R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2003, 10:25 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
RedScorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to RedScorp Send a message via AIM to RedScorp Send a message via Yahoo to RedScorp
Question about Fail Safe units

Can you use a fail safe not made by your radio manufacturer or do you need one the same brand as the radio?

Thanks.
RedScorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2003, 10:28 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to AndrewtheRCman
Default

any will work unless you have an M8, then you need dynamites one specially made for the M8
AndrewtheRCman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2003, 10:31 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
RedScorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to RedScorp Send a message via AIM to RedScorp Send a message via Yahoo to RedScorp
Post

thanks
RedScorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2003, 11:02 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
corvettecrazy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: north of philly, PA
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via AIM to corvettecrazy
Default

has anybody used the "Ram Servo Fail Safe " here's what tower says about it"The Super Servo Setter is a failsafe device that can be used with any receiver and servo. The Servo Setter goes in between the receiver and servo, and in the event of signal loss, will move a single servo to whatever position you preset. An adjustable time delay allows for either instant response to a
signal failure, or as much as a few seconds before the Servo Setter takes over."

it sounds pretty nice but is it too good to be true and will it work with any radio system
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ramc2162.jpg (14.1 KB, 100 views)
corvettecrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2003, 11:11 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to AndrewtheRCman
Default

i have a failsafe in my monster pirate, it is definitely worth the money. and it does all that above perfectly.

the only problem is if your battery gets thrown from the car or unhooked. chances of hapening? not often

ive had times where n00bs have clicked on my pirates frequency or n00bs fiddling with my radio while im tuning my XTM 24(yes it idles that smooth) and clicking it on and off
AndrewtheRCman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 04:49 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Number 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kenmore, WA
Posts: 1,377
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AndrewtheRCman
any will work unless you have an M8, then you need dynamites one specially made for the M8
AndrewtheRCman

Where can you find the one made for the M8? I never heard of this before. I just got a failsafe for my car but didn't know you had to have a specific failsafe for a M8.
Number 11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 05:05 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
RedScorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to RedScorp Send a message via AIM to RedScorp Send a message via Yahoo to RedScorp
Default

Isn't the one for the M8 made by Dynomite or something like that? The M8 to the best of my knowledge is the onle radio that requires a specific fail safe. Then again I could be wrong...
RedScorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 05:39 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to AndrewtheRCman
Default

yes dynamite makes it. same price as the normals

basically the M8s antilock brakes function gets in the way of things and overrides your failsafe in an emergency. using the dynamite one fixes the problem
AndrewtheRCman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 06:35 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 02:10 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
dvargas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
Send a message via Yahoo to dvargas
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stefan
STEFAN I was reading about this fail safe my ofna and they say it is the size of a peanut M&M.
dvargas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 04:57 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

Scheint auch zu stimmen. Die Servostecker geben einen guten Groessenvergleich, das Ding ist winzig.

..und kostet auch nur $25
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 05:13 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Send a message via ICQ to sausage_link
Default

The m8 is made by airtronics and from what ive been told not many failsafes work with it accept the one made by dynamite
sausage_link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 08:55 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
corvettecrazy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: north of philly, PA
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via AIM to corvettecrazy
Default

bringing this back:

if the servo loses complete power due to the failure of the reciever connection how does it have the power to move the servo to the set position????

will the Ram one I listed previously work for any servo and reciever?? does it use up extra power from the batteries???

does it slow the response time of the throttle down? (any dely due to having it?)
corvettecrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 09:04 PM   #14
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

a freind and i have had experience with the OFNA (older ones) failsafe and found something

with the fail safe installed, the throttle servo cannot be a high performance servo (mine was a Futaba 9450), or else it will glitch


then, he switched to a KO propo fail safe, and the glitching stopped
and i swithced to a pcm transmittor

but just to let you know, the older OFNA failsafes may have that problem
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 09:08 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default

no the fail safe does not slow the response of the servo
and they don't use much battery power either, BUT
if the battery power fails a fail safe is useless
this is why all nitros should come with a throttel
return spring , basically a mechanical device that returns
the throttle to neutral in the event of power failure
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB fail safe rammstein88 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-07-2006 07:01 PM
Fail Safe billyp1106 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-29-2006 09:10 AM
WTB Fail Safe billyp1106 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 01-28-2006 01:49 PM
FS: Fail safe Boarder_man720 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-25-2006 11:08 PM
this is what happens if you don't have a FAIL SAFE cybertoolzz Nitro On-Road 12 04-08-2003 11:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net