Wiki Posts
Search

sidewinder fuel

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2007, 11:34 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default sidewinder fuel

I've been using Model Technics fuel Dynaglo 25% nitro/10% oil (8%synth+2%castor) for over 2 years now and I'm very happy with it but I wanted to try the sidewinder for a change.
I have tried it once and it did lower the temps a bit more but I've heart bad comments on it.
I tried the 25% nitro/12% oil (don't know what blend is called)

The thing with the model technics is that my engine hasn't lost the pinch it had after the break in. It has 6-7gallons on it and the piston still gets "stuck" sometimes on top end if I turn the flywheel without the plug in.

Any comments from you on the sidewinder and different blends you have tried would be much appreciated!!
Old 02-08-2007, 02:15 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

I've been using Sidewinder for over 7 years now, and I havn't ran anything else. I've never had problems with it, and I've had engines that have out-lasted 7 gallons. One engine I ran was at 12 gallons when I finally traded it to a friend and he ran it for 2 more years.

I don't know what you have heard bad about it, but maybe it was that it turns your engine's inside red......that is normal with the fuel, that way, you know your mixture is not too lean and thier is enough lubrication. It is a combination of the CP7 and dye.
Old 02-08-2007, 04:57 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

What blend are you using?
I'm not worried on the red dye,... i always look for the carbon build-up on the piston...if i have that i'm happy!!!
Old 02-08-2007, 01:56 PM
Tech Elite

I run 20% 30% and I have some 16% too... all with 10% oil. I like the 30% world Championship blend best
Old 02-08-2007, 04:42 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

There WC fuel is new and its multi-viscosity oil. I have some ive been meaning to test. Just need a motor to test it on. I would definently try that one.