com.tw/news.php
and click on products

CRC may not have the turbo RS3 but STS do make it.
I heard the RS5s have problems with a leaking button as well as both the RS3 and RS5s have serious conrod bushing issues (they break to pieces after break-in). I have friends complain about this at my club.

These problems were later resolved ( ?? ) in the "dragon" engines. . .

I got mine off ebay at a fraction cheaper (and very fast delivery too). Why spend more money getting an older version ?
coolracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 05:43 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Are this engines reliable/durable enough in order to go to a national or international event with it ?, and about performance versus os .12 tr, novamegas, rossi's ?

thanks
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : [email protected]
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 09:15 AM   #23
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet RC
Posts: 21
Default

.

Last edited by edwintam; 10-08-2007 at 09:25 PM.
edwintam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 11:46 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
EdwardN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cybertoolzz
looking into the crank
Is this new cranck or used? It seems for me like more then a lot of play there.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: Since 90% of my posts may be BS, and since my posts may be either insanely idiotic, incoherent, and/or not even close to a rational thought, please accord my posts no more than 10% of credibility.
EdwardN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 03:16 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

U guys pre-heating engine before turning it over? I dont like turning over a new cold engine, bloody tight... Maybe that would help with the conrod issue? still, dont sound good...
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 03:30 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Thunder racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ((^^Keep It Sidewayz^^))
Posts: 536
Default

what about trying to put a ROSSI rod in them. Seeing if anyt of the rossi engin have the same rod.
Thunder racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 03:49 PM   #27
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Thunder racer
what about trying to put a ROSSI rod in them. Seeing if anyt of the rossi engin have the same rod.
I never have this conrod problem with my STS engines.That's why I found this problem later than customer's feedback.

Why?

Because from I was new to nitro many years ago,the veteran tell me that change the conrod when the break-in process finished.The conrod will be wore hard on break-in process because the piston/sleeve is so tight.That's mean the first conrod will have shorter life.Change the conrod is much cheaper than a engine.And you will get the fully power and lasting.That is what the real racer do.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 04:12 PM   #28
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

Yea that's what I've been told too. I guess it really depends on how you break in the engine? If you break in an engine hard or not properly - then ANY brand or type of engine will have issues. If you've broken it in properly, the conrod still should be changed after the 1st gallon or so. So I dont' think that's a problem at all..


G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 04:18 PM   #29
Tech Fanatic
 
serpentracer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 777
Send a message via AIM to serpentracer1
Default

Loosenut why pay 175 for an engine plus the cost of another rod.When you can can get a really good Murnan Modified for 235 and its a missile.I can hook ya up with a place to get a great motor
__________________
DAVE (THE SNAKE) Rasnake
Original Mimi Wong Clan. M.W.C. For Life
Associated B6D
Orion R10 Pro VST powered
serpentracer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 04:23 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

$175 for a STS engine? Shop around man ....
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net