R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2003, 05:22 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

The RB X12 and the RS12 are both the same stroke (short). I know this as I have put a T5 S1 crank into my RBX12 3-port and run the T5 S1 Turbo button on it too.

As far as I know the MR-12 is the same stroke as the other 2 but I havent seen one yet to verify that.

I would have to say that the S3 has slightly more power than the RB with both in stock form but my RB modded engine was more than capable of running with the S3 JP engines at our club and these guys are Team Serpent guys.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 05:33 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

thanks...according to Novas site,teh s3 is a blueprinted version of the std engine..

so you think a std s1 and a std RB 3 port are pretty much the same?..I've just started to race ROAR legal races,so I need a good ROAR version,instead of the 5 port turbo(RB) thats in my tc3 now..

I figure if I keep doing it (its about an hour from me,)and I like it,I'll step up to an s3,or RODY# 235 legal 3 port..

unless you think teh s3 version is so much better,I'll go for that now..Longest straight is around 200 ft..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 05:39 PM   #18
Tech Adept
 
VoneRkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane Austraila
Posts: 244
Cool

It is personal prefrence to what you want buy
VoneRkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 05:49 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

It is all about personal preference but I would take the S3 over an RB12 now if I had the option.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 05:55 PM   #20
Tech Adept
 
VoneRkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane Austraila
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by modellor
It is all about personal preference but I would take the S3 over an RB12 now if I had the option.
That is right because I would not touch the RB12s my S3 JP is better made. There has been two RB12 Aust stuffed up

Damo
VoneRkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 06:02 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by modellor
It is all about personal preference but I would take the S3 over an RB12 now if I had the option.
ok..how about the s1 or RB..any preference?.....also,have you seen a TR OS run?.....I may not be able to get the s3 in time,so the RB or s1 might be my only option...

and I have a OS TR brand new in the box....

Think big track...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 06:07 PM   #22
Tech Adept
 
VoneRkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane Austraila
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
ok..how about the s1 or RB..any preference?.....also,have you seen a TR OS run?.....I may not be able to get the s3 in time,so the RB or s1 might be my only option...

and I have a OS TR brand new in the box....

Think big track...
Get The S1 it gose well in the NTC3 I have had my one in the NTC3 the car is a rocket

Damo
VoneRkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 06:24 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

I'll consider that......I can get the RB alot cheaper than the nova....


Modellor...s1 or RB?....
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 06:31 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
VoneRkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane Austraila
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
I'll consider that......I can get the RB alot cheaper than the nova....


Modellor...s1 or RB?....
It comes back to reliability on the day

Damo
VoneRkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 07:51 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

I would take the RB over the S1 if they are priced around the same but if you are getting a good price on the S1 then take it and put the shaft from your RB 5 port into it.

I think 3-port Turbos are legal under Roar rules also. If so then put the Turbo button from the RB onto it also. Might as well get all the advantage you can from the legal parts of the 5-port as it will as good as give you a interim S3
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 07:55 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

I can get the RB 20 bucks over cost...and I know dealer cost is way less on the RB(thanks to Trintitys greed with the nova line up)...so I'll go with that..thanks for all your help..

BTW,you think a RB Rody 3 port non turbo(roar legal) is worth the extra dough over a nova s3?
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 08:00 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default



Definately. But it all depends on whether you are wanting to spend that type of money and whether you are really committed to racing at a high level or just clubman level.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 08:11 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

I love the power,so I'll get that if I can.....hows the 705 working out?..were you really that dissapointed in teh mugen?.......


have you seen the s3 run?..if you have,is it way faster than an s1?...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 09:49 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have a engine stalling problem at full throttle but accelerates very well. could it be working well coz of rich low end and lean high end? Should I reset the needles or try to richen the high and lean the low. Again how do I know when the low end is just right?
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 11:05 PM   #30
Tech Apprentice
 
CS Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Asia
Posts: 97
Angry Engine died off after emergency/accident

My V1rr is fitted with a Nova S5 and the engine is tune by a pro in one of my LHS.

The engine works well at first, but I borke the crankshaft sometime back, I change the crankshaft and the problem started........
even the pro try to slove/find where and what is the problem......

Here are the story :-

When ever I have a emergency or accident or hit on some thing, most of the time the engine will died off..... and when i took the car back trying to restart the engine, I alway find it difficult to start the car, some time I notice there are "air" in the fuel line connecting the tank to the engine BUT not always.......

I am still trying way to findout what's wrong with the engine......

anyone can tell me what should I do ??

CS Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E.B. Mod. P5 Nova rossi Vsfriedmugan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 04-27-2008 06:45 PM
nova rossi .12 alexisonfire Australia For Sale/Trade 6 05-13-2006 01:19 AM
Nova Rossi P5 Hrdluck13 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 04-27-2006 02:07 PM
Nova Mega / Nova Rossi .12 side Exhaust engine centax error! Nitro On-Road 3 08-21-2005 08:33 PM
Nova Rossi 12 stulec52 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-29-2004 02:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net