R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2007, 12:50 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
gansei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bander, Seoul
Posts: 889
Default what setup can do with setting wheel?

what setup can do with setting wheel (no sponge, only wheel)?

i think it is car width setup, ride height setup etc on..

could you teach me setting wheel detail setup method?
__________________
MY SPONSORS:

★ Show Hobby(Novarossi)
Km Racing HK1 Meen Version
Another Nick: Bander
gansei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:52 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gansei
what setup can do with setting wheel (no sponge, only wheel)?

i think it is car width setup, ride height setup etc on..

could you teach me setting wheel detail setup method?
I think you can do the above as well as camber settings. I personally just prefer to use the usual set-up system because I can read off the camber and caster setting right away. With set-up wheels you need a camber gauge separately.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 05:12 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
tl2111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Love 1/8th
Posts: 1,561
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to tl2111
Default

setup wheel is best use it for tweak
__________________
*Tourer**Futaba***SpeedPassion
*F1**4PX***TORO
*12th**4PX***TORO
*8th**4PX***OS Speed XZ-R
*10th**4PX***OS Speed XZ
tl2111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 05:53 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tl2111
setup wheel is best use it for tweak
Can you explain ???
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:53 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tl2111
setup wheel is best use it for tweak
True but only if you dont use the Hudy all-in-one because it designed to be used with the set-up uprights.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 05:03 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor
Can you explain ???
Razzor, if you don't have the Hudy all-in-one set-up station then the traditional way of checking for tweak is to put your tyres on and then do the check. You then need to ensure the rears are identical so are the fronts.

If you have a set-up wheel then you *know* they will be ALL identical. You just need rears to be the same and fronts to be the same but with the set-up wheels, all four are the same hence gives more confidence when you're checking for tweak.

Here's a quick blurp on tweak : http://3hobby.net/modules.php?name=E...ontent&tid=184
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 12:34 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

cool thanks for the info
I also found this to be informative.
http://www.unitytool.com/Unity_Tools...ek_boards.html
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:07 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
tl2111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Love 1/8th
Posts: 1,561
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to tl2111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor
cool thanks for the info
I also found this to be informative.
http://www.unitytool.com/Unity_Tools...ek_boards.html
This type of tweak board is only good for solid rear axle type of car, you will get variable result.
__________________
*Tourer**Futaba***SpeedPassion
*F1**4PX***TORO
*12th**4PX***TORO
*8th**4PX***OS Speed XZ-R
*10th**4PX***OS Speed XZ
tl2111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:13 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This is what Paul LeMieux wrote on his NT1 Setup Sheet:

Quote:

Ride height: I set it at .5mms with rims on the car(no foam) then use whatever size tire after that( so you will never run out of ride height with any size tire in finals.
__________________
Nitro Knowledge Base: http://nitrokb.netne.net
My YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/nitrokb -> Lots of on-road nitro & eletric action + some off-road as well
My Flickr Photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nitrokb/
Kyosho V-ONE RRR WC (x2) \ XRAY T2'007 \ Also owned: XRAY NT1 & Mugen MTX-4
rmdhawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:18 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmdhawaii
This is what Paul LeMieux wrote on his NT1 Setup Sheet:
That is simple enough for any brand of car.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:21 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Ffejdat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

That Unity tweak board or any other brand will work just fine with a full suspension car, not just staight axle cars.... if you have actual set up wheels, the kind that are bigger than just a bare rim, you can often check rear toe on most cars, by standing the car on end on the two rear wheels and checking toe with a camber guage, doesn't work for all cars though and the rear wheel base, if adjustable, needs to be the same to be accurate.
Ffejdat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:38 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tl2111
This type of tweak board is only good for solid rear axle type of car, you will get variable result.
You are technically spot on. I'm not good at explaining why this is so but for us 200mm nitro junkies on 4 [b]independent[/] suspensions, this tweak board is not the right one to use.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:40 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmdhawaii
This is what Paul LeMieux wrote on his NT1 Setup Sheet:
Unless of course you are a cheapo racer like me who has multiple brand tyres bought on sale and they actually have different OD rims.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 10:15 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Can someone explain why the Unity setup station would not work well for a full suspension car? I have been thinking about getting one due to simplistic appearance and use of std wheels but I haven't seen one up close.

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 02:01 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Ffejdat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Personally I think the tweak board shown and others like it work just fine for all types of cars, independant suspension or not... Sometimes some of the problems with using a tweak board for a sedan are, not getting the car exactly centerd on the board, the board itself not being level on the fixed end, or maybe the moving end of the board not moving very smoothly and not showing the true tweak of the car very well. you need to settle or push down on the car a few time to make sure it's sitting properly on the suspension, if you have trouble getting a repeatable setting, it is also often a sign that something is binding in the car, such as a tight link, bent pin, etc...I would also tweak the car with the actual tires you are going to run on the car, rather than setup wheels or some other way....
Ffejdat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Integy Setup Station METRIC wheel nuts call-911 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 05-15-2008 11:43 PM
WTB Complete Truck or 4 wheel setup Fidget338 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 09-10-2006 09:47 PM
Integy F1 Setup Station, case, Metric and Std Wheel Retainers RCGaryK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-30-2006 01:03 PM
Setup Wheel for 1/10 190mm or 200mm FRP R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-09-2006 10:18 AM
FS: Integy Setup Station, Setting Wheel, Temp Gun, Batteries, Discharger jlee777 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 03-29-2005 09:23 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net