R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2007, 09:19 PM   #1
Moderator
 
pc9840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lakeside, CA (San Diego)
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to pc9840 Send a message via AIM to pc9840 Send a message via Yahoo to pc9840
Default Starter Box Power

Is anyone running there starter box off a power supply other then batteries? What are you using?
__________________
[email protected] <><
"The minimum wouldn't be the minimum if the minimum wasn't good enough"
pc9840 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 09:23 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
rushdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rushdude
Default

I have used a battery charger for a 1:1 car with no problems, so I wouldnt see a problem using a power supply. I tend to use the charger when breaking in an engine so I have a contant supply of full power to turn over the engine. I just used an attachment with alligator clips that came with my starter box.
rushdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 09:55 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I use a 5 cell li-po(2100mah). Its super light and easy maintance. I charge it about 1 a month.
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 10:43 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
ProE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 236
Send a message via MSN to ProE Send a message via Skype™ to ProE
Default

I've also thought about using a lipo on my starterbox. It just looks a bit too small for all the power requirements when you run in a new engine. Maybe if I use two lipos in parallel. (if its a good thing to run then in parallel.)
ProE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:27 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You can actually run the starter box off of the chager for the gell batterie, I forgot to charge it a few times and all I had to do was plug in the wall charger and connect it to the batterie, and it runs as if it had a full charge. That reminds me, I need to charge it!!
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:28 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProE View Post
It just looks a bit too small for all the power requirements when you run in a new engine.

Thats is what everyone says when they see my set-up until they see me start my 1/8. I also use it to break in motors with no issues. It has over 20v when fully charged. More then enough.
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 04:04 PM   #7
Moderator
 
pc9840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lakeside, CA (San Diego)
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to pc9840 Send a message via AIM to pc9840 Send a message via Yahoo to pc9840
Default Power

Well I tried to use my power supply with no joy. Its a 25amp power supply and as soon as I start the starter box the power supply shuts down, probally due to an overload condition. So that makes me wonder, what is the startup current on these things. My Multi-meter only measures upto 20amps and I expect more then that, does anyone have a meter to measure startup current on there starter box. I'm interested to see how many amps of a power supply I would need to make this work.
__________________
[email protected] <><
"The minimum wouldn't be the minimum if the minimum wasn't good enough"
pc9840 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 02:49 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Car Breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grave Yard
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pc9840 View Post
Well I tried to use my power supply with no joy. Its a 25amp power supply and as soon as I start the starter box the power supply shuts down, probally due to an overload condition. So that makes me wonder, what is the startup current on these things. My Multi-meter only measures upto 20amps and I expect more then that, does anyone have a meter to measure startup current on there starter box. I'm interested to see how many amps of a power supply I would need to make this work.
I play it with my 30 amp PSU before, the meter junp beyond the chart even on 30 amp, so it is better to use some real battery that give those power. PSU is meant for constant low current applications
Car Breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 07:06 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
TonysScrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I use the HT-500 Lipo in my off-road Mugen box. The pack lasts all day with 3 guys using it. The box is SILLY light! Starts my brand new Ninja .28 like nothing!



__________________
Tony P.

Tonys Screws LLC
http://www.tonysscrews.com
High Grade Alloy Steel Screws, Screw Kits and Mugen Parts
TonysScrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:20 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
sn4il's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
Default

Guys, Just be careful using lipo packs. These little motors draw a lot of amps under laod. Make sure your lipos can provide enough power.
I bet You don't want to be on this list:
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1584
sn4il
sn4il is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 09:50 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maxey View Post
I use a 5 cell li-po(2100mah). Its super light and easy maintance. I charge it about 1 a month.
18.5 volts? What brand Lipo?
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 08:29 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing View Post
18.5 volts? What brand Lipo?
Hecell. I bought it off e-bay a few years back.
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AE starter box with mod power panel semore R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 06-27-2007 04:54 PM
ofna starter box with power panel $50 seajj2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-05-2006 07:48 PM
$50 AE 10th Scale Starter Box New with Power SpeedMetal R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-15-2006 03:07 PM
AE starter box power options coolrcdad Nitro On-Road 5 03-29-2003 07:12 AM
Serpent Power Start Starter Box FS/FT AE_Racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 06-30-2002 07:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net