R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2007, 01:44 PM   #16
Tech Apprentice
 
supermoto552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Ha, easliy done...but wait till you have a 3 needle carb, that is a pain.

Anyway, here's the settings i used...

High Speed 3turns ccw from closed

Low speed 1/2turn ccw from flush with carb body

Idle about 1.5mm gap


Have fun
supermoto552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 01:47 PM   #17
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supermoto552
Ha, easliy done...but wait till you have a 3 needle carb, that is a pain.

Anyway, here's the settings i used...

High Speed 3turns ccw from closed

Low speed 1/2turn ccw from flush with carb body

Idle about 1.5mm gap

Have fun
Same, the thing i did wrong. Instead of changing the throttle stop screw, i changed the mixture control screw. thats y it wouldnt start. changing the mixture screw did the exact same thing for me tho, cause a part on the other side of the cars, that nut had come off, luckilly i had more. i think im ready to go test it, be back in a few!
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 03:01 PM   #18
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

score, i got it, the car is at 2.5, not 3....however, the car stalls once i touch the throttle at all, ima work on that, but anyone have any ideas?
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 03:33 PM   #19
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

woohoo, i got it! im so proud. thanx guys, the few that helped really did a lot. now i just need to do the 2 speed, and get that workin...
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 03:55 PM   #20
Tech Apprentice
 
supermoto552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Nice one buddy, glad ya got it, now ya just gotta learn the feel of tuning properly, and remember to keep it a little rich to keep ya engine life a bit longer.

the two speed will work fine, just make sure you've got a big enough space to run in as it wont change down your street unless you have it set set really loosely.

take it easy mate, and read up on tuning.
supermoto552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 05:43 PM   #21
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

o, i no how to tune. its just, wheni tried to do it that one night, i was inside, and i couldnt run the car, lol. but as for the 2 speed, i took the car to ull throttle today, it didnt change gears
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 08:52 PM   #22
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

tomoro i have exams, so i dont need to leave my house until 915. im waking up at 720. ima play with my car til i gotta leave.
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 03:04 AM   #23
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 660
Default

Almost sounds like it's stuck in gear because the screw is in too far. Try backing it out a bit and see if that changes anything for you.

Last edited by Dredd; 01-16-2007 at 04:44 AM.
Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 01:11 PM   #24
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

ok, so its really really nice, only 2 problems. when i pull the throttle all the way, the call sounds as if its about to stall, and it stops accelerating. when its almost all the way, damn its fast, lol. 2nd problem, i stil cant get it into second gear. its out about 2.6 turns, so idk. any more ideas?
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 01:15 PM   #25
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

i had it out at like 2.8, and almost at top rpm, i heard a click, and i felt the car shake, and saw it too (i was holding it in the air). should i try 3 turns for my next tank of gas?
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 03:41 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 660
Default

Yes try 3 turns out next and see if it helps. Also the problem with it cutting out when you punch the throttle all the way sounds like your carb isn't tuned right yet. Maybe try leaning out the low speed needle 1/8 turn and see if that gives it a little more breathing room when you punch the throttle like that. I also notice if I run too lean it wants to die when I nail the throttle to full. If I richen mixture about 1/4 turn it wants to go without any hesitation or bogging.

Hope this helps a bit.
Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 03:47 PM   #27
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

well its dark here now, ill try it when i get back from exams tomoro. thanx all, ill let u no how it goes!
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 05:04 PM   #28
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Default

i was lookin online and found this
as opposed to what i currently do (take off the suspension, axle, and that supporter bar on the top, can i use this without having to take anything off, or should i just another pull start?
SpeedDemon911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 07:48 PM   #29
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedDemon911
i had it out at like 2.8, and almost at top rpm, i heard a click, and i felt the car shake, and saw it too (i was holding it in the air). should i try 3 turns for my next tank of gas?
Soundl like your 2 speed finally shifted into second gear. Try backing out the screw 1/4 turn at a time and run the car between.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 07:55 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedDemon911
i was lookin online and found this
as opposed to what i currently do (take off the suspension, axle, and that supporter bar on the top, can i use this without having to take anything off, or should i just another pull start?
you'd have to see if you can fit it in there without removing everything. The easiest way to eliminate your trouble with pull start is to get a starter box. Just press the car's flywheel down on the wheel of the starter box and it will turn the motor over for you, that is if you have the glow plug igniter on there.

They're more expensive than the item you posted the link to however.
Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOOKING TO BUY RC NITRO TRUCKS, CARS, BUGGYS, ELECTRIC OR NITRO CASH IN HAND jd267 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 26 09-06-2008 12:25 PM
WTTF: mini electric or nitro (nitro perfered) and also looking at all nitro deals.... xxx-ntad2 racer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 04-25-2007 07:53 PM
XM Ready radio and Nitro Buggy to trade for Nitro Rustler or Jato RTR NewNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-17-2007 11:38 PM
FS/FT Tmaxx, Nitro Rustler, Nitro RS4 Racer, Nitro RS4 RTR, Losi XXXNT RTR ChrisR40 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 03-20-2006 03:47 PM
FOR SALE:Nitro 4tec, Hopped Nitro Rustler, Parts lot, Picco .12 engine, plus more!!!! feel my impact R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-05-2002 10:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net