R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2007, 10:32 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Loveless's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Concrete vietnam
Posts: 453
Default INS BOX

Can someone tell me about this unit, i've heard that it robs you of power and you should use the straight filter instead, but others say it doesn't, i know its used to reduce noise and thats kewl, but should i use it or not?. And oh yeah my body's cut out for it already lol....


How u living...
Loveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:30 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
nigelnuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Artesia, SoCal.
Posts: 2,187
Send a message via AIM to nigelnuggets
Default

You are right about the noise reduction part, although the power reduction, i dont believe is true. with less intake requires mixtures to change. Of course restriction of air would cause a slight decrease in power, its hardly noticeable.

If the track requires an INS box, then use one. If you are not required to use one.. then dont bother.
__________________
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies. www.kamikazetoysandhobbies.com / www.kamikazercracing.com
nigelnuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 10:15 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The ins box is used to reduce noise and can give you a few more secounds of run time. In certain situations on large tracks it can give you just enough to finnish the qualifiers, it can rob you of a little punch, but it is very slight. Some tracks have made it mandatory, so check with the race directors before you head out.
__________________
Jeremy Cupps
Sponsors are
Mugen Seiki, NovaRossi Engines, Enneti Tires, Byrons racing fuel, Airtronics, XceedRC, Mikes HobbyShop Porter Texas, Global Hobby Distributors, Avid Bearings, Paint by Smiley, and my wallet!
J-MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 10:23 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Loveless's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Concrete vietnam
Posts: 453
Default

THANKS FOR THE INFO NIGEL AND J-MAN MUCH APPRECIATED....
Loveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 03:33 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Kanea6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

i have never used an ins box with my tourer, but i use it on my 1/8th scale, over here in Australia you dont have to use one in tourer but in 1/8th scale you have too for club days and championships
__________________
Xray RX8 - OS Engines, VP Fuels, Matrix Tyres, KO Propo

Xray NT1 - Novarossi, VP Fuels, Matrix Tyres, KO Propo

Xray X12- Hobbywing, Thunder Power, Much More, KO Propo, Hudy
Kanea6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net