R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 03-09-2011, 09:49 AM   #1816
Tech Elite

Send a message via AIM to stefan

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesF View Post
I just got my secondhand p81 chassis. Need a bit of work to fix a few bits. I am new to the double speed gear box. My second spur(gear) closest to the engine is free spinning. Is it ment to be like that? So when you are going a set speed it opens and works????? I dont know, any help would be great
Yep, that's all good.
Inside your second gear spur gear (the smaller one) is a clutch. Once your car reaches a certain speed, the clutch will engange and the car shifts into second gear.

When this happened, you first gear will run idle on the one way bearing.

The shift point can be adjusted with the two screws that are holding the 2-speed shoes together (the ones with the springs)
Hope this helps.
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 05:43 AM   #1817
Tech Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan View Post
Yep, that's all good.
Inside your second gear spur gear (the smaller one) is a clutch. Once your car reaches a certain speed, the clutch will engange and the car shifts into second gear.

When this happened, you first gear will run idle on the one way bearing.

The shift point can be adjusted with the two screws that are holding the 2-speed shoes together (the ones with the springs)
Hope this helps.
Excellent so all is good. I have yet another question, the front oneway bearing is working ok when going forwaed, but when I apply the break, the rear wheels lock up, but, the front only lock up in reverse......so the front wheel dont lock-up when going forward but lock-up when going backwards. So to me I only have rear wheel breaks, and all wheels when going backwards? I have check another unbuilt p81 and his front oneway works the same....

Any solutions?

Thanks
JamesF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:39 AM   #1818
Tech Master