Mugen MTX-2

Reply

Old 08-23-2001, 08:32 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default Mugen MTX-2

Here it is guys. Let's start over.
tekrsq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 04:50 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 321
Cool What basic hop-ups do you need???

Hey All

I'm looking for a New Car, thinking about the MTX-2 or Yokomo GT-4.

What are the very Basic hop-ups I need to have this run...


Thanks

Bradley J. Gotori
[email protected]
bgotori is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 05:10 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

mid belt tensioner is a must have. purple and light blue springs. for tunning options.
Manticore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 07:58 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
TheBarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 790
Default

i went crazy and got almost all the hop ups i could for my mtx-2 (still building). i've got a question.........i installed a carbon disc brake and teflon pads. i know the disc has its advantages, but the pads are too thick and it binds when i install the cross brace. my question is, and i probably already know the answer, should i just put the stock pads in and screw it or is there something i should do to make these teflon ones work. not being familiar with the gt-4 i'd say the mugen is the way to go. other than the instructions, this car was rather simple to put together, except for the rec. provisions. kind of tyte.
TheBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2001, 02:50 AM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TOP SECRET
Posts: 26
Default

Hi guys,
I'm looking for a side tensioner to put on a kawahara deck,
has anyone tried the kawahara one if so does it include
bearings & do you think it's as good as the kose tensioner?
Thanks in advance.........
NISMO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2001, 03:09 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Bgotori- Manticore is right, that's about all you really need as for "basic" hop-ups.

Barber- You can't use brake "pads" with the CF brake disk. There isn't enough room and it creates too much heat. Just put the metal plates in.

RB26Dett- Sorry, but can't help. I run the Kose tensioner on the Powerline deck. Works awesome for me.
tekrsq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2001, 03:14 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TOP SECRET
Posts: 26
Default

Hey tekrsq, does the kose come with bearings?
NISMO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2001, 10:08 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Yep.
tekrsq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2001, 04:49 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
 
TheBarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 790
Default

tekrsq - thanx, man i feel like a toad. i'm sure glad i asked though. thanx for the info and i'll let you know how it goes.
TheBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 10:17 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Tips for the day. Dont over tighten your servo saver screw or your steering will blind up and your car will never run straight.
Manticore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 12:59 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

TheBarber

You need to use one stock pad on the outside to get the spacing correct. If you use no pads at all the brake cam will not put enough pressure on the plates and disc.



tekresq

[SIZE=medium]Am I going to get a welcome here on this site too from you. [/SIZE]




I wonder if Manticore is Moon?

Last edited by Sydewynder; 08-27-2001 at 02:59 PM.
Sydewynder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 04:28 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Fok!!!!!!!!!!!! WELCOME ABOARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LOL

I've heard a few people say they needed to yse the pad on the outside, but I didn't have to. Mine fit quite nicely without it, but I don't use a lot of brake anyway.

I don't think Manticore is Moon, but who knows. I've been wrong before, lol.
tekrsq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 04:49 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
 
TheBarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 790
Default

this may not sound right but here we go.....i installed it with just the plates (no pads) and it seems to fit quite nice. when setting my brake throw i noticed i wasn't getting enough pressure on the plates. SO i lengthened the fuel tubing on the brake 'rod' and no i can adjust it in and out. i'll see how it does in a long race. thanx again for the info.
TheBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 06:43 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 321
Cool

Hey All

Is the Kit Disc brake plastic or carbon fiber???


Thanks

Bradley J. Gotori
[email protected]
bgotori is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 07:20 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
 
TheBarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 790
Default

its a very thin pc of steel. i was told to first get a belt tensioner and then the carbon fiber rotor. but thats one guys opinion.
TheBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service