R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2007, 05:03 AM   #31
Tech Rookie
 
720 spin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default

I'm wondering if it's possible to get computer 'models' of particular RC cars for this? for example, an exact model of a 950, or a Cyclone, etc., that you can tune and stuff, as opposed to generic models of pseudo-real cars. Also, can you change bodies for different aerodynamic effect, or change the wing, or move the body forward and backward to affect turn-in, etc.?

Just wondering how tunable the actual car models are on this.
720 spin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 07:18 AM   #32
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

You get exactly what you mentioned.
There is a selection of brands and there respective models.
There is also a selection of bodies from Touring, GT ,Lola and drift.
All setup issues as per real rc car is tunable in the setup screen.

Thats why its such a valuable tool to have as it helps to understand the differences you could have when changing these settings etc...
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 11:04 AM   #33
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 64
Default

I only really bother with the 1/8 cars but the different bodies for this class do act differently, the only problem though is that theres no information into how each body reacts so its a case off trying them till you find one you like.
Neil777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 01:06 PM   #34
Tech Adept
 
terry sturchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheney, KS
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor
A few of my customers have hobby shops and use it to promote rc gas racing by giving there customers an idea to what is involved and what to expect.

the savings in abuse to the equipment from practicing due to the improved driving.
Promotion tool= That's a good idea, drawing in more real racers is always welcome.

May save equipment for some, but personally I will be running just as much with my real car as I was before, because most of my track time is spent tuning as much as it is driving practice.

It is still a great way to learn good driving practices. If you can keep dropping lap times in the sim, you will probably begin to see them drop on the real track as well, especially in the off-season when you get rusty. But I don't need a dozen tracks to do that. A couple will suit me just fine.
__________________
I'll race electric when batteries smell like nitro.
terry sturchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 01:17 PM   #35
Tech Elite
 
Jspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: America!
Posts: 3,513
Default VRC

VRC is a great product.
Jspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 06:31 PM   #36
Tech Regular
 
Capelracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bunbury, West Oz
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry sturchio
But I don't need a dozen tracks to do that. A couple will suit me just fine.
Just my 2c worth - I like having 10 tracks - I got 2 I run consistently, the rest I'll give a run for a night every now & then, just to simulate running on an unknown track - any new experience has got to be good experience (racing wise at least!)
Capelracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 07:50 PM   #37
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 691
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Raydee
Default

Well a buddy of mine sold me the USB 2 cable cheap and I have been using it the last couple nights with the FREE tracks. The oval track is pretty boring BUT at least I can get a feel for the sim. So far I really like it and plan on buying the whole package from ebay including the USB Controller.

Now I see that the sim comes with 10 tracks and a year of racing online BUT after that year I can still use all ten tracks offline correct?
Raydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 08:26 PM   #38
Tech Adept
 
charlesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 242
Default

Yes, offline works all the time even though your online license is no longer valid. I believe to get another year of complete online racing, it's 40$/year .
charlesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
virtualrc Matthew.H Nitro On-Road 1 11-02-2005 09:26 AM
VirtualRC is out :) Spooky Chat Lounge 75 06-26-2005 11:37 AM
virtualrc rjl Nitro On-Road 111 06-07-2005 12:13 PM
Virtualrc.com...you have got to check this out!! SCUBA STEVE Nitro On-Road 1 03-27-2005 08:40 PM
Anyone checked out the Virtualrc Sim Yet??? rc_alan Nitro On-Road 4 01-10-2005 04:17 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net