R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2007, 02:19 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Smile Novarossi RER 12 S3 or OS .12TZ(P) T3

I have just completed building my TM G4S chassis. Now i am deciding on which engine to power it. Which 1 should i choose and why? Any compatible pipe 2 go along with rer 12 s3? Thanks.
fulcrum07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:44 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
gansei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bander, Seoul
Posts: 889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulcrum07 View Post
I have just completed building my TM G4S chassis. Now i am deciding on which engine to power it. Which 1 should i choose and why? Any compatible pipe 2 go along with rer 12 s3? Thanks.
i had two engine all (TZ 3port,TZ 5port , RER 3port, RER 5port all!!)

1. torque: RER > TZ

2. top speed : TZ > RER

3. durability: TZ had a weak strongness compare with Novarossi in con-rod (frequently replace it!)
__________________
MY SPONSORS:

★ Show Hobby(Novarossi)
Km Racing HK1 Meen Version
Another Nick: Bander
gansei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 11:02 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

i have an os12tzp5, but needs to rebuild the engine with new piston/sleeve/conrod

can i use the crankcase and crankshaft of my os12tzp5 and use a 3-port piston/sleeve/conrod set?
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 11:15 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
gansei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bander, Seoul
Posts: 889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RevMaxx View Post
i have an os12tzp5, but needs to rebuild the engine with new piston/sleeve/conrod

can i use the crankcase and crankshaft of my os12tzp5 and use a 3-port piston/sleeve/conrod set?
yes! you can!!

only sleeve port was different.

rest parts are same!!

i am using 3port piston/sleeve in 5port crankcase
__________________
MY SPONSORS:

★ Show Hobby(Novarossi)
Km Racing HK1 Meen Version
Another Nick: Bander
gansei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 11:24 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default Thanks 4 the feedback

Thanks. I am moving closer 2 a decision. Just curious (i am a newbie). when competing in a track whereby there're many tight corners, which 1 is more important: torque or top speed?
fulcrum07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:23 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
gansei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bander, Seoul
Posts: 889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulcrum07 View Post
Thanks. I am moving closer 2 a decision. Just curious (i am a newbie). when competing in a track whereby there're many tight corners, which 1 is more important: torque or top speed?
sometimes.. too much torque made your car's line bad and cause mistake in very short,tight corners
(of course, it can be solved by changing gear ratio)

most of circuit was important torque than top-speed
(top-speed is important only straight(back-straight) )

But.. awesome top speed make enemy car confusion by back-attack in

the straight-end. very good for mind game
__________________
MY SPONSORS:

★ Show Hobby(Novarossi)
Km Racing HK1 Meen Version
Another Nick: Bander
gansei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:53 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulcrum07 View Post
Thanks. I am moving closer 2 a decision. Just curious (i am a newbie). when competing in a track whereby there're many tight corners, which 1 is more important: torque or top speed?
Depends on the layout of the track, but in general...

Torque (aka "bottom end") is more important on smaller tracks with a lot of sharp turns or 180 turns, where you will be spending a lot of time accelerating from turn to turn in 1st gear or doing a lot of braking for each turn. Top speed is important on sweeping tracks, where you will be spending most of your time in 2nd gear on full-throttle.

Choosing the right pipe (more of a "bottom end" or "top end" pipe) and gearing (as gansei mentioned) are also important and can help you compensate for the engine.
__________________
Nitro Knowledge Base: http://nitrokb.netne.net
My YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/nitrokb -> Lots of on-road nitro & eletric action + some off-road as well
My Flickr Photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nitrokb/
Kyosho V-ONE RRR WC (x2) \ XRAY T2'007 \ Also owned: XRAY NT1 & Mugen MTX-4
rmdhawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 12:24 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Talking

My lhs is selling a brand new Novarossi Rex engine for under US$200...hmn tempting. But they advise me to buy a Nova pipe for best compatibilty. However it's inventory doesn't carry the Nova pipes. So i am wondering if the k factory missile pipe works fine with the Rex rer 12 s3?
fulcrum07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 02:42 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Car Breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grave Yard
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulcrum07 View Post
My lhs is selling a brand new Novarossi Rex engine for under US$200...hmn tempting. But they advise me to buy a Nova pipe for best compatibilty. However it's inventory doesn't carry the Nova pipes. So i am wondering if the k factory missile pipe works fine with the Rex rer 12 s3?
Personally I preffer Skyline racing VR12+ pipe, super strong went through 2 cars with me, never have dent at all. very good power with any nova based engine. some people complaint the header to be a little weak compare to the pipe itself but you can always use a Nove header on it 100% competible.

I've try Missile but I like Skyline better
Car Breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 08:56 AM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Guys, thanks for the feedback. You have answered what i want to know. i am a newbie, there are still a lot to learn. Good luck and happy racing.
fulcrum07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 12:09 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
rcrevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somewhere Delicious
Posts: 1,281
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcrevolution
Default

Picco JLR .12 "Red-Dot" with Mega pipe, you wont regret it
rcrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 12:28 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulcrum07 View Post
Guys, thanks for the feedback. You have answered what i want to know. i am a newbie, there are still a lot to learn. Good luck and happy racing.
I have friend who's good racer and he use to own one those and you better off go to their thread website and find what motor that works the best.. Don't go by the best motor...TM internal gearing are very tall ....
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 12tz 5p portyansky R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-01-2008 07:12 AM
O.S 12TZ T3 FS/FT joelg R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-07-2008 01:06 PM
O.S .12TZ New Nitro$junkie Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-31-2007 05:04 AM
proper head shim setting for Novarossi 12 and OS 12TZ gansei Nitro On-Road 2 04-25-2007 09:00 AM
OS 12TZ 5P lurchsum69 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 4 09-25-2006 07:23 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net