Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
0.1 mm shim for Sirio 12 engine >

0.1 mm shim for Sirio 12 engine

0.1 mm shim for Sirio 12 engine

Old 02-06-2007, 12:55 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: socal
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default 0.1 mm shim for Sirio 12 engine

Where can I buy 0.10 mm shim for sirio 12 engine? Thanks. I only need one. The novarossi 12 shim will not fit.

Thanks
straightaway is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 01:13 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

That's a really good question. I can't even find the part number for it.
rmdhawaii is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:40 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,864
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by straightaway
Where can I buy 0.10 mm shim for sirio 12 engine? Thanks. I only need one. The novarossi 12 shim will not fit.

Thanks
PM me your addy. I will send you one, if that's all you need.
Grinder is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:37 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

I use the Serpent shim set, which I think is like the Novarossi shims. I mark the access material on the shim with a sharpy and trim off with sharp scissors. I've done it like this for years on my motors and other racers motors who wanted to go from 20-30%. No probs.
Attached Thumbnails 0.1 mm shim for Sirio 12 engine-head-shim-trim.jpg  
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:55 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kidDynomite
I use the Serpent shim set, which I think is like the Novarossi shims. I mark the access material on the shim with a sharpy and trim off with sharp scissors. I've done it like this for years on my motors and other racers motors who wanted to go from 20-30%. No probs.
Tommy ~ Great tip! Do you replace all the shims or just put the new one on top?
rmdhawaii is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 12:00 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Tim Johnson:

Do you guys carry the Sirio shims at all? If not, could you follow-up on this?

Thanks!
rmdhawaii is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 12:09 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Originally Posted by rmdhawaii
Tommy ~ Great tip! Do you replace all the shims or just put the new one on top?
Rainer, just add (w/stock shims) and tune. I got the info from Andea at Sirio a while back.
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 12:11 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Rainer, PM me you number. I have a possible business prop that I think you may be interested in.
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 03:35 PM
  #9  
occ
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The RB shims for the .12 Speedline Matrix should fit as they are more or less sirio based engines.

See here

The part number should be in the exploded view download file.
occ is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:10 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: socal
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

That's the engine I have. but the RB/Sirio parts are just as hard to find since RB is no longer carried by Sigma trading.
straightaway is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:11 PM
  #11  
Tech Adept
 
nitro_moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Default

I have a question..

Sorry if this may sound dumb to some of you and slightly off topic,, but is it ok to add three 0.1mm shims on top of each other?? I currently don't have any 0.2mm shims, so I piled up three 0.1mm shims to have enough clearance to use 30% fuel.

Thanks..
nitro_moe is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:46 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Originally Posted by nitro_moe
I have a question..

Sorry if this may sound dumb to some of you and slightly off topic,, but is it ok to add three 0.1mm shims on top of each other?? I currently don't have any 0.2mm shims, so I piled up three 0.1mm shims to have enough clearance to use 30% fuel.

Thanks..
Moe, not a dumb question. Yes, you can stack em.
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:56 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
 
nitro_moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks for the reply KidDynomite..
nitro_moe is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 01:48 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
MCRUZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 329
Wink

Originally Posted by rmdhawaii
Tim Johnson:

Do you guys carry the Sirio shims at all? If not, could you follow-up on this?

Thanks!
Yes, I do believe Kyosho America carries the shims.
MCRUZ is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.