R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 03-19-2007, 10:56 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default MRX-3 Braking help?

Do you have your brake adjusted so that you can get the perfect amount of braking when applying full brakes? Whenever I apply full brakes I get lockup. I am not sure if this is normal. If there is a way, how do you adjust the brake to make it more or less sensitive? Yes I am an amateur...no making fun.
JInaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 09:36 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice

Default MRX-3

Do you run your car on the track or the street?
onthegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:05 AM   #3
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JInaba
Do you have your brake adjusted so that you can get the perfect amount of braking when applying full brakes? Whenever I apply full brakes I get lockup. I am not sure if this is normal. If there is a way, how do you adjust the brake to make it more or less sensitive? Yes I am an amateur...no making fun.
When I set the throttle/brake linkage I do the following:
1. Set the linkage mechanically so the throttle is closed and brakes are free when servo is neutral.

2. Apply brake with the radio...try to turn the wheels.
A) If wheels are completly locked, adjust EPA on radio until less brake is applied.
B) If wheels are not locked, return servo to neutral and adjust linkage mechanically to take up the "slack"
C) Repeat No. 2

It is a little trial and error...and the breaks will sometimes grab hard initially until they wear in some.

Doug
Old 03-20-2007, 02:33 PM   #4
Tech Addict

I've found that most of the time initially it will grab hard and lockup. You will need to get some heat into the car and brake pads to get them to fade a little. I found that if I dial out the brakes that when it starts to fade, I lose too much. So I just take a few laps pretty easy and get some heat into it.
Old 03-21-2007, 12:48 PM   #5
Tech Initiate

Quote: