R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-29-2007, 01:30 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default V-one RRR or FW-05RR

Well I'm a newbie to the R?C world. I cannot decide which car to purchase, so i'd like your opinion.

I want a reliable, low maintenance, easy to work on car.

I will be running it on a fairly large track. I'm not a good driver so needing a lot of speed won't be needed, and I will be all over the place.

I pretty much want a high quality car, don't want to do many upgrades, and want to be able to drive it more then fixing it.

V-one RRR or FW-05RR? Or something else?
sniady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 04:42 PM   #2
Tech Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniady
Well I'm a newbie to the R?C world. I cannot decide which car to purchase, so i'd like your opinion.

I want a reliable, low maintenance, easy to work on car.

I will be running it on a fairly large track. I'm not a good driver so needing a lot of speed won't be needed, and I will be all over the place.

I pretty much want a high quality car, don't want to do many upgrades, and want to be able to drive it more then fixing it.

V-one RRR or FW-05RR? Or something else?
V-One RRR is a higher end car. When you progress and get better this car will allow you to grow into it much more. I also prefer Belt driven cars which the V-One is.
Old 04-29-2007, 06:10 PM   #3
Tech Rookie

I've noticed the belt driven is preferred over the shaft driven, why?
sniady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 08:40 PM   #4
Tech Addict

Easier maintenance and engine placement...easier to add aftermarket headers and pipes. The Fuel tank is centered in a belt car. On a shaft car the fuel tank is offset to allow the driveshaft to pass through the center. This allows the car to be more balanced. In addition to this maintenance is easier with a belt car. Belts are easy to replace and easy to clean around.