R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Like Tree1Likes

Old 02-28-2007, 03:53 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default Thinking of 1/8 on road??!!??

Hello I currently Race 1/8 Offroad Buggy and Truggy. I have 2 friends that recently bought used serpent 950's and a setup station and a tire truing machine. I thought you guys might be able to help me. I would like to run the same class as my friends, but I am unsure of myself. I don't know if I would be getting in over my head. I have raced 1/8 offroad for a few years. and I am a decent driver. good enough to be in the a main at the local tracks and when I go down to Columbus (CRCRC) on the big weekends and get in the B or C main. do you have any suggestions? or maybe knowledge of any used 1/8 onroad cars.
The 3 cars that seam to be the most popular are
Kyosho evolva
mugen mrx-4
Serpent 950 and 960
Are there any good Online Stores for 1/8 scale onroad stuff??
I already have Radio Servos and Receiver
So I am looking for a chassis and engine.

Thanks for your time
tdeal823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 04:02 PM   #2
Super Moderator

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)

just think of spending some serious$$$
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 04:05 PM   #3
Tech Adept

tdeal823,

Your situation is just like mine last yr. I raced 1/8th scale buggy for yrs and then we opened an 1/8th scale onroad track here in St Louis. I jumped in heads 1st and am glad I did.

That being said: there is way more setup info needed for onroad than offroad. It can be extremely frustrating if the car isn't setup right. Unlike offroad, where you can still get around the track competitively.

What I would recommend is: