Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Need help please with Sirio >

Need help please with Sirio

Need help please with Sirio

Reply

Old 03-23-2003, 05:01 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
XER987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Need help please with Sirio

Just bought roar legal .12 and the top dead center of the motor is very hard to get past. The engine does not seem smooth at all. I've been trying to get it to crank over to break it in but no luck. It gets to the top of compression and then locks. I have to move the flywheel back with a screwdriver. It seems that the engine is getting stuck. Can someone help me before I throw the engine out the window?
XER987 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 10:37 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,923
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Its supposed to be that way. It means you have a lot of compresion. Some brands seem to have different tolerances, the sirios do that all the time, while the novas are not that tight when new. Either way, it will be like that until you're done with break in.



Steven Muller
Maximum Performance Parts
nitrodude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 11:08 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 321
Default

Hey XER987

Have you gotten the motor running, or are you just turning it over by hand??? When you say not smooth, is this how the motor runs, or the feeling your getting when you turn it over by hand??? If its having problems turning over by hand, pull the the head and make sure its clear in the bore, and check the bore walls. Also what plug are you running??? With the head off, check to make sure the plug isn't seating low, or passed the squish area of the head. I've never seen or torn apart a Siro motor so these are just guesses.

If you just having a hard time turning the motor over by hand, pull the plug and put a drop of after-run oil down the head, then turn it over by hand slowly with the plug out. Do this until it turn over easier, but not alot...


Good Luck!!!

Bradley J. Gotori
[email protected]
bgotori is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 05:04 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Need help please with Sirio

Originally posted by XER987
Just bought roar legal .12 and the top dead center of the motor is very hard to get past. The engine does not seem smooth at all. I've been trying to get it to crank over to break it in but no luck. It gets to the top of compression and then locks. I have to move the flywheel back with a screwdriver. It seems that the engine is getting stuck. Can someone help me before I throw the engine out the window?


when your trying to start the engine,do two two things.......take a little bit of after run and put it in the glow plug hole..this will geive you am little lube in a dry engine...then,leave the glow plug loose about 1/4 to 1/2 a turn...THEN..heat the head with a hair dryer......this will allow the liner to expand allowing the piston to move a little easier..

also,make sure your starter box batterys are charged,and start the engine with the flywheel "loose"...in other words,in the back of the cycle so it can ramp up before it its the hard spot..and don'r become frustrated,it takes patience..
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 10:38 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Bounty Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 296
Default Re: Need help please with Sirio

Originally posted by XER987
Just bought roar legal .12 and the top dead center of the motor is very hard to get past. The engine does not seem smooth at all. I've been trying to get it to crank over to break it in but no luck. It gets to the top of compression and then locks. I have to move the flywheel back with a screwdriver. It seems that the engine is getting stuck. Can someone help me before I throw the engine out the window?
Well hopefully this will give you a little insight here. I have been running the S12 TRP Sirio for about 5 months with about 3.5 gallons through it. You have to be VERY patient with this motor. I think I finally got this thing to break in after about 1.5 gallon through it. It stopped getting stuck after the 2nd gallon. The piston and sleeve are machines VERY tight on these motors. But the upside to that problem is that when you get it broken in, it maintains the compression very well. I think that my motor, for the power range that it has, is VERY powerful for an unmodified 3 port motor. I think that the only out of the box motor that is faster is the new Novarossi S3 (of which I am receiving one, it is VERY fast). Just be patient. Oh and another thing, I switched to the OFNA narrow 12V starter box because of the stuck at TDC all the time. However now with over 3 gallons through it the motor is broken in and still screams.
Bounty Hunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 07:52 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

bounty,how much faster than 3 or 5 port RB turbo is this engine?....thanks..
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 01:52 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Default

Just a little trick with Sirios.

Before starting it, loosen the plug and with the help of some dabs of after run oil (or whatever you use) on the combustion chamber, do some kicks of 2 or 3 seconds each, after, tighten the plug and start your engine.

This worked to me, but put quite havoc on my starter box (and I use two 7.2v packs - not a 12v gel cell).
Corse-R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:09 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Bounty Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 296
Default

Originally posted by fastharry
bounty,how much faster than 3 or 5 port RB turbo is this engine?....thanks..
Well first of all I have been running the S12 TRP Standard 3 Port. As far as standard 3 ports go and considering that I got this motor for only $130.00, it is the fastest thing you can get for this price range. As for how it performs against an RB X12 3port Standard, well I would say it can definately keep up with it. The Sirio has crazy top end if you let it wind that high. The RB will take this motor on the bottom end though. But that is can always be geared. Anyways heopfully this kind of answers your question.
Bounty Hunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:39 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

sure does,thanks..BTW,is this Bounty from tech Talk?
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:46 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
 
Bounty Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 296
Default Hmmm...

Originally posted by fastharry
sure does,thanks..BTW,is this Bounty from tech Talk?
Dont think I have been on Tech Talk
Bounty Hunter is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service